Engine Swap lancer CK1 4G13

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

itsme

Engine Swap lancer CK1 4G13

Postby itsme » July 23rd, 2007, 12:42 am

Hi All,
I have 97 lancer glx...
presently i m running a carby 4G13 with auto tranny ...
performance is ... u can imagine 1.3 with auto

i want to swap it with some other engine as i wana keep transmission auto....

please suggest me possible swaps that does not require much alterations...
problem is that i have CK1 chassis and i think this further limits the swap options....

Another option is that i get the engine overhualed ... got the bore increased a little ... and got some lil performance add ons like filter etc...

Anyone pls

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » July 23rd, 2007, 1:34 am

CK is just the type of bodyshell..

The 1 just determines it's a 1.3.

You can fit most mitsu engines in that model up to the 4G63T for the evo.

But the following will be the simplest to install without much alteration...and when Isay "much", I mean considering if the engine you have is Carb to EFI conversion, mounts and electricals, etc...

4G15 SOHC carb
4G15 DOHC EFI (a popular choice)
4G92 SOHC EFI
4G92 DOHC EFI MIVEC (not easy to find, but nice runner)
4G63 SOHC EFI (out of the newer model Galants)

itsme

Postby itsme » July 23rd, 2007, 2:01 am

aahh rite... i was getting worried about chassis for no reason... :)
about the above engine do we aslo require a suspension upgrade...

and i think my present tranny is INVECS II ... 4 speed auto... does changing the tranny to some other like INVECS III CVT or triptronic help and will it be possible...

i hope i make sense...

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » July 23rd, 2007, 2:46 am

4G15 DOHC EFI (a popular choice)

Actually got my car back tonight(Sunday) from having this conversion done :)

Postby X_Factor » July 23rd, 2007, 7:11 am

^^ how much u paid for ur conversion?

itsme,its probably easier to sell ur car...put the extra 8k that u'd spend on a conversion and buy a lancer thats already FI...u'll also be getting a newer car..cause no way u gonna get back ur 8k when time to sell unless u aint plan to do that ne time within the next 3yrs

itsme

Postby itsme » July 23rd, 2007, 7:28 am

@Morpheus23
so hows ur experience... do tell me about its prformance now... and the drive...
i think it must be manual...

@X_Factor
you are rite... well the other option of overhual is also there... incase i figured out
swap not feasible... i dont plan to sell car for 1 - 1.5 yrs btw

cheers :)

blazing

Postby blazing » July 23rd, 2007, 5:36 pm

pics?

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » July 24th, 2007, 12:36 am

$4800 ENGINE
$2400 EVERYTHING ELSE(Pluge,belts,oils,filters and labour including an electrician)

I agree with
itsme,its probably easier to sell ur car...put the extra 8k that u'd spend on a conversion and buy a lancer thats already FI...u'll also be getting a newer car..cause no way u gonna get back ur 8k when time to sell unless u aint plan to do that ne time within the next 3yrs

@Morpheus23
so hows ur experience... do tell me about its prformance now... and the drive...
i think it must be manual...

Immediate difference. I eh really run it hard yet...nah I lie on my way home tonight I hit 155km/h easy. Take off is more peppy.Turning on the AC does not feel you just drop 6 bag ah cement in the trunk :twisted: .

Check my post about it
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... highlight=

itsme

Postby itsme » July 24th, 2007, 1:09 am

@Morpheus23
just went through ur thread... u hav surely got a clean swap there...
congrats... looking great...

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » July 24th, 2007, 1:49 am

itsme wrote:@Morpheus23
just went through ur thread... u hav surely got a clean swap there...
congrats... looking great...
Hey thanks
I tawt everbody woulda just see how dirty it is. :D

Thanks man and good luck with your car.Feel free to ask us guys any questions.We help when we could.

Peace

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » July 25th, 2007, 9:47 am

^^^Check the update itsme

itsme

Postby itsme » July 26th, 2007, 1:55 am

Morpheus23 wrote:^^^Check the update itsme

sorry didnt get you... which update ?? :(

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » July 26th, 2007, 5:45 am

On my post>>>Pics of cleaned engine
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... highlight=

itsme

Postby itsme » July 26th, 2007, 7:47 am

Ooh ... ma bad... :roll:
well looking even cleaner after the wash... nice :)

hey one thing, how much mileage dat engine had on it before...

cheers

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » July 26th, 2007, 10:22 am

hey one thing, how much mileage dat engine had on it before...

