Fram oil filters

Chemical

Fram oil filters

Postby Chemical » May 21st, 2007, 1:39 pm

2ners i'v read some really bad posts via oil filter study on the net & stated that the frams are poorly built internally & the anti drain back valve is no good. Where can i buy purolator filter for the qg15.

after reading, I should really change this filter the next time.

Any one out there uses any other brand :?:

pls see:

http://people.msoe.edu/~yoderw/oilfilte ... html#bosch

http://minimopar.knizefamily.net/oilfilterstudy.html

Re: Fram oil filters

Postby wagonrunner » May 21st, 2007, 1:49 pm

Chemical Darryl wrote:2ners i'v read some really bad posts via oil filter study on the net & stated that the frams are poorly built internally & the anti drain back valve is no good. Where can i buy purolator filter for the qg15.

after reading, I should really change this filter the next time.

Any one out there uses any other brand :?:

pls see:

http://people.msoe.edu/~yoderw/oilfilte ... html#bosch

http://minimopar.knizefamily.net/oilfilterstudy.html

at almost any gas station, parts and suplies store.

Chemical

Postby Chemical » May 21st, 2007, 1:59 pm

Let me go out on a limb here & say "Thanx, I would have never thought of it !!" :shock:

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » May 21st, 2007, 2:10 pm

:shock: :shock:
and ppl does rate up Fram oil filter so much :?

i guess i'll stick to the ordinary purelator :|

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » May 21st, 2007, 2:52 pm

an i always here thinking fram is a best brand..never used it tho buh glad i didnt now

venum

Postby venum » May 21st, 2007, 8:13 pm

Sakura

works better than FRAM and purolator

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » May 22nd, 2007, 8:46 am

GOOD INFO..WILL HAVE TO CHANGE MINE NEXT TIME.... :|

Polydor

Postby Polydor » May 22nd, 2007, 1:49 pm

BUY OEM.

Polydor

Postby Polydor » May 22nd, 2007, 1:50 pm

BUY ORIGINAL OEM.

Chemical

Postby Chemical » May 22nd, 2007, 2:00 pm

OEM mexico or japan. Dollar savers have a filter where de box looking from behind the counter like Nissan. Who makes OEM oil filters & how come Fram is the official NHRA filter :|

sss

Postby sss » May 23rd, 2007, 6:35 am

run veryyyyyyyyyyyyy far from that fram filter it blew out on me twice oil all over the place

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » May 23rd, 2007, 9:54 am

I have been using Fram filters for over 2 years now on a NZE corolla (local). Runs san juan to point every day and have never had no problems.

Works fine for me.

Polydor

Postby Polydor » May 23rd, 2007, 12:26 pm

Well I but mine from The Motorist....

It says made in Japan on the box and it's the blue filter.....just a little piece of mind....pay bout $35 bucks for the filter so I don't think it's all that bad.

Chemical

Postby Chemical » May 23rd, 2007, 12:35 pm

Well I called N&M and they quoted me $113.00 for the qg15. :shock:

Postby wagonrunner » May 23rd, 2007, 12:37 pm

sigh.

Zero-Cool

Postby Zero-Cool » May 24th, 2007, 2:10 am

fram works fine.
never had a problem with it.
however the sakura filters are great...
the reason why the filter blew out, if it's an SR20 was because u put the wrong filter on it.

the sakura C1814 works great. on the SR that is.

dont think im changing the fram doh..
cheers.

Zero.

Chemical

Postby Chemical » June 12th, 2007, 12:56 pm

What about the K&N filters ? Can I use the extended drain with this filter?

Postby ronsin1 » June 12th, 2007, 1:33 pm

I was at long circular yesterday at auto and lotto and saw the K&N oil filter and was wondering how it would work I think next oil chage I will use one of those I running a fram right now with no problems!

