4G93 GDI to 4G18 EFI conversion

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

idlemind

4G93 GDI to 4G18 EFI conversion

Postby idlemind » April 5th, 2008, 6:18 pm

need to know the details!!!!

anyone tried this? my lancer is the platform, so is either a 4G93/4G15 GDI conversion to EFI

bolt of bolt?
mount for mount?
any electrical issues???

would my tranny be able to reuse?
F1C1A with tiptronic!!!!

Cost for a complete 4G18 engine and tranny??
Any mech did this conversion?

mite be faced with this decision on monday
please advise me

thanks

Postby ronsin1 » April 5th, 2008, 8:05 pm

what happened with the engine idlemind

idlemind

Postby idlemind » April 5th, 2008, 8:21 pm

ronsin1 :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

fuel pump for sure gone
+ air flow sensor or aps going (need to figure out which one still)

plus the nagging valve seals and recently discovered plug seals need to change

spent the entire day by the mech from 7 to 3
the car idling 100% better with the new pump + plugs

but right now i balancing brakes and gas when i stop
i jus taking stock check and weighing the options.

most important thing is i need my car working back to normal quickly
and with the least headache...and my headaching already

Postby ronsin1 » April 6th, 2008, 8:12 am

the 4G18 will be tough to find

I see most ppl using the 4G92 engine and tranny from the CK and soing ah complete swap but this as well is hard to find

await venum and fras imput they should have some ideas for you

BTW what milage you doing right now

idlemind

Postby idlemind » April 6th, 2008, 8:47 am

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 6th, 2008, 10:54 am

stay away from the GDI!!!!!!!!! though the concept is good and my galant ran quite economically (almost managed a 700km on a tank) it tends to be expensive when maintenance time rolls around........

idlemind

Postby idlemind » April 6th, 2008, 10:59 am

~˜VëgŲ˜~, i estimate a conversion to be between $10k-15k :shock:

but i really interested in what engine gives me the least amount of fabrication and reliability

idlemind

Postby idlemind » April 6th, 2008, 10:04 pm

so there is no available option to go with another CS engine?

Postby *KRONIK* » April 7th, 2008, 7:50 pm

u must get a 4g18 somewhere in the bamboo
'make ah few hours and drive round.......
i sure ull find something.

newage auto had a 4g18 a few weeks back from a CS2. so look around

idlemind

Postby idlemind » April 7th, 2008, 9:49 pm

thanks *KRONIK*, NewAge only have 2 4G15s now
i wonder when the next batches will come in

venum

Postby venum » April 8th, 2008, 12:12 am

~˜VëgŲ˜~ wrote:stay away from the GDI!!!!!!!!!

aye aye look what the vvl dragged in

look how one of the gdi fathers of 2nr crying it down now nah . . .

a while ago he was the #1 defender of the GDI Galants

Shift_GDI eh uncle

see what a 200 shot of JK does do yuh

idle, brother, we discussed on teh phone already, but to summarize:

4G15 SOHC with teh F1C1A tiptronic

recall:

this way u can reuse your tranny, no re-wiring needed and it will be bolt-for-bolt

or a complete 4G15 DOHC with the F4A41 tranny

for this we need confirmation that teh axels from the CS5A will work

secondary option is a trouble free one, thet was teh OEM mating in teh CK2's

mine doing 155,000+ km with only a couple oil seals and a distributor change + normal maintenance

4G92 SOHC with F4A41 kinda harder to find

may get a 4G18 in the bamboo though, need some looking around

call me, we will go hunting weekend

idlemind

Postby idlemind » April 8th, 2008, 11:55 am

yeah i didnt look for ~˜VëgŲ˜~ dey na.. :(

the options i have so far is 4G15 DOHC and F4A41 tranny
or a 4G92 mivec and my F1C1A tiptronic

Postby *KRONIK* » April 8th, 2008, 9:18 pm

i goin in the bamboo 2morow.

if i see anything ill let u know....

till then..... best of luck

idlemind

Postby idlemind » April 8th, 2008, 9:20 pm

*KRONIK*, thanks man

basically anything from a CS front cut il consider....cept GDI

Postby *KRONIK* » April 8th, 2008, 9:26 pm

scene.........

fras

Postby fras » April 9th, 2008, 11:31 am

venum U sure the 4G15 EFI fits bolt for bolt in CS? If so that means all CK engines fit CS!

Line up a mivec Idle :mrgreen:

idlemind

Postby idlemind » April 9th, 2008, 12:18 pm

All talk aside...Did anyone ever put a CK engine in a CS?
then send name and contact

if this is the case, then Any CK engine would fit in a CS coz any CK engine fits bolt for bolt in a CK right?

i am gettin CK engines, i want to know what would it take to fit it.

