The Official CS Lancer Thread!

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

jose_c27

brake rotors and brake pads ?

Postby jose_c27 » January 1st, 2008, 11:22 am

Hello people and happy new year 2008!!!....i wanna wich brake pads and brake rotors can fit on a CS3A ?.. because all the brake pads and rotors that i found , was just for the Lancer ES,LS,OZ

Thnks in advance

idlemind

Postby idlemind » January 1st, 2008, 11:29 am

ES is your gamble
you bolt pattern is 4X100 right?

LS is 4X114
OZ is 5 lug

jose_c27

Postby jose_c27 » January 1st, 2008, 11:32 am

4X100 I think :S

idlemind wrote:ES is your gamble
you bolt pattern is 4X100 right?

LS is 4X114
OZ is 5 lug

idlemind

Postby idlemind » January 1st, 2008, 11:37 am

right well ES rotors is what you need
by chance what you getting???

jose_c27

Postby jose_c27 » January 1st, 2008, 11:44 am

idlemind

Postby idlemind » January 2nd, 2008, 8:22 am

hmm, im checking on a pair for myself as well, my concern about those rotors above is the price kinda high, for sumtin saying ES 2.0L Engine and the fact that none of the customer reviews are lancer's

also if the size of the rotors will be an issue. i think standard is 12" but aftermarket can go up to 14"

any views on this guys?

venum

Postby venum » January 2nd, 2008, 4:42 pm

^^^ bigger calipers needed as well as bigger rotors will call for them

need to check the entire brake system when doing this as the proportioning will need to be adjusted

jose_c27

Postby jose_c27 » January 2nd, 2008, 9:58 pm

what you think of these?, they come with the brake pads and just for 109

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Lancer-E ... otohosting

idlemind

Postby idlemind » January 7th, 2008, 11:37 am

jose_c27, i had already ordered a pair from R1 and it should be in this week...as soon as i get them i am going to line it up and see if it works

il let you guys know as soon as possible
btw, the R1 website has it cheaper than ebay...like $78US

jose_c27

Postby jose_c27 » January 7th, 2008, 11:51 pm

ok , i'l be waiting for

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » January 8th, 2008, 6:15 am

aritei waiting on this result also

Virus

Postby Virus » January 9th, 2008, 7:56 pm

Guys i just saw the coolest thing tonight well to me it was

Car CS2-GDI

What was so cool the guy changed around his head lights i.e his high beam was on alone blinding me and when i went into the car the switch was on 1st position i.e low beam and when switched to high beam the lows came on

Any views on this it was real funny too :lol:

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » January 10th, 2008, 6:17 am

ummm all you do is switch a couple wires ... thats not cool its dumb

idlemind

Postby idlemind » January 10th, 2008, 8:50 am

thats not cool its dumb

:lol: :lol: a bit confusing if a man borrows ur car

got the rotors today guys, they look decent..jus a couple of the holes are off spot, spoke to a mech and he says its not a problem, but im concerned nevertheless.

il post pics in a few minutes

venum

Postby venum » January 10th, 2008, 9:55 am

line it up damn it :!:

take pics of it then

idlemind

Postby idlemind » January 10th, 2008, 10:20 am

ok obviously they can be worked for both 100mm and 114mm :lol:
what im concerned about is the positioning of the two other smaller holes

as i said the mech says it doesnt matter, jus need the time to put then on, also initial observations conclude that the full diameter, disc pad area and thickness matches the oem

genghis

Postby genghis » January 10th, 2008, 11:03 am

new addition guys

ill post the rest later.

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » January 10th, 2008, 12:04 pm

it look like u have bounce down a space man...lol

idlemind take the rotors to a machine shop and see if the balanced if so they good to go

jose_c27

Postby jose_c27 » January 10th, 2008, 2:34 pm

idlemind wrote:Image

ok obviously they can be worked for both 100mm and 114mm :lol:
what im concerned about is the positioning of the two other smaller holes

as i said the mech says it doesnt matter, jus need the time to put then on, also initial observations conclude that the full diameter, disc pad area and thickness matches the oem

Ok, let us know how it work's....

