Spyrogyra wrote:I doh understand why it is allyuh feel honda engines so bulletproof yuh know. Drop anything more than 10lbs on a stock block and relaibility takes a nose dive off a high board into an empty pool.
JRSC with 8.5lb stepper pulley on alternator
F1 wrote:Dyno - 2000 Supercharged Civic Si (B16a)
The Dyno run shown here is not the final run. This was with a very heat-soaked engine. Note the very flat torque curve and power all the way to the 8000 rpm. An 8500 rpm limit would probably see a few more HP.
Specifications
* Jackson Racing/Walbro fuel pump. 1:1 Regulator with static fuel pressure of 42psi into 440 c injectors .
* JRSC with 8.5lb stepper pulley on alternator
* Comtech Icebox & Intake (cover off box to dyno)
* DC 4-2-1 Header
* Thermal 2.25 inch exhaust w/ test pipe
* Hondata ECU
Source : http://www.hondata.com/dyno99b16230hpcivic.html
Thats some nice power... How much money do you have to spend to make that power reliably NA on a b16a to see those figures? I am not arguing that FI is better than NA i am just saying its much cheaper and can be just as reliable once done properly...best bang for buck as some would say...
SR wrote:
cost..................last i checked a jackson racing supercharger brand new wasnt cheap
however i am reffering as to the cost compared to the reliability of a turbo especialy if you want to run more than 8lbs of boost
especially with our gas... Correct me if i am wrong...
Spyrogyra wrote:especially with our gas... Correct me if i am wrong...
You are 100% correct, the same problem applies to boost....
Banks said the future of turbo lies with diesel engines, go figure!!!
http://bankspower.com/twin-turbo-products.cfm
Daily Drivers don't run on C16.![]()
another limit is that that the top shelf "choice" tuner engines in the Honda lineup max out at 2.0-2.2 l of displacement. there's only so much you can do with that amount of displacement. especially when you consider that to get significant boost (>20 lbs) you talking crankshaft, rods, pistons, pins, headbolts, blockguards, rings, seals, timing chain (K), block brace, and STILL a Stock Evo with a smaller tuning budget could have you looking at his tail lights in the distance.
Honda was NEVER about BLISTERING speed, despite what many seem to perpetuate. It was always about BALANCE....that is the beauty of the Type-R. Quick and Nimble, ask anyone who's spent enough time in Solodex and see for yourself. It's why Spoon build endurance cars that have no turbos but STILL DOMINATE THEIR CLASS!!!!. It's why you have to pay $25000 for a K20A on the pallete but get a SR20DET for 1/5th that price on the road.....
Any dummy can put a turbo on a car, it's brute force, an NA engine with the same, if not better, specific output as a turbocharged one!!?? that something to respect..
Daily Drivers don't run on C16.
nice figs dey, not seeing torque, only rpm, hp & afr...F1 wrote:Dyno - 2000 Supercharged Civic Si (B16a)
The Dyno run shown here is not the final run. This was with a very heat-soaked engine. Note the very flat torque curve and power all the way to the 8000 rpm. An 8500 rpm limit would probably see a few more HP.
Specifications
* Jackson Racing/Walbro fuel pump. 1:1 Regulator with static fuel pressure of 42psi into 440 c injectors .
* JRSC with 8.5lb stepper pulley on alternator
* Comtech Icebox & Intake (cover off box to dyno)
* DC 4-2-1 Header
* Thermal 2.25 inch exhaust w/ test pipe
* Hondata ECU
Source : http://www.hondata.com/dyno99b16230hpcivic.html
Thats some nice power... How much money do you have to spend to make that power reliably NA on a b16a to see those figures? I am not arguing that FI is better than NA i am just saying its much cheaper and can be just as reliable once done properly...best bang for buck as some would say...
True, as log as u eh do it properly...stephanweaver wrote:all this reliability talk bout na, i know someone close in this room has spun bearings on his na engine, also i know many who have hit valves on pistons NA.
the minute you modify you put more stress on the engine.
na or boost
Zim wrote:See & performance cheap on d whole buddy.F1 wrote:Zim wrote:N?A sweet hoss, u getting tie up![]()
NA Sweet but a bit costly to make some good power imho...U ahve parts like rain in yuh car & u talkin bout cost??? LOL
havokkk wrote:lots of guys have added turbo-chargers to b16as without thinking carefully of the power increase, the amount of fuel req'd, or the bottom-end's limits. if the stock fuel pump (120lph @ 40psi) can't deliver the capacity necessary, or the injectors are at max duty cycle, or fuel delivery was limited to the use of an fpr only, cylinder temps rise and the engine inevitable breaks. the myth that vtec heads or high compression ratios and boost pressure don't mix is therefore propagated.
don't get me wrong though. engine building is brilliant and you learn lots... but an intelligent approach to boost though, ain't bad.
F1 wrote:havokkk wrote:lots of guys have added turbo-chargers to b16as without thinking carefully of the power increase, the amount of fuel req'd, or the bottom-end's limits. if the stock fuel pump (120lph @ 40psi) can't deliver the capacity necessary, or the injectors are at max duty cycle, or fuel delivery was limited to the use of an fpr only, cylinder temps rise and the engine inevitable breaks. the myth that vtec heads or high compression ratios and boost pressure don't mix is therefore propagated.
don't get me wrong though. engine building is brilliant and you learn lots... but an intelligent approach to boost though, ain't bad.
Well said havokkk...
havokkk wrote:. the myth that vtec heads or high compression ratios and boost pressure don't mix is therefore propagated...