wtn Acura NSX

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

dizzEK3h

wtn Acura NSX

Postby dizzEK3h » April 11th, 2007, 9:13 am

who is the lucky owner of the red Acura NSX, reg # PBA 621. red exterior
with black leather interior, LHD. saw this car saturday down at movietown,
although the car was dirty it still looked great. i,ve also seen a silver coloured one in the Valsayn area.

Spyrogyra

Postby Spyrogyra » April 11th, 2007, 6:01 pm

he lucky until it need reparing

Postby 3stagevtec » April 11th, 2007, 11:40 pm

i had the opportunity to sit in one a time... a red LHD NSX. Everything was laid out so perfectly in it, the gear shifter was positioned perfectly, the seats hug you nicely and it feels more like reclining than sitting in there. my feet were out stretched to reach the pedals (and i'm 5' 11").. it just felt 'right'..

that was heaven on earth for any car guy...

Spyrogyra

Postby Spyrogyra » April 12th, 2007, 6:56 am

heaven until yuh need ah part

dizzEK3h

NSX

Postby dizzEK3h » April 12th, 2007, 9:10 am

Spyrogyra wrote:heaven until yuh need ah part
? part,s can be
sourced from any Acura dealer in the US. the NXS being an exotic sport,s
car the part,s will be expensive. if one has to query the cost of maintaining such a car, i would say he can,t afford one. it reminds me of people who buy Audi,s BMW and Mercedes Benz,s take it in for servicing,then bitchabout the cost of the service(anytime you have to askabout the cost,then hey,you can,t afford it). the NSX is the cutting edge of Honda,s technology,it,s V6 engine was the first engine to have a variablevalvetrain(Vtec).the body/chassis is all aluminum construction. It,s a bettercar overall than the Nissan Skyline and the shit-ass Evolution and WRX Sti. It,s twin turbo V6 dominated LeMans racinc in the 90,s.

dizzEK3h

NXS

Postby dizzEK3h » April 12th, 2007, 9:12 am

3stagevtec wrote:i had the opportunity to sit in one a time... a red LHD NSX. Everything was laid out so perfectly in it, the gear shifter was positioned perfectly, the seats hug you nicely and it feels more like reclining than sitting in there. my feet were out stretched to reach the pedals (and i'm 5' 11").. it just felt 'right'..

that was heaven on earth for any car guy...
I belive this is the same car. beautiful piece of engineering.

Postby honda hoe » April 12th, 2007, 9:42 am

if only i could afford one :cry: sigh.......

Spyrogyra

Postby Spyrogyra » April 12th, 2007, 12:55 pm

I think that all you need to watch this small reality check :)

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/E6rKO3YaJoY" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"></embed>

wait until the second car comes.....

import

Postby import » April 12th, 2007, 4:46 pm

^^^ :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: That was the funnyest Video ever..So far from the truth it's not even funny. But amm Seriously..

When you actually SIT in one and not watch it on You Tube. Then make a comment.

Actually the owner of the RED is a very good friend of mine and like the one that i drove in NewYork, words cannot explain a NSX.

All i can tell you IF you are ever that fortunate. First Spit out the GUM, Sit, strap in, put it in first, rev to about 4500, come off the clutch, 90% on the Throttle, AN PRAY THAT YOUR SPINE DOES'NT SNAP. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Postby 3stagevtec » April 12th, 2007, 4:55 pm

i wonder if they ever dyno test that antenna thing to see if it really makes an improvement... :roll:

but seriously, you all ever see any of the best motoring vids where they compaired the NSX against the V10 & V12 Lambos, turbo 911 porsche, bmw m3, ferrari etc etc... the nsx has proved itself quite well against such 'supposedly superior' cars..

dizzEK3h

NSX

Postby dizzEK3h » April 12th, 2007, 5:03 pm

Spyrogyra wrote:I think that all you need to watch this small reality check :)