That is one thing yuh does never know.Just carry a good ,experienced mechanic wit u.

Only way you can get the mileage is if you get it out a front half i guess.

Someone correct me if I am wrong.

rych_bess2k6

Postby rych_bess2k6 » August 6th, 2007, 1:01 pm

yuh cud also guestimate how old th engine is by how many timing belt stickers are on th cover... th japanese usually write the mileage it was changed at on the stickers...

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » August 6th, 2007, 4:29 pm

rych_bess2k6 wrote:yuh cud also guestimate how old th engine is by how many timing belt stickers are on th cover... th japanese usually write the mileage it was changed at on the stickers...
That is if these scrap yard ppl eh rip dem off....for obvious reasons

itsme

Postby itsme » August 8th, 2007, 9:07 am

right.... :)

well update about it...
so far i m thinking may be to keep the for some time n then sell it off (as few suggested above) and buy something else... unless i find a good swap option in local market...

lets see what happens....

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 23rd, 2007, 10:20 pm

try these alternatives:

4G15
4G63
4G91
4G92
4G93
4G61
4G62 :)

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » August 24th, 2007, 12:49 am

gracen wrote:try these alternatives:

4G15
4G63
4G91
4G92
4G93
4G61
4G62 :)

4G91* (actually it's the DOHC 4g15 in CK model.)
4G61*
4G62 *

Not applicable to CK lancers unless you plan to do some fabrication as the engines are swung 180 degrees.

itsme

Postby itsme » August 31st, 2007, 6:10 am

hmm... :roll:

Postby X_Factor » August 31st, 2007, 9:21 am

do like me..sell the car get something a lil faster..it saves u alot of $$ and headache

itsme

Postby itsme » September 2nd, 2007, 3:23 am

^^ yeah... thinking something like that

itsme

Postby itsme » February 11th, 2008, 7:25 am

Hi All,
was doing some research abt 4G92 DOHC EFI (MIVEC or NON MIVEC)...
for fitting these on CK... does it requie to swing the engine.. arent these from other chassis which engine on left side...
mine got engine on right side...
if anyone pls clarify...

cheers

itsme

Postby itsme » February 11th, 2008, 7:40 am

wont it be the 4G18 that would fit it straight in this chassis??

venum

Postby venum » February 13th, 2008, 2:35 pm

if it is a ck to fit in teh 4G92 miv or non-mic will fit

engine on driver side

itsme

Postby itsme » February 14th, 2008, 1:49 am

venum wrote:if it is a ck to fit in teh 4G92 miv or non-mic will fit

engine on driver side

sniper_wolfe

Re: Engine Swap lancer CK1 4G13

Postby sniper_wolfe » January 27th, 2013, 10:40 pm

Hello all,
My CK1 4G13 carb. engine locked up. Mechanic suspects the oil pump failed. I'm considering my best options to get the car back on the road. I'd rather not sell the car, I just want to get it working reliably again.

So far I'm thinking
a) Attempt to repair the engine
b) Look for a 'new' carb. engine
c) Attempt an engine upgrade

Since the original post was since 2007, I'm expecting options a) and b) to be quite expensive or offering little long term reliability.

I'd like to know what the current best engine upgrades are i.e. engines that would 'line up' most reliably with the least modding.

A list of mechanics/electricians/parts places who are reliable would be helpful.

Finally any insight on how I should budget for this at today's prices would also be appreciated.

At this stage I just trying to get my bearings

Just a gentle reminder---- I am not selling the car!

Thanks,

s_w

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » January 28th, 2013, 2:05 pm

I can't say regarding prices or electricians etc but

4G15 DOHC (common and probably mot economical )
4G92 SOHC (lil hard to find)

Postby Ted_v2 » January 28th, 2013, 2:56 pm

I did a 4g15 carbed swap to a 4g15dohc.

7000$for a engine and tranny
1500$for wiring
Put aside 1000 for changing oils and stuff.

Its a bolt for bolt swap. Everything is being used back.oh and you need to install a fuel pump

Return to “MITSUBISHI”