W.T.K- Cvt Transmission Fluid

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

HondaR

W.T.K- Cvt Transmission Fluid

Postby HondaR » June 3rd, 2008, 11:59 pm

Yes ppl i wud like some input on wha sorta fluid you use in the cvt transmission (ek3) .Currently I'm using castrol instead of honda genuine cvt on my 96 civic hatch without any problems whatsoever.Been doing it for the last 4 yrs without any problems.Just wunna know in case outta the blue one day the cvt dies on me without any warning signs of problems.Just want to know is there any harm in using castrol instead of the cvt fluid and what other owners are using.Thanks.

Postby 3stagevtec » June 4th, 2008, 12:14 am

it is highly recommended to use the recommended Honda transmission fluid.. but as you were using the castrol for the past 4yrs without problems, i'm not sure how your tranny would react to a change in fluid type now...

anyway, what ever you do, just keep changing fluid on time...

HondaR

Postby HondaR » June 4th, 2008, 1:32 am

Ok thanks bro , so i take it u use the cvt fluid

Postby 3stagevtec » June 4th, 2008, 1:37 am

^used.. but yeah.. and Honda specifically developed their CVT fluid to work with their CVT transmissions..

originally they used to recomend their normal automatic transmission fluid for use in the CVTs, but that fluid wasn't optimised..

this is the correct fluid to use-

HondaR

Postby HondaR » June 4th, 2008, 8:43 pm

3stagevtec wrote:^used.. but yeah.. and Honda specifically developed their CVT fluid to work with their CVT transmissions..

originally they used to recomend their normal automatic transmission fluid for use in the CVTs, but that fluid wasn't optimised..

this is the correct fluid to use-

Yeh bro know bout that one , just thought i'd ask a question.Thanks for the input 8-)Love this site.Always guranteed to get an answer on anything honda 8-)

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » June 5th, 2008, 9:51 am

what's the service interval?

sweeks

Postby sweeks » June 5th, 2008, 1:28 pm

And the cost per quart?

Postby 3stagevtec » June 5th, 2008, 3:10 pm

i haven't changed my fluid in a long while.. but the last i remember it was around $90 per quart (and in a few places around $70!)..

service interval is around 20,000kms...

sinnas

Postby sinnas » June 6th, 2008, 1:07 pm

$52 + vat for a quart at Autorama El Socorro (cheapest anywhere I have checked). Bought yesterday :D

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » June 6th, 2008, 5:58 pm

3stagevtec wrote:i haven't changed my fluid in a long while.. but the last i remember it was around $90 per quart (and in a few places around $70!)..

service interval is around 20,000kms...

20,000kms? Damn!!....time for service

sinnas

Postby sinnas » June 8th, 2008, 8:01 am

I change every 10,000 - 15,000kms only because I real paranoid about keeping Honda CVT well maintained. Never had any problems (knock on wood :roll: ) but I read too much stories on tuner I guess

Return to “HONDA”