venum

Postby venum » January 10th, 2008, 6:23 pm

JUS4SHO wrote:it look like u have bounce down a space man...lol

that is genghis on teh ground holding up teh bumper

he didn't want to rest teh bumper on bricks, so he went under teh car to hold it

he like silver clothes - does real match shirt and pants

idlemind

Postby idlemind » January 11th, 2008, 5:29 pm

Good News Guys :lol:
we have a workable, reasonably priced aftermarket rotor option
and here are the pics:

taking a lil sleep before the drive in surgery:

up on the bed with new limb beside:

removal:

transplant:

rightside ready:

closer look at the caliper:

leftside install:

ease in the caliper

done:

looks good:

when i reached back to work about 10mins away:
notice the dust as the new pads nolikey

OK what i couldve done by myself freely, costed $70 to install @ mileage mack. now its very easy to do once you have the tools. I of course didn know and didn mind.

I dont have a total landed cost yet, by weekend il know the full damage
but for now the improvments i feelin are:

1. Lighter wheel rotation, maybe because they're a bit lighter than oem
2. Definate improvement in stopping (quicker)
3. The Wagners i put on in October giving me a little bite the moment the car stops completely, like a rrrrt. Once i release its good. Might need to look into it if it doesnt quiet down, maybe change the pads one time.

No high speed testing until i am completely certain satisfied and confident.
(mite be tonite comin from arima to trincity :mrgreen: )

idlemind

Postby idlemind » January 11th, 2008, 10:42 pm

***UPDATE***

rrrrt sound when braking completely gone now,
im not getting any sort of friction noise...seems like the pads have adjusted
used tiptronic tonight to assist in braking from 100kmh+
still not 100% comfortable yet, giving it extra time to work in
by tomorow we will see

venum

Postby venum » January 12th, 2008, 12:03 am

dude, WONDERFUL pics and write up

allyuh making meh proud

when I leave this thread in a few when the car is sold, I will be leaving it in good hands :)

do not give too much hard braking on those rotors as yet

give em a couple days break-in. you don't want to scorch them, highly unlikely with those Wagners though

blazing

Postby blazing » January 12th, 2008, 2:48 am

no offence but thats not much of a brake upgrade..

and arent those cheap rotors a bit dangerous?
Last edited by blazing on January 12th, 2008, 7:14 am, edited 1 time in total.

DJ Kaotic

Postby DJ Kaotic » January 12th, 2008, 6:42 am

venum wrote:dude, WONDERFUL pics and write up

allyuh making meh proud

when I leave this thread in a few when the car is sold, I will be leaving it in good hands :)

do not give too much hard braking on those rotors as yet

give em a couple days break-in. you don't want to scorch them, highly unlikely with those Wagners though

WHA WHA WHAAAT

Postby ronsin1 » January 12th, 2008, 8:11 am

^^^ man sellin to go mitsu diesel powa

idlemind

Postby idlemind » January 12th, 2008, 8:55 am

blazing wrote:no offence but thats not much of a brake upgrade..

and arent those cheap rotors a bit dangerous?

If you own a CS you will know the OEM Rotors are no good
These rotors although cheaper, have been tried and tested and reviewed by other regular customers that own this model lancer. Other rotors i looked at didn have any lancer reviews.

Worst case scenario i machine the OEM and put them back, but then what? Six months later i do the same??? Man my rotors didn even have a lip dug into them and you should see chaos braking from 100km.

Venum Thanks Man i learnin from the Best though, but where you think you going?
The voices in your head tell you when you get rid of the CS you gonna stop posting here???? End them NOW :lol:

fras

Postby fras » January 12th, 2008, 4:21 pm

I finally got my net back and is smiles from ear to ear :lol: My rotors next!

blazing if u own a Lancer u'll know about their brake rotors!
Also It wasn't a brake up-grade... The rotors needed changing so why go back oem right!

By the way You CS3 men that thinking about converting to Manual teichou's conversion is complete... I'll have him do a lil write up on exactly whats needed and wiring info!

Virus

Postby Virus » January 12th, 2008, 10:56 pm

This thread does bring tears to my eyes good stuff meng cant wait to see and read teichou's write up

fras

Postby fras » January 13th, 2008, 12:14 am

Yuh know... I having second thoughts about selling mine!

Return to “MITSUBISHI”