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/E6rKO3YaJoY" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"></embed>

wait until the second car comes.....
jus his opinion,remember he tried to committ sucide in a rocket car. seriously comparing the NSX to any
Ferrari is absurd,Ferrari has always built race cars first then street cars,Enzo started building cars because he loved to race,present Ferraris are constructed of carbon fiber ans exotic materials like titanium,multi-valve
high reving V8/V12 engines paddle shifted sequential gearboxes, or yes they cost,s upward of a million US dollars,also in order to own one you must have owned one previously. also idiot undercover brother destroyed a Dino a few weeks ago on a race track,doing a promo,. for the movie redline.

Re: NSX

Postby 3stagevtec » April 12th, 2007, 5:22 pm

dizzEK3h wrote:jus his opinion,remember he tried to committ sucide in a rocket car. seriously comparing the NSX to any
Ferrari is absurd,Ferrari has always built race cars first then street cars,Enzo started building cars because he loved to race,present Ferraris are constructed of carbon fiber ans exotic materials like titanium,multi-valve
high reving V8/V12 engines paddle shifted sequential gearboxes, or yes they cost,s upward of a million US dollars,also in order to own one you must have owned one previously. also idiot undercover brother destroyed a Dino a few weeks ago on a race track,doing a promo,. for the movie redline.

how many current Ferraris do you know that costs more than a million US dollars??

and... present NSXs are constructed of carbon fiber and exotic materials like like titanium, multi-valve high reving V6 engines with 6sp manual transmissions...

and i believe it is only with the Ferrari Enzo that you need to have owned the F50 & F40 to get..

I'll compair the NSX to a Ferrari any day...

Re: NSX

Postby X2 » April 12th, 2007, 5:35 pm

3stagevtec wrote:
and i believe it is only with the Ferrari Enzo that you need to have owned the F50 & F40 to get..

nope... if you have purchased any 2 past Ferraris, you were allowed to get on the Enzo waiting list.

3stagevtec wrote:I'll compair the NSX to a Ferrari any day...

Umm... given that i absolutely LOVE the NSX.... you gotta be on the crizzak if you think it can compare to a modern day Ferrari.

I see the red nsx driven by a asian fella.... he and I must live in the same area... cuz apparently neither of us can find a car-wash. :lol:

Spyrogyra

Postby Spyrogyra » April 12th, 2007, 5:43 pm

When you actually SIT in one and not watch it on You Tube. Then make a comment.

Ok, I'll be the first to admit that I've never sat in one, and I'm sure that everyone who's sat in one felt all tingly and fuzzy inside. The point I was trying to make that seems to be missed in general is that while the NSX-R IS a FANTASTIC car, It's out of it's league, if you look at the global sales for this car compared to it's Italian counterparts (who's price range the NSX-R plays in) it's no where close to being considered a sucessful money maker!!

No one want's to buy a 'Honda' for $80K pounds sterling!!!! when there's a prancing pony with a V12 twister behind the driver available for the same price..

It's a great machine, it's a fine peice of engineering, it's a hoot and a holla to drive but guess what!!! Honda's not making them anymore!!! Hammond was right when he suggested that Honda should 'do something else', if the NSX-R had close to the level of sale success that the Civic enjoy'd 's, we'd all be driving an NSX-R by now, But I still kart in an SiR!!!! At the end of it all Honda has proven their point from an engineering perspective 'WE can build a supercar' but from the SALES side they can't sucessfully 'SELL a supercar' becasue it might have an quantum drive plasma injected wonderbolt for an engine, and it might have the power to weight ratio of Legolas on with a Red Bull IV!!!! but it's not a Ferrari and it's not a Porsche, it's a Honda!

Postby X2 » April 12th, 2007, 5:53 pm

oh gorm.... yuh right on all counts Spyro.... buy PLEEEAAASSSEEE don't go putting Porsche on the same pedestal as Ferrari.... :oops:

Postby 3stagevtec » April 12th, 2007, 6:02 pm

that's why Honda needs to make the next NSX an Acura... and with Honda entering the Acura name into motorsports (i.e. ALMS), should help with the brand's image..

