bushwakka wrote:GDI= Gasoline Direct Injection............it is one of the first Direct Injection systems to be employed in vehicles and it is a Mitsubishi Technology.......different manufacturers have their own injection technology like DI for mazda and FSi for Skoda, Volks and Audi
Direct Injection enhances the efficiency of an engine by directly injecting the fuel into the combustion chamber as opposed to Multi Point Injection where the fuel is pre-mixed with the air and then fed to the chambers
Direct Injection systems can be more problematic to maintain, but treat them well and they will serve u will in return.....
i hear it is also more difficult to perform mods on these types of engines, so beware
jus do a wikipedia search on the topic an u'll get lots more info
bushwakka wrote:^^^indeed, it depends on ur driving habits, fuel economy aside, i still think there is a performance increase from DI engines...
and well, i thought it wud make sense to have a DI system coupled with some sort of VVT tech, be it VVL, VTEC, VANOS, MIVEC etc...
but if the guys from honda did the testing and concluded that VTEC alone is better than the both....well then there u have it
and its not only GDI thats gotten a bad name, its all types of Direct Injection engines, as you said, its the gas
if i want to be really technical, i'll say ryan is completely right since GDI is Trademark of Mitsubishi....so who else can be the leader of it? Just like how Volkswagen is the leader in FSI technology ent?
As GDI motors run high compression, as explained in my last post, you get the benefit of extra torque vs a PFi engine of similar size and spec. This extra torque benefit means that a GDI engine can match the torque of a much larger engine giving further FE benefits needed to pass tests an market the product
Knight1 wrote:...The QG18DD (Di) engine puts out 130 hp, and peaks torque at 2500 rpm..with a relatively flat-ish band till 5k rpm or so....
Knight1.....i'll repeat what i said.....GDI is the NAME for Direct Injection technology produced by Mitsubishi......if ferrari had a DI tech of their own, they didn't call it GDI or if they did it wasn't a trademark
GDI is Trademark of Mitsubishi....
This torque curve can be artificially created via calibration of pedel maps vs throttle angle as well as fine tuning of spark angle.