Safeq

What made you go Zoom Zoom?

Postby Safeq » January 16th, 2008, 11:47 am

To me being into cars is a specific kind of madness
Noise, grease, parts, issues, rpm, juggling money
Always thirsty for more power
Joys and sadness all under one hood

I was just curious what made those of us in this part of the forum first go Zoom Zoom

For me the first car I ever sat behind the wheel of was a yellow Mazda 616.
Was also the scene of my first "accident" as I hit both my gate and my neighbour's
Never forgot that and neither did my mother.
I suppose no mother would forget with me being like 3 at the time

We sold that car some time after and went Nismo but it was always there in the back of my mind

Years later after selling my first car, a very loyal Euro lion I decided to go back to my Japanese roots and tried to get a Nissan and got some stress and just said cha wit dat forget balancing practical with a lil pace I want pure pace

Next step: first ride in 3rd gen on a cool Sunday afternoon in Grande. After that an unextinguishable flame was lighted and I wanted to spit fire

Then came a 2nd Gen, a RE-RX2 and now a 1st gen
and I want more Zoom more Zoom

Also found out recently that my Grandfather had 4 RX2s early in my development as a youth

My parents should have put the 2 rotors together and seen the present coming and never let me get my license lol

That being that here I am, scheming on how to balance work school life and Zooming

All I have to hear is a sweet exhaust and I'm happy for the day

I'll Zoom till I can't Zoom no more

What about you?

What made you go Zoom Zoom?

Postby Razkal » January 16th, 2008, 12:49 pm

my dad owned three RX2s all REs...had one of the first 13Bs in the country and always loved rotaries...
where i grew up, all my neighbours were also into it, i was really young but always seeing a build for someone going on, even dad going by his padnas (Anil who built puff 'n' stuff and Sean ready) and taking me with him, i was always around some form of zoom-zoom :lol: there was a point, i thought nothing else was a car unless it was powered by wankel :lol:
my first pull, hwere i could really undersand the power and feel etc was in a bridgeported 12A in an RX2 RE, that was the sheit!!! :twisted: i was like "ooooh! FIRE!" :mrgreen:
after that, just got hooked..
dont presently own a rotary, but zoom-zoom is always inside :twisted:

aleeassang

Postby aleeassang » January 16th, 2008, 1:34 pm

de emblem look like ah chinee face :lol: but it's really about the thrill of huntin down de parts u need and dat is drives u to cherish it even more... jus knowin dat u went through all lengths to get it... Mazdas are jus different is sumthing i see dat i can't explain when i see one!!

NO I AIN"T BREAK IN MY PANTS!! :lol:

FullStop

Postby FullStop » January 16th, 2008, 9:57 pm

i understand ,i actually mever drive a rotary before, but i pointing in the right direction, d first mazda i ever drive was a 626, , i was 4, i not sure if it count as driving, sat on mih fadda lap and turn steering, in d yard mind you, but mazda really have something about it, onve u drive it you will know, even my bro bj 323, small car, small engine, but sweeet, d 3, small car, small engine, but you aint go believe how fast you could go around those corners, d b2500turbo, really unkillable, does run great, dunno na, i know in my heart dat toyota more reliable, but mazda really special, my next car is definitely a rotary,,,loved d firsst gen, ZOOM ZOOM

Postby cinco » January 16th, 2008, 10:53 pm

81 rwd 626
loved that car
mazda always had more interesting cars and are not common like the others
its always a challenge to get more power but the pay off is more rewarding to me than anything else
a b nuttin with sr20 tobo will ever drive like a mazda no matter wat

Safeq

Postby Safeq » January 19th, 2008, 6:18 am

Real interesting reasons here
So who else?

All these zoom zoomers on this forum. Somebody else buss a story nah

awesomeandre

Postby awesomeandre » January 19th, 2008, 9:43 pm

first car -- 323

great car never ever shut down on me for the year that ive owned it

i used to always bash mazdas until i OWN one

i love the way the interior is , the materials used to make it, no other car maybe a toyota or mitsu might come close but mazda have it.

for a lil 1.3 engine it does pull might not have the pull of speed but top end man DAMN it does run.

generally i love this car its reliable, fun to drive , make me feel when i cornering like im driving a sports car :P

Safeq

Postby Safeq » February 7th, 2008, 6:17 am

Anyone else?

Must have more stories

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » February 7th, 2008, 2:34 pm

Ahem 1991 BG 323

What can I say. It was love at first sight. This is one of the rarest Mazda models in T&T so it adds extra appeal. Very fun to drive especially when cornering. It has surprised many. This car has no decals save for the protege emblem on the grill so I am constantly getting "That Starlet looking Sweet boy!" Let them keep guessing. This car is ever faithful. It has never let me down. I wish I could have kept to completely restore it but present circumstances wont let me. I'll miss her :cry: .

Safeq

Postby Safeq » February 7th, 2008, 2:45 pm

Sweet looking good

If I'm not mistaken those pics are familiar :)

How much you're selling for?
Last edited by Safeq on February 7th, 2008, 3:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » February 7th, 2008, 2:51 pm

Shhhhhhhh!!!!!! :twisted: doh tell the whole world nah! Where do you work? I'll check you sometime.

Safeq

Postby Safeq » February 7th, 2008, 3:15 pm

Check your pm and I edited it

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » February 8th, 2008, 6:36 am

Safeq wrote:Check your pm and I edited it

Thanks. 8-)

fallout460

Postby fallout460 » February 9th, 2008, 11:09 pm

well ive only known zoom zoom this is my frist car 323 protege and am hooked,
i've oned it 4 just over a year. my dad dident want me 2 get it he wanted me 2 buy a b14 but i harden so i still buy my lil 323 he tell me it hard 2 mentain well boy d other day ah had 2 change my mounting rubbers an so he laugh he say he cudda get 3 rubbers 4 the b14 4 the price i pay 4 one lol.. rite now every one in my house has a b14 it have 3 14's so i is the odd one out but dat ant nun i happy with my lil mazda....... all ah need now is ah lil turbo so ah cud really get d zooooooooooooom sneezzzz lol..... :fadein:

by d way my dad love 2 drive d car eh, "yong boy car" dat's what he does call it lol.....................

allon4

Postby allon4 » February 10th, 2008, 7:08 pm

lol fallout460; I like you have known zoom zoom since it was my first car almost 3 years ago. Always used to drive my mom's b12 and well wanted the b15. Went car shopping and realized a Mazda 323 Familia was the same price as the b15. Asked the guy in the roro place about which he would prefer, asked my friend (he likes toyota's) and well made the decision to try the Mazda. Only thing people told me bad about them was body parts expensive. Now i'm hooked on the zoom zoom, my next car will most definitely be a mazda

ZanRx8

Postby ZanRx8 » February 18th, 2008, 3:17 pm

Safeq wrote:Anyone else?

Must have more stories

I think once you get the taste of it there is nothing else like it.

First car 1990 2nd gen turbocharged rx7,
missed her she was so good :(
Had lots of fun then had to get rid of her for something more practical and economical.
So got a 1996 Toyota cavalier total sheit ran good but didn't have the zoom zoom feel.
Then the 2000 civic SI ( US market version of JDM Type R) came into my life vtec woo hoo :roll:
Fast forward to 2003 and the influx on JDM performance car into the US market like the WRX STi, EVO, 350z, G35, S2000 and RX8. Meant that its was time to upgrade.
So after Test driving each one of these cars :D
The joy of zoom zoom was immediately rekindle the moment I sat behind the wheel of the rotary. Definitely wasn't the quickest, but was the most rewarding driving experience from all aspects of driving.

Return to “MAZDA”