Iridium vs Germanium

dipsomaniac

Iridium vs Germanium

Postby dipsomaniac » September 30th, 2007, 8:44 pm

Any thoughts or views on how these 2 component sets compare to each other?

sq/spl etc.

gfbl

Postby gfbl » October 1st, 2007, 7:19 am

juts to confirm, you comparing dls iridium to rainbow germanium correct?

Postby SR » October 1st, 2007, 8:19 am

DLS ALL THE WAY :twisted:

sorry i jes being biased cuz i have yet to hear the rainbows

i have heard and used the iridiums and they sound fantastic

neither are for spl

SnipeR

Postby SnipeR » October 1st, 2007, 9:27 am

ppl use comps in SPL? :?

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » October 1st, 2007, 10:00 am

think he was refering for gallleryish sorta systems..if is for spl i sure he checkin mid bass lol

never heard the rainbows but they have a really good reputation,

are u looking to buy these or just reviewing? cuz u kno those not cheap by any means

jeff

Postby jeff » October 1st, 2007, 10:18 am

i think for your application eminencium or selinium sounds like what you are looking for 0X

rainbows kinda rare down here ..i have no experience with the rains but nevertheles both are big brands in the sq world

gfbl

Postby gfbl » October 1st, 2007, 10:24 am

no dealer for rainbow so if you bring it and anything goes wrong you have no support locally.i think you splitting hairs really.

dipsomaniac

Postby dipsomaniac » October 1st, 2007, 11:08 am

yea i comparing the dls Iridium vs rainbow Germanium

umm well right now i have the cdt ef-6.1.
i love them but i wanna upgrade. i lookin for something that could get a lil lounder but still maintain the sq. i could get a higher series cdt like the HD series but i figure i want to try out a different brand.

yea i know i will have to bring down the set myself from the states. but das the least of my worries.

both seem to be similar on paper in terms of rms etc.
and i trust their sq ability but if its not gonna be lounder than my current cdts den maybe i need to look at some other components.

gfbl

Postby gfbl » October 1st, 2007, 11:18 am

why you need louder? is is your bass overpowering your mids currently? if so then you can look at a pair of usd waveguides which are for sale currently in the car audio forum

jeff

Postby jeff » October 1st, 2007, 11:22 am

i notice you mention loudness and rms for your factors in choosing the speakers

these things should not even be of concern with these speakers

dipsomaniac

Postby dipsomaniac » October 1st, 2007, 11:31 am

i guess horns are always an option and so are dj speakers etc but i was more looking for a car audio component set.

dipsomaniac

Postby dipsomaniac » October 1st, 2007, 11:36 am

well i mention rms to more compare the speakers. meaning they have similar power requirements. it wasn't in reference to how loud the speaker will be.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » October 1st, 2007, 12:02 pm

you could also try the Legatias from Hybrid Audio.

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » October 1st, 2007, 12:06 pm

but when it comes to components looking at rms power handling is not a very good way to judge how they wud perfrom or how clean they wud play..bottom line u cant go wrong with those for sq especially the DLS and SR is a dealer locally so that would be a really big help if nething was to happen

dipsomaniac

Postby dipsomaniac » October 1st, 2007, 12:48 pm

well i wasn't using the rms to judge performance or how clean or how loud. maybe i was explaining it wrong. i used it more as a comparison in that to me it seems the dls iridium line competes/comparable with the germanium line in the rainbows.
then again i could be wrong :?

the legatias look promising. price range/dealer?

Postby SR » October 1st, 2007, 1:13 pm

i have a slightly used set of dls iridium 3 ways that i may be willng to part with for 3k

brand new the cost is now approc $5500

dipsomaniac

Postby dipsomaniac » October 1st, 2007, 1:31 pm

das a vry temptin deal on the 3 way but i won't be able to purchase anything right now.

lookin more towards dec or jan to make my purchase. but if its dls well i know where to check.

the iridium 3 ways, is that the 6.3i or the 8.3i??

Postby SR » October 1st, 2007, 1:50 pm

the used set is the 6.3

the new ones will be the new 6.3i the 8.3i is more

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » October 1st, 2007, 2:57 pm

yeh dipso check sr he will handle yuh up with the dls

DE AUDIO

Postby DE AUDIO » October 2nd, 2007, 12:34 am

and i trust their sq ability but if its not gonna be lounder than my current cdts den maybe i need to look at some other components.

The DLS aint gonna be louder than the CDT'S. What you have from CDT is the lowest Line. The Classic Series is the entry level and look how you are pleased. If you want something louder then go with the CDT but a higher line like the HD's.

I can give you a set of HD62 for $1895.00. That is a deal since it retails online for $449.00 usd. They are brand new and I am authorized CDT distributor in Trinidad. I also have the CDT HD series 3 way in Stock.

The DLS will have the upper hand in SQ over the HD series but in effect the HD's are designed, take higher wattage and WILL play louder while still maintaining the SQ and SQL you love. Remember you are also comparing the CDT middle line to the DLS high line. You want a mix of both worlds, loudness and SQ then go CDT. Cheaper than the DLS BRAND NEW and the CDT's are overbuilt.

When one looks at DLS especially me, DLS makes great products but in effect they are mostly concentrated on strict SQ. Strict SQ is boring to most and sure it sounds amazing but like most people they want something that can go loud and still maintain a constant clarity. This is where the CDT outshines the DLS in my opinion. Not to mention the DLS to get the performance you want especially coming from the highest line, you need proper equalization and proper amps, power, imaging and so on to get what you pay for. The CDT will play well once it gets the right power.

