CVT shudder

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

sinnas

CVT shudder

Postby sinnas » March 15th, 2007, 6:10 pm

have a pardna with a Honda Civic 2001. He says the CVT has a shudder in it.

Changed the fluid a number of times, filter serviced, but the problem still remains. The shudder however only comes when moving from a staionary position.

Any feedback/advice to troubleshoot?

Postby SR » March 15th, 2007, 7:20 pm

sheit he might be in trouble

NickJr.
Location: The Finish Line. So Elusive For Something That Never Moves

Postby NickJr. » March 15th, 2007, 8:56 pm

It is more than likely the clutch

10-01

Postby 10-01 » March 15th, 2007, 9:04 pm

sinnas,

had that problem with my other PBL civic my mechanic fixed in in 30 mins wat he i dnt knw but i could pm u his # and u coul dlink with him mines also use 2 shudder when moving from a staionary position :!:

sinnas

Postby sinnas » March 15th, 2007, 9:47 pm

:shock: why dread. now i fraid mine start that too.

It is more than likely the clutch

how so??

299 - thanks that will help ( most people find out what their mechanics do on their car though. :D (btw. how much did it cost?)

10-01

Postby 10-01 » March 16th, 2007, 6:54 am

sinnas,

well he pulled dwn the trani sump sprayed it ou took out the filter cleaned it , flushed out the system with new cvt oil then , drained it replaced it with new oil again he also ran through the gears one by one in a certain order dnt knw y but it wrk like a new trani after it costed me about $1200 to b repaired ....

sinnas

Postby sinnas » March 16th, 2007, 9:26 am

$1200?? damn. well i guess that better than buying a new tranny. I'll tell my pardna, doh forget to pm the # pls thanks.

or ask him the order to change the gears in and I go do it myself and charge meh pardna a $800 :lol: nah jus kidding.

nah but that price sound good considering is 2 sets of oil. but i believe my pardna did all that as well except the gear changing part. will confirm.

a guy in Classic motors did tell him though that if all that dont work more than likely its the clutch. pressha for he. i go sell him my tranny and go manual :twisted:

Postby 3stagevtec » March 16th, 2007, 9:49 am

sinnas wrote:

:shock: why dread. now i fraid mine start that too.

same here, that's why i stop pulling off hard from a standstill with mine...

red5FWD

Postby red5FWD » March 16th, 2007, 12:42 pm

^^Yep...you shouldn't be aggressive with a CVT from the standstill; you should also change the oil much more often than with a normal tranny.... that helped me with my last car but only for while until i eventually converted to manual :D . I've also heard about a CVT calibration that can be done but i don't know much about it.

redsupra101

Postby redsupra101 » March 16th, 2007, 1:44 pm

^^ there are tuners who solodex the firetruck out of their cvt civics and have been doing so for years..

the key is maintenance.. a well working cvt CAN keep up with and maybe beat a manual car street driving (rolling start.. no launches of course)... cvt in sport mode = 6000rpm + vtec whole facking day.

Marct

Postby Marct » March 16th, 2007, 7:31 pm

^^true dat has been done.

the shudder though can be fixed by Charles in La Romaine- something he adds to the trannie fluid i think about 8bills

sinnas

Postby sinnas » March 16th, 2007, 9:29 pm

contact or directions? Know La Romaine but dunno Charles. :D

Marct

Postby Marct » March 18th, 2007, 8:49 am

past BBQ place going towards Palmiste.There is a junction with a hardware and a motor bike shop on the junction go down that road,follow the rd and on the bend on RHD side a white wall. Keith Charles is the name

eLEVated CVT

Postby eLEVated CVT » March 19th, 2007, 3:30 am

There's a new Honda cvt specific fluid.....It costs twice as much(abt $90) as the usual atf that cvt owners have been using for years.....don't know anyone who has used it yet but if the feedback is as good as for the new manual fluid it may be worth a try...makes me wonder (and worry) whether Honda discovered that despite using the original type of fluid that cvts were still gettin busted.....$45 extra per quart....hadda be some worthwhile miracle fluid :shock:

Postby 3stagevtec » March 19th, 2007, 3:35 am

eLEVated CVT wrote:There's a new Honda cvt specific fluid.....It costs twice as much(abt $90) as the usual atf that cvt owners have been using for years.....don't know anyone who has used it yet but if the feedback is as good as for the new manual fluid it may be worth a try...makes me wonder (and worry) whether Honda discovered that despite using the original type of fluid that cvts were still gettin busted.....$45 extra per quart....hadda be some worthwhile miracle fluid :shock:

you've got my attention... where we getting this new CVT fluid?

eLEVated CVT

Postby eLEVated CVT » March 19th, 2007, 4:16 am

I believe ANP should have in stock now...Andy was actually the first one to tell me abt it...or you can check Kazim in Couva 684-1169...I change fluid about 3 times per year...next change due in 2 mths...we put both bottles side by side...the claims made were basically the same as the old atf...longer change intervals blah blah blah...if anyone changes b4...throw up a review nuh

