The Official CS Lancer Thread!

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

venum

Postby venum » January 13th, 2008, 10:37 am

blazing wrote:no offence but thats not much of a brake upgrade..

and arent those cheap rotors a bit dangerous?

blazing

the experience of several of the CS lancer owners here is that the OEM rotors warp and provide unstable braking

Idlemind has decided to resolve this problem and experiment with these aftermarkets

his experience will pioneer a whole new avenue for countless CS owners who have this similar problem, globally

cheap after market rotors aren't necessarily dangerous - Rudman has some Arospeed on for about 2 years on his CK lancer and they wuking fine

fellas, while my CS will be selling, allyuh forget that it's 2 CS3's that I see about

it's the babied-up one that is going

the GF's is still in my care

Virus

Postby Virus » January 13th, 2008, 12:30 pm

Guys am thinking about some more suspension work is there a coil over system or some drop springs that maybe able to help me out if so can someone who bought some tell me of the ride and location and price so i too can purchase right now the back of my can is too high looks even past stock

Thanks

blazing

Postby blazing » January 14th, 2008, 12:04 am

While your intentions seem good, i am just questioning weather it is wise...

I drive a CK so i know about crap brakes and the times i drove the CS nothing seemed wrong but i've heard about the warped rotor situation.

Now why did you choose those no-name, crossdrilled rotors? Aren't there other options available such as the brembo solid discs, powerslot discs, etc? Even expensive cross-drilled rotors crack sometimes under heavy application..what are the possibilities of a cheaper version to do the same?

For everyday driving i would go with a solid brembo or a slotted disc from a more reputable company.

Or what about a direct swap from mitsubishi to mitsubishi, can anyone confirm if the CS brake setup is the same as the CK? If it is, then you could put on some bigger discs and calipers and have a real brake upgrade.

Your rotors may work out fine and work perfectly, so these are just some questions to keep in mind since your brakes are not something that you should be "experimenting" randomly with and your life is at stake should anything go wrong. 8-)

venum

Postby venum » January 14th, 2008, 1:20 am

^^^ you are right

I am a firm believer in "you get what you pay for"

but idle did his homework

so time and testing will tell if the economy option i worth the $ or whether it;s worth teh economy

as for the CK option,

teh CS carries bigger discs and calipers than teh CK

that is why the braking on teh CS is so much improved, one area Mitsu designdid not leave out in teh model upgrade

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » January 14th, 2008, 6:01 am

^^^ ah not selling mine ....

btw idlemind your car is 1.8 correct, have to checked to see if the rotor size is the same as for the 1.6 and 1.5 ?

i have a feeling it will not be :(

idlemind

Postby idlemind » January 14th, 2008, 8:57 am

JUS4SHO, yeah it is, but i believe it WILL WORK! research showed that these rotor manufacturers class the lancers as ES, LS and OZ...the ES is 100mm. LS is 114mm and OZ is 5 lug. 1.3/1.5/1.6/1.8 issue was never brought up. and the only diff i saw between ES/LS/OZ where the wheel spacing. I believe we all got ES.
Fras is also looking to buy end of month and Guys i have the oem rotors in my trunk so if anyone wants a line up jus say. it wont be a problem.

venum and blazing, while the R1 option was cheaper, the quality of the rotor is unquestionable. they are solid and i carefully scrutinized it for flaws.
remember with any aftermarket product, no matter brand, its all a CHANCE you take fellas. I felt comfortable in purchasing these rotors! All my runs are East/West and anytime i build up some speed i have to slow for a traffic light. i never get an opportunity to cross 170 and believe me with the oem rotors i wasnt taking that chance. It was truly a scary ride.

blazing, as venum said i did my homework. OEM brembo solids are NOT good check it out!! read some reviews and see, talk bout rusting and warping. slotted/drilled brembos were way out of my budget. and others seemed ridiculously priced to take a chance with. bear in mind that i looked at OEM spec rotors so that i wonr need to change the Caliper or braking setup. but rest assured im not going to be jamming on those brakes anytime soon. tiptronic ftw!

As for going back OEM. fras and I were looking into it and you looking at $2500TT for one side if im not mistaken. and from my trini and singaporian ppl, oem are going to warp again. machining them going to warp and take away from spec.

blazing, i hear your concern and thanks for looking out! I will observe and stay sharp. but buddy i can safely tell you now, that me and the neighbouring suspension parts felt more in danger with the OEM.

As for the ride so far, its great, comfortable, no squeaks, no slips. but im not putting them to the test. during the week im gonna pop off the wheels and take some 'update' pics

Postby ronsin1 » January 15th, 2008, 7:18 am

idlemind

I await your results I was thinking abt selling and looking to purchase one ah those 08 from the firm or one of the turbo wagons but plans have chnaged as it will affect my budget

so I am keeping and looking to change engine next year maybe 1.8 or so nothing fancy the vented disc rotors would be a nice upgrade for it what I was also looking at was disc brakes for the rear was speaking to someone over the weekend and told me that he can get the rear set up but it will cost around $5,000.00 right now I considering i

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » January 15th, 2008, 8:43 am

i know persons who used the R1 brand which in many circles considered an upgrade from the oem for daily use...

idlemind

Postby idlemind » January 15th, 2008, 6:01 pm

ronsin1, if you changing from the GDI go EFI, dont waste ur time on going back 1.8 GDI (that is if you meant 1.8 GDI). The rotors are nice and to me it wasnt an upgrade, more like a needed swap. but its really an eyecatcher, i must say. the rear setup was never really an option i looked into. i owned an integra with rear discs before and i never found it to be any different from drums. what i can vouch for is if you go thru water or those rear discs get wet...expect skid/slip and a delayed stop. not a nice sight if someone pulls brakes on you.

$5k seems steep... pm teichou and fras about the conversion exp.

JUS4SHO, nice vouch

venum

Postby venum » January 15th, 2008, 7:49 pm

Idle,

good update, keep the pics coming and teh driving experience as well

ronsin1 buy my car !

rear disc brakes aren't such a great brake upgrade IMHO

Postby ronsin1 » January 15th, 2008, 8:52 pm

thanks for the advice idlemind will take that into consideration I have the 1.5 GDI and will be changing to EFI but will have to look at my options

venum can't take your baby away from you and you know if ah sell ah not going to buy the same body shape either the wagon or the 08 lancer

or might go like you and look at the diesel :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

venum

Postby venum » January 15th, 2008, 9:55 pm

^^^ I hear yuh pal

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » January 16th, 2008, 6:02 am

fella you know Diamond have a set of the 04-07 shaped lancers that the selling real cheap... top trim model is $146,000 i think i mean yeah you can get a 3 year old f/used for $90K plus but its a new car with 100 K warrenty

idlemind

Postby idlemind » January 16th, 2008, 8:44 am

$146,000 aint bad, but it coulda be lower considering the lots of ppl considering the 08 now. think it gonna get any cheaper in future??

financing will still be available outside DM?

Postby ronsin1 » January 16th, 2008, 9:49 am

finance can be availabe outside DM

fras

Postby fras » January 16th, 2008, 10:51 am

ronsin1 5K is too much... Got one in the bamboo 2K complete!

teichou

Postby teichou » January 16th, 2008, 11:39 am

i paid 2k5 for the full rear dick brakes setup i have on my cs

Postby ronsin1 » January 16th, 2008, 12:41 pm

well I did not look around eh was just tell the guy I intend to do this swap and thas the price he told me

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » January 16th, 2008, 1:51 pm

DOH GIVE THEM THAT INFO BUDDY ..GESHHHHH

Virus

Postby Virus » January 16th, 2008, 8:13 pm

No1 ain't check my springs for me GESHHHHHH!!!!!!! fras ven let me hear u all :mrgreen:

fras

Postby fras » January 16th, 2008, 8:46 pm

JUS4SHO ent u had lowering springs?

venum

Postby venum » January 17th, 2008, 7:46 pm

Virus wrote:ven let me hear u all :mrgreen:

if by ven, you mean venum, you better be packing some tits and a nice arse to address me by that shortened version :!:

concerning teh drop spring, I have never investigated this option as I was never really interested,because I really like teh stock suspension setup, she holds the road really well and handles greater than my roughest purposes will need

she gets babied, except for maybe teh highway

I never investigated this mod primarily because i did not want to lose the comfortable stock ride

SHO has a nice setup, he can better advise

KC151 (he is hardly here) also did it with some coilovers on his CS3

I think Tuner Imports (powerseller) had some

give him a holla:

680-9170 (M)
785-8698 (M)
665-6803 (W)

Virus

Postby Virus » January 17th, 2008, 8:05 pm

venum wrote:

if by ven, you mean venum, you better be packing some tits and a nice arse to address me by that shortened version :!:

^^^^ Interesting 8-)

But serious the back of the car real high in comparison to the front

Postby ronsin1 » January 17th, 2008, 8:10 pm

I have seen KC151 car in action it runs really nice and hold on to those (Solodex) corners

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » January 18th, 2008, 6:41 am

if the back of the car higher that stock i have a strong feeling that its a CK shock you might have in the back there... check below the car and tell me where the little plate the springs rest on is located on the shock barrel, if its low almost to the bottom of the shock mounting point its the correct shock if higer its CK...

my shock and spring set up sold...

ok again here we go

1) what is your intent for the car?

2) just using stock shocks or oem replacements excel G etc.. with lowering springs be prepared to change your shocks every year or less.

3) if u can't afford drop springs the CK springs work on the CS (front and back) it gives about a 1.254" drop , the spring rate is a little off but i did not notice much difference. BUT it will still not give u the handling that a lowering spring would.

4) IMHO coilovers are a waste without corner scales to accomplish proper diagonal weight distribution and with out sproper shocks you will be replacing shocks every year as well

BTW

venum wrote:

if by ven, you mean venum, you packing some tits and a nice arse u can always address me by that shortened version :!:

please keep all yuh lil affair off the forum please :!:
Last edited by JUS4SHO on January 18th, 2008, 6:47 am, edited 1 time in total.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » January 18th, 2008, 7:16 am

^^^ :lol: :lol: :lol:

Allyuh fella aint easy nuh, why we dont have a CS meet???
Could be when fras in trini or when SHO get his CY??

Alot of valuable contributions being made by ppl we never met. Can be a good time to hand over a case of LLB to Venum :twisted:

if thats okay with Virus...j/k

:pokes:

Postby ronsin1 » January 18th, 2008, 7:23 am

^^ good idea

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » January 18th, 2008, 7:25 am

^^^ hahaha^^^

yeah venum have 2 get d passport stamp

and i still have the CS