I have had many customers who made the change because SQ in Trinidad is being misrepresented. People think there is only SQ and SPL. What about SQL? If one takes the time to look at SQ systems, they are more generated by lower volume levels with a main emphasis on imaging and clarity. I have listened to many TOP DLS competition vehicles and I will admit they sound good but for my personal preference and most out there, they want a music system that can go loud when they want it and can maintain clarity and cleanness. CDT is your way to go where loudness is the main factor and more richness and music that feels alive.

LOOK AT THE RMS RATINGS ON BOTH BRANDS ALSO THE BUILD QUALITY AND SEE FOR YOURSELF.

There are some tuners that can vouge for me on CDT, just general customers and what you get for the price is exceptional. CDT is on the market to stay and will be a strong contender for value, performance, quality.

www.cdtaudio.com

DE AUDIO

Postby DE AUDIO » October 2nd, 2007, 12:42 am

Another factor that will generate more potential from ANY Component set is Sound Dampening. I am the largest supplier of Sound Dampening and Sound control products in the Caribbean.

I have the 3 BEST lines under my belt.

Dynamat - www.dynamat.com

SecondSkin Audio - www.secondskinaudio.com

Cascade Audio - www.cascadeaudio.com

Do your reasearch on the net and you will see. For a link check www.sounddeadenershowdown.com

Proper sound deadening on the doors will give you the BEST performance for your component system you choose and will give you every cent of performance you paid for in your system.

Postby SR » October 2nd, 2007, 7:10 am

i could swear discussion is between dls and rainbow

but if you want to add sound damping elemental desings edead $25/sq ft

Postby SR » October 2nd, 2007, 8:00 am

Exonic wrote:

The DLS will have the upper hand in SQ over the HD series but in effect the HD's are designed, take higher wattage and WILL play louder while still maintaining the SQ and SQL you love. Remember you are also comparing the CDT middle line to the DLS high line. You want a mix of both worlds, loudness and SQ then go CDT. Cheaper than the DLS BRAND NEW and the CDT's are overbuilt.

When one looks at DLS especially me, DLS makes great products but in effect they are mostly concentrated on strict SQ. Strict SQ is boring to most and sure it sounds amazing but like most people they want something that can go loud and still maintain a constant clarity. This is where the CDT outshines the DLS in my opinion. Not to mention the DLS to get the performance you want especially coming from the highest line, you need proper equalization and proper amps, power, imaging and so on to get what you pay for. The CDT will play well once it gets the right power.

thats just your opinion

roger

Postby roger » October 2nd, 2007, 8:04 am

i have used both dls and rainbow products.

from dls : the classic and iridium lines (2way AND 3ways)
from rainbow : the profi line and the kickbass line (ole school)

off the top they have two diffrenent sounds...the dls is a lil bit more "colored" (i use the term lightly) while the rainbows have a flatter sound.

the dls has better midbass hands down! the rainbows are a lil muddy below 80hz

with the rainbow silk tweet from both sets (profi and iridiums) i would give the edge to the rainbow because the on axis reponse to me is better. its a lil smoother and a lil more relaxed.

for the all important midrange...well i likes the dls a lil more, because of the the sound is more alive...vocals are clearer, the set images better (prolly cuz of the higher xo point on the passives)....suited for those who do not require extreme listening volumes.

be guided....

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » October 2nd, 2007, 11:13 am

hmm - like d dls vs cdt war start back again

i thought there was supposed to be a demo\showdown between d 2 entry series of d 2 brands ...whatever happened to dat .... :?: ...... :?

Postby SR » October 2nd, 2007, 11:28 am

i am willing to demo dls anytime to anyone who is interested

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » October 2nd, 2007, 12:07 pm

RAINBOWS are not for LOUD playing! they cater to the more refined mucis listeners- those who listen to alot of JAzz, steelpan, Opera, orchestral, etc will appreciate the rainbows more..........

its not meant to be a LOUD playing speaker.

their Highs are very articulate.

DE AUDIO

Postby DE AUDIO » October 2nd, 2007, 1:52 pm

There is no DLS / CDT war. The CDT entry level components and coaxials are better quality and value than the DLS entry fullstop. I try to encourage customers to see that and get more for what they pay for. The CDT also takes more power and plays louder.

I always admit that the DLS has an advantage over the CDT if you into strict sound quality. If not and you want something loud and clean then the CDT has an advantage over the DLS.

READ BETWEEN THE FINE LINES..

I am just trying to GIVE customers what they want - Notice the customer does not want someting with strict sq as the iridium. He wants something loud and clean and people adre advising him wrong. Also why spend so much when you can get something the customer wants at a cheaper price.

I have had many customers who used DLS because they did not want DJ speakers and something sound quality oriented but that can play loud. The truth is they are not satisfied with it especially the B6 and so on, it sounds good but does not give them the loudness and kick they want.

The reason why I did not persue the DLS and CDT Showdown is because they come down to 2 completely different speakers. One is for strict SQ and the other is great for SQL. Like I said I am just trying to give people what they want. If you read the guys post, he is confused and his main concerns is clarity and LOUDNESS.

evo-STI-k and Roger is the only people who is advising the guy properly.

TK!

Postby TK! » October 2nd, 2007, 2:02 pm

lewwe get a showdown! a soundoff if u must!

i go be de judge :-)

richiepooh

Postby richiepooh » October 2nd, 2007, 2:09 pm

me too :wink: