suspension problem

slustarlet

suspension problem

Postby slustarlet » June 11th, 2007, 3:34 pm

hi ppl,

i need some help with a suspension problem i have.

when i am turning a fast right hand corner I can feel the right wheel shaking. I have changed the tie rods, rear control arm bushing and ball joints (both sides for each). The springs and shocks have been changed also.

The car is a VW golf gti mkiv..

Any advice will be appreciated..

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » June 11th, 2007, 5:02 pm

What about front wheel bearing torque specs?... re-balance wheels?... defective tyre?
Loose/cut right side engine mount?... or rear gearbox mount?... or steering rack mount?... or right stabilizer bar mount?

slustarlet

Postby slustarlet » June 11th, 2007, 5:48 pm

I am considering the stabiliser bar mount as a likely source. The wheels themselves are fine.

I don't know about the engine mounts, one needs to change but the feedback i getting while cornering feels like it is more of a failure of something around the wheel area.

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » June 11th, 2007, 11:14 pm

what abt ur alignment and cambering?

slustarlet

Postby slustarlet » June 12th, 2007, 1:34 pm

alignment and camber is fine...

phreakazoid

Postby phreakazoid » June 13th, 2007, 10:35 am

seems like u got a wheel bearing problem here ...either it not torqued enough or u got a defective bearing.............. are you hearing a humming sound ?

slustarlet

Postby slustarlet » June 13th, 2007, 8:06 pm

no humming.....just vibration when turning right on right wheel.

saltydog
CARS Member

Postby saltydog » June 15th, 2007, 4:52 pm

How do you know it is the right front wheel? I take it you are feeling the vibration through the steering. There is a possibility that this is a velocity joint problem. The inner joint has been known to cause this problem. Sometimes you can remove the joints and service them to solve the problem.
I would also give the rest of the steering system a complete check, from rack onwards.
This is an odd problem and normally I would ask when did it start (was it after you replaced something?) you could send me a PM if you are in the west I will take a drive with you and give you some advice.

Ryan

DragonTech

Postby DragonTech » June 17th, 2007, 1:09 am

Stop taking fast right corners and yuh problem solved.. :D