I guess is a matter of the oil presure that passes through the filter that will cause it to blow out!!!!!

venum

Postby venum » June 12th, 2007, 9:16 pm

^^^ supposed to be great stuff

one of my friends with an Evo VI RS2 uses it and highly recommends it

I personally do not find it worth the $$$ on either of my engines (4G15 DOHC EFI & 4G18 SOHC)

simple Sakura will do for 1/2 teh price

for a boosted high performance engine I think it's worth it

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » June 13th, 2007, 10:25 am

The K&N Gold oil filters are about $90 each, very close to the price of an OEM filter from the firm. So if I had to choose between the stock OEM and the K&N, I would definately go with the K&N pricewise.

The construction of the K&N far exceeds what the stock offers, for the same money, so I will agree with venum if I had a high performance engine K&N is the way to go.

http://www.knfilters.com/oilfilter.htm

TECH TALK
Our Performance Gold Oil Filters use a cellulose media bound by phenolic resin surrounding a metal inner core that provides structural strength to reduce the risk of filter collapse. The resin is the "glue" that holds the media fibers together and at the same time keeps "pores" open by keeping the fibers apart. The resin is cured to full strength during the element manufacturing process. Phenolic resin systems are an excellent choice for the high temperature demands of oil filters. Our filter includes an anti-drainback valve, when applicable, that prevents oil from draining back into the crankcase during engine shutdown. The anti-drainback valve is useful in situations where the filter is mounted horizontally which could allow backflow. We use rolled threads to help prevent stripping during installation or removal and an internally lubricated gasket provides a positive seal even after the filter has been removed and reinstalled.

But like venum, I run a budget engine (same 4G15 DOHC) so the Sakura and the Purolator suffices for me. I run an oil pressure guage and I could tell you the Purolator stands up to pressures of 100 psi with no problems.

rolling_hard

Postby rolling_hard » October 15th, 2008, 7:22 pm

i bought a fram filter today for my 4age 20v what are some of d advantage/disadvantage using it, with havoline 20W 50 oil

i want to now today seeing i have to use it tomorrow

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 15th, 2008, 7:48 pm

been running fram filters on a b16a for over 5 years.
NO problems.

that is with a lot of 8000 RPM motor speeds.
regular driving 3-5K RPM

rolling_hard

Postby rolling_hard » October 15th, 2008, 7:50 pm

what about d oil?

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » October 15th, 2008, 8:41 pm

I used to believe in fram until Cyclops showed me two engines that got screwed from Fram filters. The filter element broke down and starved the engine of oil in a local Prado and on a SR20DET. Purolator has never let me down.

rolling_hard

Postby rolling_hard » October 15th, 2008, 8:54 pm

DAMN! *i wonder if they will exchange it*

Postby X_Factor » October 15th, 2008, 9:59 pm

Purolator or Sakura FTW!!!

FullStop

Postby FullStop » October 15th, 2008, 10:09 pm

yup, i've been warning ppl about fram for a while now, i've converted to K&N or purolater. check this out, u can gauge build quality of the average oil filter from this:

http://home.mindspring.com/~ed_white/id7.html

Conrad

Postby Conrad » October 15th, 2008, 10:32 pm

Have a read. Shows just how much of a risk we put our "investments" in when we try to cut costs.

http://forums.hybridz.org/showthread.php?t=133446

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » October 16th, 2008, 7:13 am

X_Factor wrote:Purolator or Sakura FTW!!!

AGREED! :)

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » October 16th, 2008, 7:44 am

Polydor wrote:BUY ORIGINAL OEM.

victim #1 :lol:
why would you want to buy a filter from someone who specializes in something else??????

venum wrote:Sakura

works better than FRAM and purolator

and how do you know this?????
have you done oil analysis on the oils?

ah not trying to flame anybody, but bring proof........

i never use fram, cuz i have seen the element break to pieces and damage a friend's sr20de, but before that i read reviews online of what rubbish it is......

that's why i stick to purlator......i cant say for sure that the purlator works better, but i'm sure its of a better quality.
however the K&N is know to sacrifice filtration for flow, its better for racing applications and non-dusty conditions as far as i know.....