Postby 3stagevtec » March 19th, 2007, 5:21 am

will give it a try by next week so...

thanks

Postby SR » March 19th, 2007, 6:45 am

cvt's require more maintnenace than regular tranny's and people need to understand this and stick to it

most people never even change their tranny fluid for the entire ownership period of the car

check with the service manual on what the regular routine maintenance is and what needs to be done

also as usual increased traffic driving also means shorter periods between service

cvt's work well
but need more attention

personally for honda's i'd stick with the honda recommended fluids

Postby De Dragon » March 20th, 2007, 10:22 pm

eLEVated CVT wrote:I believe ANP should have in stock now...Andy was actually the first one to tell me abt it...or you can check Kazim in Couva 684-1169...I change fluid about 3 times per year...next change due in 2 mths...we put both bottles side by side...the claims made were basically the same as the old atf...longer change intervals blah blah blah...if anyone changes b4...throw up a review nuh

Where is this exactly?

Zim

Postby Zim » March 21st, 2007, 12:12 am

Dow Vilage, California

rsx87

Postby rsx87 » March 23rd, 2007, 11:03 am

i think zim does be sleeping on himself sometimes. i getting this same problem in a Honda Fit. Changed fluid, tried the re-calibration thingy, still same thing. I going by ANP tomorrow and let them hook up the OBD scan tool and see if the prob. is in fact the tranny.

Postby 3stagevtec » March 26th, 2007, 10:05 am

rsx87 wrote:tried the re-calibration thingy

how you did this?

rsx87

Postby rsx87 » March 26th, 2007, 9:17 pm

i carried it by a guy in Aranguez, a transmission specialist. He charges $250+VAT to do it, but since it didn't work 4 me, he didnt charge nething. He also said sum bout whenever the battery is disconnected, it needs re-calibration again...

Sunrise City Rider

Postby Sunrise City Rider » April 2nd, 2007, 5:35 pm

make sure you use Tranny Fluid thats meant for your Honda CVT Tranny...
Amsoil should make a synthetic that is compatible with that tranny...

sinnas

Postby sinnas » April 24th, 2007, 8:57 am

Just an update guys. He tried the new Honda CVT transmission fluid and the shudder decreased ALOT he said. AutoNation was out of stock but he found it in Autorama for $58 a quart. Pricey but he felt the difference immediately.

Postby 3stagevtec » April 24th, 2007, 3:57 pm

sinnas wrote:Just an update guys. He tried the new Honda CVT transmission fluid and the shudder decreased ALOT he said. AutoNation was out of stock but he found it in Autorama for $58 a quart. Pricey but he felt the difference immediately.

:shock: $58 per quart isn't bad! i payed... mm, $90 :(

where is autorama located??

virs2304

Postby virs2304 » May 3rd, 2007, 8:29 pm

fellas... this recalibration ting is a rel rip off... it rel simple...
for a 97civic n up yuh just hadda get a nice long stretch ( i does use the Nagar road ) from park, start and accelerate uniformly + moderately to 80km/h or so and just let it decelerate on its own (no braking for abt 10secs) but i does let it slow right down to zero. just for safety i would repeat it at least once again...
i heard abt the gear changing technique.. i hear its used for the newer models like the jazz and fit. starting from park, change gears going right down P_R_N_D_L or however yuh gears arranged.. allowing a 1-2sec delay between gears...pause for a five secs and come back up L_D_N_R_P. tink yuh lights supposed to be on for this procedure.
got my info from asia.vtec.net ... i use the first technique and it work like a charm... its good to do after u change ur fluid and i notice d man from aranguez does pull out for a few secs and replace the radio fuse from the fuse box under the hood before he do he ting.

my ride is a Vi-RS 1.5l no mods... oh yea....ah change meh fender lights tuh clear lens now : lol

Postby 3stagevtec » May 3rd, 2007, 10:00 pm

virs2304, was there any visual indication that it worked or did you just feel a difference in the way the car drives?

sinnas

Postby sinnas » May 3rd, 2007, 10:31 pm

Autorama is a few buildings past Autonation. Same left side. You will se a sign.

If you dont know where Autonation is, its in El Socorro, coming from the highway, go up El Socorro, look out for AutoVillage on the right (just a landmark as its a huge sign). Then a lil higher on the left is AutoNation (will see a sign) and higher again there is Autorama (will see sign). Other places to check for parts/fluids etc is El Socorro auto supplies(AutoVillage) or Dollars and Sense (right hand side) close to Autonation.

virs2304

Postby virs2304 » May 4th, 2007, 8:25 am

3stagevtec: no visual indication that there was a problem to begin with... i only knew that there was a problem by the way the car was driving and how it felt... used to get an annoying shudder pulling off from standstill... it was even more violent wen pulling off up an incline. all dat stop... it drive like it was new after recalibration.
Ah mean is not like yuh hadda pull down yuh tranny or mod some IC ... if anybuddy having the same problem it rreally doh hurt to try ...the first technique is harmless.

Return to “HONDA”