WTK : Vibration on the steering

Postby *$kїđž!™ » March 24th, 2007, 12:11 am

What actually causes slight vibrations on the steering at speeds of 110 kms and upwards... Is it the need for speed balancing or improper alignment?

Tyres are not bent and speed balancing was already done. Vibrations are still there.. Please advise.

Postby streetbeastINC. » March 24th, 2007, 12:15 am

lots ah stuff..can be tyres bushings...ends...ball joint....etc etc....is some cases can even be the transmission..chek bushings

truemail30

Postby truemail30 » March 24th, 2007, 7:27 am

if you are getting a little pull on either side when you let the sterring go, then you should aling it , i had the same problem and all i did was speed balance and aling and it`s gone.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » March 24th, 2007, 8:53 am

bent axles...tyres eaten uneven....

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » March 24th, 2007, 11:23 pm

check allyuh balance and align and if not that check mounts if not mounts check arms and bushings also steering rack

Postby *$kїđž!™ » March 25th, 2007, 12:08 am

bent rims to ent?

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 25th, 2007, 12:38 am

double check your speed balance at a different shop.

that solved my problem of a similar nature.

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » March 25th, 2007, 12:41 pm

BENT AXELS > check it...a hidden preditor.....

i know man changed rims/tyres/mounts/bushings/cradles/Transmission and the damn vibration still there.. :evil:

.then decided to change change Axels...and the vibration gone :wink:

venum

Postby venum » March 25th, 2007, 8:03 pm

bad balancing usually is the culprit

check teh balance on teh front wheels as a first line of troubleshooting

bent tyres and or rims usually cause bad balancing which is why they can also be reasons

most of teh times the stick-on wheel weights fly-off and cause bad balance

Chiney

Postby Chiney » March 25th, 2007, 11:15 pm

BENT AXELS > check it...a hidden preditor.....

i know man changed rims/tyres/mounts/bushings/cradles/Transmission and the damn vibration still there..

same thing here..

left axle waz the prob.. wen ui look at it yuh cyar see ah fart !

but its there.. due to the changing of the cradle arms...u gotta hammer it out b4 u can finally take it out.. homie miss de friggin ting yes !!

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » March 26th, 2007, 5:26 am

well i guess you guys about covered it. ..
slack axles can cause vibrations so pull off the front wheels and tighten them up
bent axles can also cause it but that is a RARE problem
one that i didnt hear mentioned is warped rotors. yep alot of the time if the rotor is warped badly enough you find that the brake pad brushes the rotor intermittently and at moderate speeds it can be bad enough to feed a small vibration back into the steering column.
as Chiney, said, it doesnt always have to be a tire with warped steel belts even though that is a common cause of vibration. if the tires wear unevenly meaning the inner tire is significantly more worn than the outside or vice versa it will cause vibrations at highway speeds.
if the alignment is off badly enough it can also cause vibration so check it.
all speed balancing technicians ARE NOT made equal. if you speed balance at one shop and u still have problems try another shop and see if they get it right.
Bent rims are another notorious cause of steering vibration. i can only recommend places around San Fernando that fix mag wheels. if you dont have mags it should be easier to change the offending wheel or get it fixed.
before loading up the wheel with upwards of $30 of weights try this lil trick. have your tire man deflate the tire on the offending wheel and rotate the tire exactly 180 degrees on the rim and then reinflate and speed balance. sometimes an imperfection in the tire doubled with a rim defect can be cancelled out by putting the two at odds with each other thus saving you the consumer a few extra dollars in balance weights.
and last but by no means least. make sure that the weights haven’t fallen off after a few days of driving. If you had the same vibration problem right out of the shop its likely to be one of the other problems but from time to time those stuck on weights do take a leave of absence from your wheels so have them checked.
finally i think its worth mentioning that 95% of road vibration is caused by faulty tires or rims.

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » March 26th, 2007, 9:12 am

nascott really good info..was gettin sum steeringwheel vibration so i goin an try dat tomorrow :D

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » March 26th, 2007, 9:21 am

good luck :!:

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » April 2nd, 2007, 7:56 pm

question did u change the engine in which the car came with..and what car is it??

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » April 2nd, 2007, 7:59 pm

try shaving ya rotors an the vibration was minimized

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » April 2nd, 2007, 8:18 pm

it is alleged that this thread has the highest incidence of female viewers in the history of this website even though they didn’t actually post a reply. Why?
Read the thread topic… :|

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » April 2nd, 2007, 8:25 pm

:lol: thaz ah nice one boy nasscott

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » April 2nd, 2007, 9:30 pm

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » April 2nd, 2007, 10:36 pm

vibration

:lol: :lol: :mrgreen: Good 1

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » April 2nd, 2007, 11:53 pm

:lol: :lol: allyuh is sum arse

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 3rd, 2007, 1:35 am

Thanks for the info guys
great job nasscott! btw did u sell your rims as yet?

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » April 3rd, 2007, 9:42 am

yep they're long gone. i only have 2 sets of black steelies with tyres now for sale. cant decide if to sell all or keep 4 just in case.

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » April 3rd, 2007, 9:47 am

What size?

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » April 3rd, 2007, 10:19 am

4 x 100 bolt pattern 14" steelies with 185/60/14 tyres. (im not sure all are 185/60)