Postby ronsin1 » April 9th, 2008, 12:44 pm

I know of one person on this forum that put a 4G92 from the CK in his CS can't remember his name of hand doh

idlemind

Postby idlemind » April 9th, 2008, 12:53 pm

^oh that reminds me (thanks to venum too)...
its in the CS thread somewhere, lehme go see

venum

Postby venum » April 9th, 2008, 1:43 pm

the 4G15 DOHC from teh CK will fit, not direct bolt for bolt

mount mods will be needed

need to check that axels will work

teh 4g15 sohc from a CS2V will work bolt for bolt

idlemind

Postby idlemind » April 9th, 2008, 1:51 pm

4g15 sohc from a CS2V

That there is what im looking for, but men only bringing in half cuts of GDIs :shock:

they tell me ppl GDIs that broke down coming in and buying another GDI engine

from the CS thread, so far it looks like dev51 did a tranny conversion and bobacue did a 1.8 gsr conversion from a GDI

i now reach page 15

idlemind

Postby idlemind » April 9th, 2008, 9:39 pm

jus dropped off the car to another mech to go thru everything again

guys the car driving so sweet eh...it pullin nice, no missin like before (new pump working!!) and new plugs in. jus i have to give gas and keep the idle up when i stop.

but i feel i have a vacuum leak, sprayed carb spray all over the manifold and intake. the idle went up when i sprayed by the back of the fuel pump and by the air line from the intake to the engine.

will keep post updated

venum

Postby venum » April 15th, 2008, 1:55 pm

update:?:

idlemind

Postby idlemind » April 15th, 2008, 2:02 pm

boy das a long update,

need to update this update when i get some time.

in short the car wukin, no conversion needed

but i still interested in case the rainy day decides to come along

venum

Postby venum » April 15th, 2008, 8:27 pm

tow truck almost got her first job there

Postby ronsin1 » April 15th, 2008, 8:30 pm

venum yuh had to rub it in eh :lol:

anyway idlemind good to know you back in working order

idlemind

Postby idlemind » April 15th, 2008, 8:43 pm

venum, that job??? THAT JOB!!!

ronsin1,
hmph THAT JOB was to carry me bamboo, look for and tote ah engine...eff I found one

boy allyuh fellas brutal oui

badman gdi doh need no tow :D

idlemind

Postby idlemind » April 15th, 2008, 9:07 pm

RIGHT so here's the update

First Mech changed the fuel pump, tried to take off the throttle body from off the manifold and realize 2 of the 4 bolts spinning.

My manifold is plastic so once those bolts start spinning in the housing they wont crack.
So First Mech took off the manifold and changed the pump, started the car after, car not keeping the idle.

He came with a launch system and said the aps reading low, it can be the acc peddle with the APS sensor that needs changing.

Looked long and hard for a Singapore Cedia accelerator pedal found a Jap one but the serials didn match. That one retailed for $3000 was getting it for $2000

Oh btw the pump cost me $3500 :shock:
Good thing is its directly from Singapore out of a barely used Cedia.
I actually saw 4 different fuel pumps all for 4G93 GDI each was different.
I believe the one i needed was a rare find.

Anyway, i didn buy the peddle
Instead i carried the car to second Mech he jacked in his Launch System and said all my sensors are good, no check light is coming on, something therefore is mechanically wrong with the car. the APS was readin good in his opinion.

He advised get a carb spray and spray everywhere that was interfered with while the car was on. He was convinced i had a vacuum leak somewhere. So, so said so done, i got a idle variation when i sprayed around the TB.

So i carried the car to him, he attempted to take off the Tb and found 3 of the 4 TB bolts spinning. So he took off the manifold, checked for cracks, and locked the bolts for the TB and sealed up the TB to Manifold area with some silicone. He sealed the Manifold and and mounted back up.

Tumble the car. Car working as if it never had a problem in the first place.

But i must say, the guy isnt a GDI man, he jus certified in auto mechanics and has years of experience. and good common sense!!!

So i good for the while, i MUST also say thanks to venum, SHO and fras for all the help and advice. Good looking out guys

Fellas venum hit meh with a suggestion eh, ah almost :faint: if allyuh know what he say
It come like how Mr. GDI aka Vega denounce GDI the other day

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 15th, 2008, 10:47 pm

^^^LOL.......but glad yuh got through........

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » April 16th, 2008, 6:23 am

he tell yuh go sr 20 ent i sure is dat desiel driving , want to be towing, feel he bigger on the road... mf :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Return to “MITSUBISHI”