Yuh Know yuh is ah trini

katastrophic

Yuh Know yuh is ah trini

Postby katastrophic » October 10th, 2007, 6:00 am

Yuh know yuh from North when:

yuh not exactly sure where San Fernando is...
anything after Nestle is country .........
yuh hobbies is surfing and spear fishing...
yuh cyar handle pepper...
yuh buy yuh driver's licence...
yuh never get blank from a club...
yuh father does go Coconuts...
yuh doh have ah sexual preference...
yuh does talk wid a foreign accent
Yuh know yuh from de East West corridor when:
yuh push drugs at least once...
yuh does get yuh car parts from de Bamboo...
yuh know Sharlene Boodram personally...
yuh know all de Punch girls personally...
yuh father own a maxi...
yuh playing all fours since yuh four years old...

Yuh know yuh from Central when:
yuh have a hammock in every room in yuh house...
yuh biggest dream is to join a rock band...
yuh nearest neighbour livin three miles away...
yuh have ah autographed Chris Garcia poster...
yuh try drinking rubbin alcohol already...
yuh tink Play Whe is de best ting dat ever hit Trinidad ...
yuh feel Couva should be made a city...
yuh know someone personally who drink Gramoxone

Yuh know yuh from South when:
yuh get blank at least once from a club...
yuh still waitin fuh cable...
yuh "pull bull" on ah Friday night already...
yuh have chickens and goats as pets...
yuh always lookin to fight in ah fete...
yuh does still wear rubber slippers...
yuh believe Gulf City is de most happenin place...
yuh swim to school at least once already after a flood...
yuh father woking in de oil field

Yuh know yuh from Tobago when:
yuh forehead have dat "natural shine"
yuh have ah aunt name Jean
yuh does walk wit soap and shampoo to de beach...
yuh first choice was Signal Hill ...
yuh sister is six foot tall...
yuh favourite food is KFC...
yuh favourite airline is Air Caribbean ...
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Answers to "Why did the chicken cross the road?"

PATRICK MANNING:
It is a policy of my Government to allow chickens who have been historically alienated from the other side of the road to now have access to that side. I am presently in discussion with community leaders in the area to ensure that the chicken is able to cross safely. So the question just does not arise. In fact, ladies and gentlemen, if you observe carefully you can actually see pep in its step.

HOWARD CHIN LEE:
It is a result of a holistic plan to allow chickens from everywhere to cross the road safely without fear of being kidnapped. I have instructed the police and army to ensure a safe crossing. We need to make the roads safe to cross again. If we were not so vigilant, the chicken may not have come this far.

BASDEO PANDAY:
Brothers and sisters, for so long the chicken has toiled in the vineyards of the other side of the road. It is the result of years of struggle against discrimination that the chicken can now cross the road.

KELVIN RAMNATH:
If the chicken is crossing in central Trinidad , its safety cannot be guaranteed.

GLADIATOR {102 FM Morning host}:
It is a response to Basdeo Panday's call for civil disobedience. Shame on you chicken!!!!!

KEITH ROWLEY:
The chicken is free to go anywhere. The other side of the road belongs to you!!!

COLM IMBERT:
The chicken cannot cross the road. It is dead!

KEN VALLEY:
It could run, but it can't hide!!!

PETER MINSHALL:
Oh dear sweet God!!! Do not question which side the chicken is on...just appreciate its beauty.... for what it is!!!

RAMESH MAHARAJ:
We would have to file for an injunction to prevent more chickens from crossing.... otherwise there is the option of judicial review.

BARRY SINANAN {House Speaker}:
It is not a matter of urgent public importance.

A.N.R ROBINSON:
The chicken is clearly acting within the confines of the rule of law and the Constitution. I have no doubt that the decision to cross the road is based on moral and spiritual values.

ADESH NANAN:
The chicken is showing that there is now a shift in the paradigm.

HAZEL MANNING:
To join other chickens having their breakfases.

EDDIE HART:
To voter pad!!!!

KEVIN BALDEOSINGH:
This whole question is devoid of any factual substance, yet the ignorant masses continue to ponder on this abstract concept from age to age. If we are to analyse this issue logically, and according to scientific thought, chickens cannot distinguish one side of the road from the other and hence, cannot determine on which side it is on in the first place. In his Theory of Relativity, the reknowned German physicist, Albert Einstein theorises that the chicken is already on the other side, depending on your (the observer) position. Hence the debate will automatically follow that the chicken is constantly crossing the road. This is clearly an argument to foster the illusive and baseless concepts of omnipotence and omnipresence. The logical conclusion is therefore: there is no chicken.

JOHN RAHAEL:
The chicken has recognised the need for a restructured road and this action is clearly an indication by the chicken to voluntarily separate itself from one side to the other.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
THIS IS THE COMPLETE "TRINI ALPHABET" ENJOY!!

"A"
Ah -Substitute for "I"
Allyuh -All of you people. A group
Ax (Ask). -To ask a question
Aye-yah-yie -An expression of anticipation or pain, etc.