Postby X2 » April 12th, 2007, 6:14 pm

^^ everyone in the world still knows its a honda under the badge... :|

import

Postby import » April 12th, 2007, 8:08 pm

while the NSX-R IS a FANTASTIC car, It's out of it's league, if you look at the global sales for this car compared to it's Italian counterparts (who's price range the NSX-R plays in) it's no where close to being considered a sucessful money maker!!

No one want's to buy a 'Honda' for $80K pounds sterling!!!! when there's a prancing pony with a V12 twister behind the driver available for the same price..

It's a great machine, it's a fine peice of engineering, it's a hoot and a holla to drive but guess what!!! Honda's not making them anymore!!! Hammond was right when he suggested that Honda should 'do something else'

Well to be precise my friend . it's not that no one WANTS to buy a NSX. What your friend Mr Hammond is''nt telling you is No one can FIND one to buy. It is the ONLY Japanese car that has graduated to being a COLLECTOR'S car. If you were a collector then maybe you'd Understand.

Out of it's league in comparison to what ?? An ENZO or maybe a GALLARDO. well it's out of their Price range as well..

Let me give you an idea. the a 2002 NISSAN R34 Skyline GT-R Vspec II Nur currently sells for 4,200,000 Japan Yen . A 1990 NSX Type S 5 speed currently cost 3,970,000 Japan yen. Next year this same NSX is going to cost 4,500,000 Japan yen. You figure out the rest.

And i dont think it was EVER Honda's intention to sell as many NSX's as the AWARD WINNING CIVIC. Because UNLIKE Honda's other Japanese counterparts, HONDA doesn't need it's Motor division sales to be successful to survive. They seem to be doing very well in EVERY aspect of their company. Including the car devision. You might want to visit www.honda.com to update yourself.

COMPARE it to a Ferrari ?? No we shouldn't ! A Ferrari is a Ferrari and should be respected as such.. Will it smoke a Ferrari ? ( certain models ) But then again so does a tuned EVO 7.. Would i get the same thrill or more than a Ferrari HELL YES...

Would i buy it over a Ferrari HELL YES !! As a matter of fact i might be able to buy 2.

As for parts .... Spyrogyra... I would like you to source a Left front cradle for the popular Nissan Primera TP12 or even a oil pump for the QR20 it carries :lol: :lol:

Call Neal & Massey .. Call the Motorist :lol: :lol: Been there Done that :!: Youll find that sometimes parts for the simplest of car makes can be difficult.

Postby 3stagevtec » April 12th, 2007, 9:28 pm

X2 wrote:^^ everyone in the world still knows its a honda under the badge... :|

same with Toyota and Lexus.. but which would most people buy, a Toyota supercar or a Lexus...

Postby X2 » April 13th, 2007, 3:00 am

Toyota has better heritage in makind sports cars than Honda... everyone does... mazda, Nissan.... it's kinda why the NSX caught it's arse to be recognised on the level of an exotic.

All these years and I've still never driven one.... :evil:

Spyrogyra

Postby Spyrogyra » April 13th, 2007, 6:46 am

it's not that no one WANTS to buy a NSX. What your friend Mr Hammond is''nt telling you is No one can FIND one to buy. It is the ONLY Japanese car that has graduated to being a COLLECTOR'S car. If you were a collector then maybe you'd Understand.

I don't have to be a collector to understand how marketing works, I would love an NSX-R, I would love a Ferrari, I would love even an EVO 9 with a fancy ball-sac holder for all them high-g corners I'd be taking in one. But Honda makes cars for poor people, Ferrari doesn't make cars for the poor and people who Ferrari market their cars to won't even consider buying anything else, not even an SLR McLaren can woo then from the badge, let alone a Honda, they'd rather eat their first born son oy vey!!!. People who have money don't buy hondas.

