wtk about painting rims

X2Board161

wtk about painting rims

Postby X2Board161 » May 10th, 2007, 12:41 pm

Hear meh nah, ah want to paint over my rims, they are white but i'm thinking of changing the colour. My question is, can i take them to a good painter, and let him sort meh out? And what sort of paint do i consider using?

livewire

Postby livewire » May 10th, 2007, 1:03 pm

your painter is the best bet, and it is usually not that costly.

X2Board161

Postby X2Board161 » May 10th, 2007, 1:07 pm

Thanks wire, what sort of paint do i use? Normal automotive paint?

livewire

Postby livewire » May 10th, 2007, 1:26 pm

my painter sorted the paint out...it was automotive PPG brand, but as to the type i really can't say... (it cost me a few hundred dollars and that included the paint)..hopefully one of the painters see this thread and may shed some light on the type of paint that they use.

X2Board161

Postby X2Board161 » May 10th, 2007, 1:42 pm

Thanks bro.

ZanRx8

Postby ZanRx8 » May 10th, 2007, 6:35 pm

What ever color you choose you should powder coat them. Better finish and looks a whole lot better IMHO

DF1_2nR

Postby DF1_2nR » May 10th, 2007, 6:54 pm

^^^ Where in trinidad does powdercoating?

bOOsTmaN

Postby bOOsTmaN » May 11th, 2007, 12:12 am

X2Board161, where u get them rimz from it lookin rel bess... i lookin for some rimz jus like dat

X2Board161

Postby X2Board161 » May 11th, 2007, 6:24 am

boots, from Car botique, in St James.

Postby crazybalhead » May 11th, 2007, 7:20 am

X2Board161 wrote:Thanks wire, what sort of paint do i use? Normal automotive paint?

Normal paint with a clear coat man. Just like body work. Usually people charge aout $50-$100 per rim, I guess it will be more expensive depending on the paint.

If you want flat black, you can paint it yourself with a few cans of spray paint.

Do a search online.

livewire

Postby livewire » May 11th, 2007, 7:52 am

Zh@ne
Location: Some say he can be nowhere and everywhere at the same time

Postby Zh@ne » May 11th, 2007, 8:18 am

livewire wrote:

X3

adri 2nr

Postby adri 2nr » May 11th, 2007, 9:02 am

Zh@ne wrote:
livewire wrote:

X3

no where

i ''heard'' a comany does it for industrial purposes...