"B"
Bacchanal -Scandal, heavy quarreling, big party, confusion
Back chat -Insolent response, especially from a child to an adult
Bad eye(cut-eye) -A look of anger, especially when looking from the
corner of the eye
Ba-John -A bully or a really tough customer
Bamsee -The rear end, what you sit on
Bam-se Lambe -Rather attractive bamsee
Bol'face -A pushy person, unreasonably demanding
Broughtupsy -Showing that a person was properly brought up, decorum
Buh wait nah -But wait a minute, now hold on/it

"C"
Callaloo -A thick soup made from dasheen leaves, ochroes, coconut
milk, seasoned to taste, invariably includes crab
Calypso -A musical and lyrical comment on any subject, usually
composed for, but not limited to, the Carnival season
Calypsonian - One who sings calypsoes
Cheups(Steups) -A noise made by sucking your teeth
Chinkee -Very tiny portions of anything
Chupid -Stupid
Chupidee -A foolish person
Coki-eye -Cross-eyed
Commesse -Confusion associoated with arguments, gossip and slander
Cuff -Hitting someone or something with a clenched fist
Cyah -Can't

"D"
Da is you? -Is that you?
Dan-dan -Any sharp looking outfit
Dat good for yuh -Serves you right
Dat -That
Doh -Don't
Dotish -Silly, stupid, foolish and dumb
Dougla -Mixture of East Indians and African parentage
Drevait(dree-vay) -Wayward person who likes to "knock about"

"E"
Eh -What did you say?
Eh-eh -No, no way, oh no
Eh-heh -Oh really? I understand. Yes
En'less -Plenty, endless
Ent? -Is that not so? That's true, isn't it?

"F"
Fall out -To stop speaking with someone or to terminate a friendship
Faddah -Father
Fed up -The state of being bored
Fete -A party, loud music, lots to eat and drink, dancing to wee
hours of the morning
Flim -Film
Founkie(foong-key) -Foul-smelling, stink odour
Fuh true/troot? -Yes that is true. Is that really so?

"G"
Goin'orf -Someone who appears to be going out of their mind, acting
strangely
Gun talk -Fighting words, to threaten verbally
Gyul - Girl

"H"
Harden -Disobedient
Hototo(hotoetoe) -A very large amount of anything

"I"
I eh payin' tax fuh mih mout' -I could say anything I want
In ting -To be involved in current activity
Is so? -Is that so?

"J"
Jeez-an-ages -Used for any reason where an outburst is appropriate
Jook -To stab at anything
Jumbie -Spirit, ghost
Jus'now -In a little while
Jus'so? -Just like that?
Jus'so -Out of the blue, totally unexpected

"K"
Ketch -Catch
Klim -Any brand of powdered milk

"L"
Lef dat -Leave that
Leh -Let, let's
Leh go -Let go
Leh we -Let us
Lick dong -To accidentally hit someone or something
Licks -A beating, physical punishment
Like t'ing -To be somewhat mischievous
Lil'bit -In small meaningless portions
Lime -When a small group of people engage in a sometimes
pre-arranged activity
Long eye -A person who is envious of the possessions of others
Look nuh! -An expression of annoyance

"M"
Maco -A person who minds other people's business for the purpose of
gossip.
Macocious -A person having the trait of a maco
Maga -Very thin, skinny
Mamaguy -To make fun of, to ridicule
Mama Yo! -Expression denoting shock and surprise
Matter Fix -Everything is well organized
Mih han' slip -An expression used when too much of an ingredient is
used
Mooma -Mother
Mout'er -A boaster
Much up -To pamper, to butter up

"N"
Nah -No
Nastiness -An expression of disgust applied to a good-for-nothing
person
Never see come see -Someone who has recently been exposed to
something new and who overdoes it to ridiculous proportions
Ning ning -Tired eyes
Now fuh now -Instantly
Nowherian -A person who does not have any fixed place of abode

"O"
Obzokee -Awkward in appearance, anything bent or twisted out of
shape
Oh geed! -An expression used when an offensive smell arises
OH gosh!-
Oh gorm man!-
Oh shimps man!- These are all expressions denoting shock, surprise
indignation and admiration
Ol' talk -Idle chatter, social chit-chat
One set ah -A lot of anything
Own-way -Stubborn person

"P"
Pallet -Frozen lolly
Papa yo! -Exclamation of surprise
Pesh -Money
Pissin' tail -A person of no class or importance
Planasse -To hit someone continuously with the flat part of a
cutlass
Playin' social -Someone who pretends to be of a higher social strata
than they are
Pong -Pound
Po-po -Very small child, baby
Prim-prim -Disgustingly proper and formal

"Q"
Quenk -An irritating person
Qualey -Withered, dried up

"R"
Raff -To grab suddenly
Ragadang -Broken down
Ram-cram -Packed to capacity
Rumfle -Ruffled or wrinkled

"S"
Saga boy/girl -Flashy dresser, dandy
Shades -Sunglasses
Shif' yuh carcass -Move over, get going
Shub -Shove, move or cast aside
Skinnin' yuh teet' -Grinning
Skin up yuh nose -To turn up one's nose at anything
Sometimeish -Moody
Strims -Shrimps
Sweetie -Any confectionary
Swell up yuh face -To look angry, to pout