And i dont think it was EVER Honda's intention to sell as many NSX's as the AWARD WINNING CIVIC. Because UNLIKE Honda's other Japanese counterparts, HONDA doesn't need it's Motor division sales to be successful to survive.

hmmmmm so then why has the NSX been in production for over 13 years if they didn't want to sell units? You don't make a car for 13 years if you didn't want it to sell or have no intentions of selling much of it, 1 or 2 years probably, (the EP3 was gone in less than half that time), especially if the styling of the car remained fundamentally unchanged for the duration of the production, honda adopted a purist approach to the NSX and for all it's worth, it shows. But Ferrari's been in the game eons longer than Honda or the NSX that's becasue the DEMAND for a Ferrari is there, Ferrari created and sustained an "image" with their brand and that's why, no matter what they cost, they will still sell and have the ultra rich on a waiting list for an Enzo.
If the NSX had that level of demand, that "image", that level of brand loyalty in the billionaire demographic you REALLY think that Honda would shoot itself in the foot and not leverage that demand? Pu!!! That's business suicide.

As for parts .... Spyrogyra... I would like you to source a Left front cradle for the popular Nissan Primera TP12 or even a oil pump for the QR20 it carries

Call Neal & Massey .. Call the Motorist Been there Done that Youll find that sometimes parts for the simplest of car makes can be difficult.

hehehehheh, that's one of the many reasons I sold my B13 3 years ago and bought an EK4. I have a relaible supplier of genuine parts at good price and a competent garage walking distance from my house for the things that I need to have the car on a lift to work on. I call your example bad aftersales support. If you want a product to be sucessful buyers must feel safe knowing that replacement parts are available for the expected lifecycle of the product. It's ok here becasue we have such loose trade regulations, but try to pull that bullcrap in the US and you'd have every consumer affairs interest group, state and federal trade regulators on your case like acne on the back of a teen girl with a hormone imbalance..

import

Postby import » April 13th, 2007, 7:52 am

I don't have to be a collector to understand how marketing works,

Well amm firstly being a Collector has nothing to do with Marketing.. :roll: Collection does NOT equal Sales.. Collectors are the recipients not the Distributors..

But Honda makes cars for poor people, Ferrari doesn't

Of course they do :!: Why dont we all jus take our POOR selves and walk into Classic Motors and buy the CHEAPEST $200,000 1.5 EXi Civic :? Better yet i'm sure we can send some POOR folk to buy the $600,000+ Honda Legend :| I know they say to reverse your thinking..but Jeez :roll:

hmmmmm so then why has the NSX been in production for over 13 years if they didn't want to sell units? You don't make a car for 13 years if you didn't want it to sell or have no intentions of selling much of it, 1 or 2 years probably,

I know i sent you this link for a reason yuh know http://www.honda.com . In case you didn't know the NSX was over a decade AHEAD of it's design time. Nothing could have changed because nothing HAD to change. The car was Structurally, Aerodynamically and Technologically years ahead of other manufacturers. What would YOU do if you designed a car since 1989 and it STILL rivals with your competition's 2006 models :?:

DEMAND for a Ferrari is there, Ferrari created and sustained an "image" with their brand and that's why, no matter what they cost, they will still sell and have the ultra rich on a waiting list for an Enzo.

Ooooo a Waiting list.. Oooo that makes them sooo popular.. Stupes..Guess what buddy.. There's a Waiting list for the limited production Subaru Impreza S203 as well.

If the NSX had that level of demand, that "image", that level of brand loyalty in the billionaire demographic you REALLY think that Honda would shoot itself in the foot and not leverage that demand? Pu!!! That's business suicide.

I guess they chopped off the whole leg when they walked out of Formula1 in the middle of years of Domination huh :lol: Business suicide you say..Nope..That right there is the Marketing you were looking for. A simple case of keep em wanting more.

