V-tec controllers in VVL's

QG

V-tec controllers in VVL's

Postby QG » May 16th, 2007, 9:23 am

could a v-tec controller work with a vvl engine?

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » May 16th, 2007, 10:42 am

Not sure, but i know the Greddy MSS works in the VVL :idea:

ksimon

Postby ksimon » May 16th, 2007, 6:37 pm

Greddy mss???? whats that about.... whats the cost of it??? i have a sr20 vvl but no controller

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » May 16th, 2007, 9:49 pm

Not sure of the price...but i think its called Greddy MSS (Multi Switching System)

azis

Postby azis » May 17th, 2007, 8:24 am

could a v-tec controller work with a vvl engine?

yes it would work only u would have to switch on the both cams at the same time (which worked better for me) and with the mss u could have it switch one cam a time

bsically ur vvl vtec mivec is all switched on by a combination of rpm,oil pressure and tps
so once a unit would work for one make of engine it would work for all

azis

Postby azis » May 17th, 2007, 8:26 am

and my advice dont use the greddy mss cause it real hard to hookup and tune
i tried it in my b15 and i got fed up and used a cheaper less hassle way to do it
i used a tach with a shift light and just hooked up the light to the solenoids :D :D :D

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » May 17th, 2007, 9:31 pm

i used a tach with a shift light and just hooked up the light to the solenoids

:shock: , cool.

can u explain a lil more abt this?

what RPM did the VVL came on?

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » May 17th, 2007, 9:38 pm

also check ur belts and pulley's

QG

Postby QG » May 18th, 2007, 9:19 am

azis wrote:and my advice dont use the greddy mss cause it real hard to hookup and tune
i tried it in my b15 and i got fed up and used a cheaper less hassle way to do it
i used a tach with a shift light and just hooked up the light to the solenoids :D :D :D

I've heard this from someone before. What does the tach has to do with any controller? Does the tach have a way to activate the vvl kick to a certain rpm level? And does the tach and Greddy MSS work the same?

azis

Postby azis » May 18th, 2007, 11:19 am

all ur vvl needs is a rpm activating switch
and doesnt ur shift light on ur tach trigger by rpm ???
simple just make sure the tach u have switching the light on with a switching ground..... then hook up the switching ground wire from ur tach on the two ground wires on the both solenoids...... then tune ur tach at what rpm you want the vvl to turn on, in turn u would be setting the shift point on the tach but when the shift light turns on the vvl would turn on, simple easy and straight forward :o :o :o

azis

Postby azis » May 18th, 2007, 11:22 am

I've heard this from someone before. What does the tach has to do with any controller? Does the tach have a way to activate the vvl kick to a certain rpm level? And does the tach and Greddy MSS work the same?

now u understand the tach and mss would do the same job if u hook up the tach on the solenoids.........BUT isnt it easy to hook up a tach????? trust me a mss IS NOT easy to hookup and also IT ISNT easy to tune

azis

Postby azis » May 18th, 2007, 11:23 am

What does the tach has to do with any controller?

the tach becomes the controller

ksimon

Postby ksimon » May 18th, 2007, 5:43 pm

For real??? so i can jus buy a tach with a shift light and my vvl would activate???

azis

Postby azis » May 18th, 2007, 7:51 pm

yeh :shock: :shock: :shock: dont say i never helped u guys :P :P

QG

Postby QG » May 18th, 2007, 11:03 pm

yeah brethren, thanks for your help...keep blessed!

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » May 19th, 2007, 1:10 pm

their is also some thing called V manage look it up

azis

Postby azis » May 20th, 2007, 3:31 pm

yeh but them thing is big money and u have to either be good with tunning them thing or u hadda know someone who could

azis

Postby azis » May 20th, 2007, 3:32 pm

compare the cost of a greddy mss and a v manage to a cheap tach with a shift light

Picasso

Postby Picasso » May 20th, 2007, 3:43 pm

Jed all you need are RPM switches they are not as costly as the Greddy MSS and the MSD controller. There is a company called Sumit that makes RPM switches they will do the job.

turbonator

Postby turbonator » May 21st, 2007, 12:33 am

I believe dat when using the vtec controller u wont have control over each induvidual cams. Instead they would engage at the same time. Well das what i understand, anyone willing to confirm this.

azis

Postby azis » May 21st, 2007, 7:15 am

I believe dat when using the vtec controller u wont have control over each induvidual cams. Instead they would engage at the same time. Well das what i understand, anyone willing to confirm this.

yes it would work only u would have to switch on the both cams at the same time (which worked better for me) and with the mss u could have it switch one cam a time

bsically ur vvl vtec mivec is all switched on by a combination of rpm,oil pressure and tps
so once a unit would work for one make of engine it would work for all

i said that earlier

turbonator

Postby turbonator » May 21st, 2007, 8:38 pm

^^ Or hor, ok my bad :mrgreen:

azis

Postby azis » May 21st, 2007, 8:38 pm

cool

QG

Postby QG » May 22nd, 2007, 10:12 am

AZIS, here's my million dollar question...If you set the shift light to what ever rpm u want to activate the vvl, then how is the tach with light useful for when the car reaches it's maximum rpm to change into another gear?

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » May 22nd, 2007, 10:39 am

Like u have to have to shift lights :?

azis

Postby azis » May 22nd, 2007, 2:28 pm

Nissan QG15DE wrote:AZIS, here's my million dollar question...If you set the shift light to what ever rpm u want to activate the vvl, then how is the tach with light useful for when the car reaches it's maximum rpm to change into another gear?

how many people out there actually depend on a shift light to change gear ???

i dont

so therefore its like i bought a tach with a vvl controller

QG

Postby QG » May 24th, 2007, 11:26 pm

quote "so therefore it's like i bought a tach with a vvl controller" end quote.

plain and simple there, that's a good way to put it across. Thanks for info.

Postby SmokeyGTi » May 25th, 2007, 8:12 am

azis wrote:and my advice dont use the greddy mss cause it real hard to hookup and tune

that sounds so simple yet it in theory it should work! kudos to whoever originally came up with it - if is you well den yuh good!

azis

Postby azis » May 26th, 2007, 1:57 pm

well it was my idea but the electrician did the work for me :D :D :D

MRM

Postby MRM » June 1st, 2007, 4:34 am

hi azis
i'm from sri lanka & i have a Vz-R wih SR16VE engine,

when you connect the tach on the two ground wires on the both solenoids......
are you still going to keep the ECU line to to the solenoid??? or disconnect it .

your reply will be very very helpfull thanks inadvance