"T"
Tabanca -The forlorn feeling one gets when a love affair is over
Tanty -Aunt
Tight -Intoxicated, drunk, stoned
T'ing -Thing
To besides -Besides which
Too-tool-bay -A confused state,in a daze, also head over heels in
love
Tot tots -Female breasts

"U"
Umpteen -Plenty of anything

"V"
Vampin' -An offensive smell
Vaps -To suddenly behave excitedly or in a strange manner

"W"
Wajang -A roudy, uncouth person
Warap -A very weak mixture
Well yes! -An expression of disbelief
Whappen? -What's the matter with you?
Wha-happenin' dey? -What's happening
Whey -Where
Whey yuh say? -What did you say?

"Y"
Yampee -Mucus, found in the corner of the eye
You an' all? -You too?
You so -People like you
Yuh faddah head -An expression of annoyance
Yuh faddah is a glassmaker? -You are blocking my view.
Yuh look fuh dat -It's your own fault
Yuh makin' joke! -You can't be serious!

"Z"
Zug-up -A rough and uneven cutting of anything

If more than 3 of these words are unfamiliar to you, YOU ARE OBVIOUSLY NOT A TRUE TRINI!!!!!!

got dis in a email not sure if is a repost tho

Mr. Cheese

Postby Mr. Cheese » October 10th, 2007, 6:23 am

Yuh know this is a repost when.................

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » October 10th, 2007, 6:25 am

some of it is a repost, but a good read none the less

Postby Ignorant Ignis » October 10th, 2007, 8:44 am

pablo_tt wrote:some of it is a repost, but a good read none the less

no .....all of it :lol:

HITTLER

Postby HITTLER » October 10th, 2007, 8:57 am

it still is ah good fcukin repost.lol

HondaB20B

Re: Yuh Know yuh is ah trini

Postby HondaB20B » October 10th, 2007, 9:02 am

katastrophic wrote:yuh have ah autographed Chris Garcia poster...

so chris, is realy tru den :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby joker » October 10th, 2007, 9:05 am

yuh does still wear rubber slippers

what wrong with dat?

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » October 10th, 2007, 11:14 am

^^yuh understand?? like daz a bad ting :?

*Cuteness*

Postby *Cuteness* » October 10th, 2007, 11:18 am

joker wrote:

yuh does still wear rubber slippers

what wrong with dat?

ent :?

they sell for over $25 when summer time come around here

Postby joker » October 10th, 2007, 11:18 am

my rubber ding ding outlasts any of fila or nike sandals

Postby nervewrecker » October 10th, 2007, 11:41 am

wha wrong with de dasheen sliders dem, I went gulf city already with dem on

oh hell - ah does wear dem all de time !!!

Postby joker » October 10th, 2007, 11:45 am

EH HEH........

I WENT SCOOL BAZAAR WITH UNIFORM ON including BADGE :|

Postby nervewrecker » October 10th, 2007, 11:52 am

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 10th, 2007, 11:53 am

slacker_jack wrote:wha wrong with de dasheen sliders dem, I went gulf city already with dem on

Imagedasheen through the snowImage
Last edited by Duane 3NE 2NR on October 10th, 2007, 11:55 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby joker » October 10th, 2007, 11:55 am

in ah one goat open tray

katastrophic

Postby katastrophic » October 10th, 2007, 9:12 pm

joker wrote:

EH HEH........

I WENT SCOOL BAZAAR WITH UNIFORM ON including BADGE :|

:rofl: :lol:

Postby joker » January 20th, 2009, 5:59 am

i now realise i leave out d h yes
Wed Oct 10, 2007 9:12 pm

ah slow oui :lol:

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » January 20th, 2009, 7:27 am

2 year bump joker? :?

Oleander

Postby Oleander » January 20th, 2009, 7:53 am

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

good stuff

aR&D

Postby aR&D » January 20th, 2009, 8:05 am

This will be my wish come true. meh Ashoka and pine trees, meh fruit trees: mango, citrus, sapodilla, coconuts, vegetable beds, meh lil fowl and duck coob in the back, meh goat pen further down back, meh two three fish ponds, meh nice green lawn and sprawling back-yard with gazebo with wifi- service, hammocks, BBQ center and enough perches to hang meh pico-plats and "chongs" bird cages on..... If only.... if only! :( :roll:

Postby crazybalhead » January 20th, 2009, 8:07 am

aR&D wrote:

This will be my wish come true. meh Ashoka and pine trees, meh fruit trees: mango, citrus, sapodilla, coconuts, vegetable beds, meh lil fowl and duck coob in the back, meh goat pen further down back, meh two three fish ponds, meh nice green lawn and sprawling back-yard with gazebo with wifi- service, hammocks, BBQ center and enough perches to hang meh pico-plats and "chongs" bird cages on..... If only.... if only! :( :roll:

ENT!!!!!!! And hopefully a river passing through someway dey.