Clearly you dont understand Honda ethics..you seem to be forgetting HONDA the complete and not Honda the NSX maker.. What else does Ferrari have ?? T shirts and Apparel ?
You seem to have lost focus on Ferrari's purpose and Honda's purpose. Even Mitsubishi has more important things to do than just produce EVO's :roll: Check your Honda check your toyota or you might even want to check deep down in your precious Ferrari. I'm sure you will find Sensors, Micro processors and very tiny servos that are made by Mitsubishi. All working in harmony to make your precious V12 Monster roar.

Humm which reminds me... 12 Pistons to do HALF of what a 2jzGTE with 6 pistons and a GT series turbo can do in Japan. Bahh Humbug

People who have money don't buy hondas.

No they don't . They let other people buy it for them :!: :lol:

Zh@ne
Location: Some say he can be nowhere and everywhere at the same time

Postby Zh@ne » April 13th, 2007, 8:59 am

As a fan of Best motoring for the past couple of years i never hear any of the drives talk down on the NSX... in fact when they have a battle with that car its is almost certain that the car will do well. It is still one of the fastest production car on the tracks.

Postby honda hoe » April 13th, 2007, 10:05 am

honda run tings. talk done :twisted:

Spyrogyra

Postby Spyrogyra » April 13th, 2007, 10:33 am

Well amm firstly being a Collector has nothing to do with Marketing.. Collection does NOT equal Sales.. Collectors are the recipients not the Distributors..

Well amm, Collectors "Buy" they're part of the Marketing equation...besides I wasn't talking about collectors, a collector would buy a load of horse flies if it had enough sentimental value.

Of course they do Why dont we all jus take our POOR selves and walk into Classic Motors and buy the CHEAPEST $200,000 1.5 EXi Civic Better yet i'm sure we can send some POOR folk to buy the $600,000+ Honda Legend I know they say to reverse your thinking..but Jeez

Just becasue we have a pisspoor exchange rate doesn't mean that "the rest of the planet" considers what we esteem as valuable. An 18 year old kid working in Best Buy in the US for minimum wage living with his parents can buy an EVO 8 new and not sweat a thing, even with mods, Crash it twice and buy a new one in less than 3 years. Can you do the same? I know I can't and I have a "good" job!!!

Ooooo a Waiting list.. Oooo that makes them sooo popular.. Stupes..Guess what buddy.. There's a Waiting list for the limited production Subaru Impreza S203 as well.

Ammmmm, hmmm I somehow suspect that the people waiting on this car are not the same ones waiting on an Enzo. But clearly you feel the need to take this to a lower level with your ooohing and ahhhing. So knock yourself out cus you're on your own.

Clearly you dont understand Honda ethics

Clearly you've missed my point.

A simple case of keep em wanting more.

You seem to romanticize the business aspect of automaking but that's your choice, it won't change the fact that cars are made and sold ONLY to make money.

Simple rule, if it eh making money it's not going to be manufactured anymore. hope you can comprehend that. That's the fate of the NSX and that will be the fate of any car once there's no demand for it.

I'm sure you will find Sensors, Micro processors and very tiny servos that are made by Mitsubishi. All working in harmony to make your precious V12 Monster roar.

You really reaching with this one and it's clear with this statement that you really have completely missed what I was trying to say. It's a common practice to use ready made components in a package, it's a smarter from a manufacturing standpoint so I don't understand why you needed to point this out!???

Just for the last time, "I NEVER SAID THE NSX-R IS A BAD CAR"

b18b_turbo

Postby b18b_turbo » April 13th, 2007, 2:01 pm

i saw it once on the highway.........i BLOWWWN AWAY!!!! it was real dirty tho......this guy duno what he have dred! thats a GodCar......treat it like a God

Postby honda hoe » April 13th, 2007, 2:40 pm

is ah good ting he doh have ah honda city :mrgreen:

Postby 3stagevtec » April 13th, 2007, 2:42 pm

X2 wrote:Toyota has better heritage in makind sports cars than Honda... everyone does... mazda, Nissan.... it's kinda why the NSX caught it's arse to be recognised on the level of an exotic.

