WTK: radiator problems

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

GroundZero

WTK: radiator problems

Postby GroundZero » May 10th, 2007, 1:55 am

The radiator in my 97 civic givin real trouble and d car overheating. I wanna know if i cud jus replace it with an intercooler or summin? Ideas anyone????

Postby crazybalhead » May 10th, 2007, 6:49 am

No.

Buy a fabricated radiator, they have them selling in every palour. about 900 for one. And it might not be your radiator, take it to a PROPER mechanic since you obviously out of yuh league here a lil bit.

Google intercooler and see what it does do.

dizzEK3h

overheating

Postby dizzEK3h » May 10th, 2007, 12:08 pm

you need to have your cooling system analysed. it may not just be the rad-
iator, you need to check the thermostat, water temp sensor, the hoses and
i trust that you are using coolant. :D

roshan01

Postby roshan01 » May 11th, 2007, 9:02 am

oh and dude make sure and use honda coolant for your honda....

Spyrogyra

Postby Spyrogyra » May 11th, 2007, 9:45 am

honda coolant for your honda

it eh go make sense to use honda coolant now if the cooling system is shot.

Do a pressure test first on the system, and pressure test the cap

Gallardo

Postby Gallardo » May 16th, 2007, 4:26 pm

Yeah, dizzEK talkin sense........it may not actually be the radiator itself.

I knew a guy with an Ek9 who had the same overheating problems and he called down a new aftermarket rad and still had the problem until he found out it was really the thermostat or somethinelse (can't specifically remember right now) :|

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 17th, 2007, 8:36 am

as said above, pressure test the system for leaks.
also check the cap, if the rubber looks worn/cracked, replace it immediately.

Civics also employ a fan switch, which are noted to fail at some point.
are you sure your radiator fan is coming on when it supposed to?

what you can do is bridge the contacts on the fan switch harness, so it will be on from the time ignition is on. if your overheating problem goes, it means time to get a new fan switch. OEM is always best.

also what colour is your coolant/rad water?
if it is brown, go to a radiator shop and get it flushed and cleaned.

the cooling system is critical. procrastination may cost you a new engine.

Return to “HONDA”