Looking to go diesel =)

Postby *KRONIK* » March 1st, 2008, 5:42 pm

no....

my cousin spent about over 1500 by the mechanic apart from the 4500 for the engine and GB cuz

1) he organise everything
2) he bought a Toyota 2cTurbo from a camry with a 3c gearbox to put in a 101 corolla
3) he helped with the mechanic work
4) the corolla's previous engine was manual so a lot of stuff were in place already

so basically he had a sort of a drop in install....

i am not quite familiar with actual engine swap mechanic fees....
sorry bout dat......

but like i said.......

consult with ur mechanic.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » March 2nd, 2008, 3:08 pm

Alright... So far I estimate about $10k for the swap (including engine)

OldSkoolRule

Postby OldSkoolRule » March 2nd, 2008, 5:08 pm

ok ok, i guess i was a bit harsh. DJ Q, I'm sorry. I guess i shouldn't go straight to trinituner.com after a day in the garage ( oh, btw, daiz the attitude for when customers not around; i might be a jacka$$ but i ain't stupid.)
anyways, Lemme try this again. Provided we have on our hands a most exquisite Rover with the engine and transmission removed; here we go:-

1) We need to acquire a full conversion kit; i.e. complete engine & tranny, Gear shifter, clutch-pedal and clutch-master cylinder or cable if going the manual route, all mounts and axles and as is the case with diesel one should also get a primer-pump (this also houses the fuel filter and doubles as the water-trap).- let's estimate about $7k for this entire coversion kit, and if it cost less, its a bonus.

2) A metal radiator with the capacity to cool the diesel and fit into the Rover without complications would have to be designed and custom-built. it doesn't make sense to try to hap-hazardly fit any old foreign used plastic radiator into the car. a metal radiator lasts the life of the engine if not more, and the mounting points of the original rover radiator could be used as a pattern so that the new radiator fits as original.- this costs $1000 to about $1200.

3) the fuel-tank now needs to modified and oufitted for diesel. this entails removing the original fuel pump and installing a custom made cover to replace the pump, with feeder and return lines on it.- this can most likely be done by the mechanic.

4) Bring in the Rover!! now with a clear engine bay, (and the bonnet removed) we drop in the engine and tranny and hang/suspend it there in the desirable position. (making sure there is sufficient clearance all-around) and star to fabricate mount brackets. when the engine is bolted in and secured, measurements are taken for the axles and they are built. gear lever has to be installed and clutch pedals etc if going manual.
if the axles are being done by a machine shop, they can cost anywhere from around $700 to $1200 maybe even $1500 depending on the machine shop and the kind of welding done etc.

5) now we secure the radiator and do the plumbing for the radiator, fuel, and get the A/c lines done so yuh could rock some cold breeze and doh care bout fuel economy.

6) now to do the electrical and start the engine, then try to get some Guages and instruments in order so that you could monitor your engine as normal. (i can't estimate a cost for electrical since we do our own electrical)

7) Test-drive time. and as long as there are no problems (which there shouldn't be) its also 'come get your car' time too :D

hope i haven't missed anything. anything else you wanna know?

Postby *KRONIK* » March 2nd, 2008, 6:59 pm

OldSkoolRule wrote:ok ok, i guess i was a bit harsh. DJ Q, I'm sorry. I guess i shouldn't go straight to trinituner.com after a day in the garage ( oh, btw, daiz the attitude for when customers not around; i might be a jacka$$ but i ain't stupid.)
anyways, Lemme try this again. Provided we have on our hands a most exquisite Rover with the engine and transmission removed; here we go:-

1) We need to acquire a full conversion kit; i.e. complete engine & tranny, Gear shifter, clutch-pedal and clutch-master cylinder or cable if going the manual route, all mounts and axles and as is the case with diesel one should also get a primer-pump (this also houses the fuel filter and doubles as the water-trap).- let's estimate about $7k for this entire coversion kit, and if it cost less, its a bonus.

2) A metal radiator with the capacity to cool the diesel and fit into the Rover without complications would have to be designed and custom-built. it doesn't make sense to try to hap-hazardly fit any old foreign used plastic radiator into the car. a metal radiator lasts the life of the engine if not more, and the mounting points of the original rover radiator could be used as a pattern so that the new radiator fits as original.- this costs $1000 to about $1200.