All these years and I've still never driven one.... :evil:

that might have been true for the past, but not at present. with Honda in so many forms of motorsports, and doing well.. i think their sports car image should be well ahead of the competition. i hope the next generation NSX doesn't suffer the same fate as past models...

All these years and i've only sat in one... :| ... :lol:

Postby honda hoe » April 13th, 2007, 2:52 pm

lucky u :cry:

import

Postby import » April 13th, 2007, 3:44 pm

.besides I wasn't talking about collectors, a collector would buy a load of horse flies if it had enough sentimental value.

So if the Rich collectors not buying the Cars WHO ELSE IS THERE to buy the precious Ferrari. ???

An 18 year old kid working in Best Buy in the US for minimum wage living with his parents can buy an EVO 8 new and not sweat a thing, even with mods, Crash it twice and buy a new one in less than 3 years. Can you do the same? I know I can't and I have a "good" job!!!

The car posted is a Impreza S203 not an EVO8 my friend, and YES i dare your Best Buy 18 year old to FIND one, BUY one and CRASH it and i Double Dare him to get another.. An besides a EVO 8 sells for $25,000 USD and $29,000 with heavy Mods.
A Acura RL or Honda Legend sells for $ 60,000 USD :roll: Apples vs Oranges Buddy ! Nothin to do with TnT's " pisspoor exchange rate " cuz you DID say Honda does make cars for POOR people....An if is POOR people drivin All them Honda's in Trinidad. Then clearly we have Millionaires on our hands.

Ammmmm, hmmm I somehow suspect that the people waiting on this car are not the same ones waiting on an Enzo. But clearly you feel the need to take this to a lower level with your ooohing and ahhhing. So knock yourself out cus you're on your own.

Dude ARE YOU SERIOUS ?? Well let me ask you this .. How fast do you think you can make the Twisting roads up the North Coast in a ENZO ?? Or did you think ALL roads were STRAIGHT. Actually the reality of the thing is The people you so graciously speak of ALSO have in their possession Limited edition TME EVO 6.5's and other " LOWER LEVEL " cars as you put it..

You seem to romanticize the business aspect of automaking but that's your choice, it won't change the fact that cars are made and sold ONLY to make money.

Simple rule, if it eh making money it's not going to be manufactured anymore. hope you can comprehend that. That's the fate of the NSX and that will be the fate of any car once there's no demand for it.

Did the words " CAR ENTHUSIAST " ever cross your mind ?? You starting to sound more like a Journalist who talks about DRAG RACING...

Car designers dont ONLY make cars to sell them. They design cars just to show they could. There are alot of small exotic car makers German and Italian that make cars for the year totaling LESS than 500 and they still in existence. YOU HAVE TO REMEMBER a CAR DESIGNER is ALSO A CAR LOVER to begin with..

You really reaching with this one and it's clear with this statement that you really have completely missed what I was trying to say. It's a common practice to use ready made components in a package, it's a smarter from a manufacturing standpoint so I don't understand why you needed to point this out!???

The point was simple and no i didn't miss what you were trying to say. The point was to show you the overall PIE CHART of not a CAR company but the Company in general NOT just the division.

At the end of the day we could go on and on and on and i am enjoying the dialog and i'm sure the Tuner audience is as well. The points are simple, Similar to a BOOK dont believe everything you see and hear on TV because it's just another PERSONS OPINION. it's not carved in stone. Opinions change, just like a Doctors view on Cholesterol.

Your points are well taken and Ferrari is indeed a superior manufacturer but their engine's are known to explode like any other. They just don't sensationalize it when it happens.
I had to comment on your video because i watched it over and over and it's funny to hear a man's review on the car, he cant find one flaw or fault in the car but at the end thinks they should retire it. :lol:

Return to “HONDA”