Help with leaking oil pan

SNIPER 3000

Help with leaking oil pan

Postby SNIPER 3000 » October 30th, 2007, 8:03 am

The drain plug thread on the oil pan is striped the plug is holding but it has a very slight leak, it's not bad i hate to see oil leaks what can i do instead of removing the pan and having it rethread, is there any thing i can do?

transporter001

Postby transporter001 » October 30th, 2007, 9:38 am

Use some threadseal on it if i's not worn badly, that should keep you good for a while

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » October 30th, 2007, 12:03 pm

yup, try the threadseal...Make sure u apply it in the direction of the threading...

and also dont leave any excess hanging to get caught up the oil pump

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » October 30th, 2007, 12:09 pm

Thanks alot fellas, is the same thread seal that is used on plumbing right?, will it be able to take the heat?

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » October 30th, 2007, 12:15 pm

well dont put too much... depends, how bad it leaking?

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » October 30th, 2007, 1:49 pm

I would suggest you change it bro, you don't want that somehow the bolt becomes slack or to fall off and the engine starve for oil. This is a real hazard, prevention is better than cure, change the damn thing.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » October 30th, 2007, 2:16 pm

TriniGT wrote:I would suggest you change it bro, you don't want that somehow the bolt becomes slack or to fall off and the engine starve for oil. This is a real hazard, prevention is better than cure, change the damn thing.

I just wanted it to last for about 1 month until my daily ride is finished painted, then i'll have it fixed.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » October 30th, 2007, 2:34 pm

Bro please do not take the chance, I don't want to hear someone posting that their sump bolt came loose and oil everywhere and looking for an engine. Change yuh sump.

Postby X_Factor » October 30th, 2007, 3:17 pm

the thread seal sounds decent..wat about foil paper?...it should hold up to the heat better..
but u should change ur sump pan...what kinda engine btw?

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » October 30th, 2007, 4:19 pm

A 4g15 engine. For a 4wd libero

Postby X_Factor » October 30th, 2007, 4:53 pm

check the mitsu forum..im sure someone have one on a old engine doing nuttin