3) the fuel-tank now needs to modified and oufitted for diesel. this entails removing the original fuel pump and installing a custom made cover to replace the pump, with feeder and return lines on it.- this can most likely be done by the mechanic.

4) Bring in the Rover!! now with a clear engine bay, (and the bonnet removed) we drop in the engine and tranny and hang/suspend it there in the desirable position. (making sure there is sufficient clearance all-around) and star to fabricate mount brackets. when the engine is bolted in and secured, measurements are taken for the axles and they are built. gear lever has to be installed and clutch pedals etc if going manual.
if the axles are being done by a machine shop, they can cost anywhere from around $700 to $1200 maybe even $1500 depending on the machine shop and the kind of welding done etc.

5) now we secure the radiator and do the plumbing for the radiator, fuel, and get the A/c lines done so yuh could rock some cold breeze and doh care bout fuel economy.

6) now to do the electrical and start the engine, then try to get some Guages and instruments in order so that you could monitor your engine as normal. (i can't estimate a cost for electrical since we do our own electrical)

7) Test-drive time. and as long as there are no problems (which there shouldn't be) its also 'come get your car' time too :D

hope i haven't missed anything. anything else you wanna know?

AHHH

much better!

so basicaly 10grand should cover the engine, install, electricals, fuel system, cooling system providin the engine can be obtained for 4000-4500K

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » March 2nd, 2008, 10:35 pm

estimate about $7k for this entire coversion kit

the new radiator fits as original.- this costs $1000 to about $1200.

they can cost anywhere from around $700 to $1200 maybe even $1500 depending on the machine shop

dat is almost 10k there alone! and i still have to do exhaust :shock:
i forsee 20k :cry:

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » March 2nd, 2008, 10:36 pm

OldSkoolRule, thanks for the apology.

Postby *KRONIK* » March 3rd, 2008, 9:06 pm

DJ Q wrote:
estimate about $7k for this entire coversion kit

the new radiator fits as original.- this costs $1000 to about $1200.

they can cost anywhere from around $700 to $1200 maybe even $1500 depending on the machine shop

dat is almost 10k there alone! and i still have to do exhaust :shock:
i forsee 20k :cry:

nah doh buss ur head add bout 1500 - 2000 for ah complete 2inch exhaust. and if is a rover 200 it smaller so theyll need to use less piping.
last estimate i got from LIFEWEAR in champ fleurs dat was bout 3 months ago for a lancer. so u good there.

so cater bout 15K + or - u may end up with change or not....

oooh and cater for new fluids too OIL, TRANSMISSION, POWER STEERING, COOLANT, etc

OldSkoolRule

Postby OldSkoolRule » March 4th, 2008, 12:27 am

exhaust is NOT supposed to cst more than $1k, by the way as long as your Rover isn't a 200vi, then its basically a dressed-up Honda Civic, in terms of the mechanicals.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » March 4th, 2008, 8:17 am

as long as your Rover isn't a 200vi, then its basically a dressed-up Honda Civic,

*gasp*
HOW DARE YOU!!

alright... this is a hell of a project. anyone recommend a mechanic? cuz i need someone to come check out an engine too (when i'm ready)

Postby *KRONIK* » March 4th, 2008, 7:32 pm

OldSkoolRule wrote:exhaust is NOT supposed to cst more than $1k,

daz why i quote ah price from LIFEWEAR.... dem rel expensive!

OldSkoolRule

Postby OldSkoolRule » March 4th, 2008, 11:08 pm

somebody need a mechanic?

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » March 5th, 2008, 12:10 pm

well i say 3k cuz i lookin at 2" with a nice sounding barrel and everything one time

and yes i would need a mechanic... but not right right now...

15 gran is waaaayyyyy out my budget

Postby *KRONIK* » March 5th, 2008, 9:43 pm

DJ Q wrote:well i say 3k cuz i lookin at 2" with a nice sounding barrel and everything one time

and yes i would need a mechanic... but not right right now...

15 gran is waaaayyyyy out my budget

i hear u....

rell ppl talking dat same low fundin kinda talk.....

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » March 8th, 2008, 8:58 am

Diesel rules

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » March 10th, 2008, 7:34 am

nos_specialist wrote:Diesel rules
well das d whole point of this thread :D