Kicker's New 10,000 Watt Warhorse Amplifier

sound*ster

Postby sound*ster » June 12th, 2008, 8:43 am

sundownz

well we both know these are two monsterous amplifiers with respect to power output, but with respect to SQ in the competition lane which one would you prefer?

sundownz

Postby sundownz » June 12th, 2008, 9:04 am

sound*ster wrote:sundownz

well we both know these are two monsterous amplifiers with respect to power output, but with respect to SQ in the competition lane which one would you prefer?

Neither - who needs 6000 - 10,000 watts on subwoofers for SQ ?

sound*ster

Postby sound*ster » June 12th, 2008, 9:06 am

well if i remember correctly Alma gates used a A6000Gti for sound Q, and won hands down....

that's why i asked.

Postby SR » June 12th, 2008, 9:09 am

when did she do that??

sound*ster

Postby sound*ster » June 12th, 2008, 9:32 am

Gates' Crown Jewel, Her Revamped Ford Bronco, Outplays, Outlasts, Outshines Other SQ Vehicles at Spring Break Nationals

Woodbury, NY April 27, 2005 -- Way across the street from Ocean Center, the site of the Spring Break Nationals in Daytona Beach, Fla., nearly 20,000 watts of power was rocking the crowd. But no one even considered shouting out orders to turn down the volume; it simply
sounded too good. It wasn't a live concert ¨C it was Alma Gates, the 69-year-old world-famous car audio competitor, and her very loud Ford Bronco. (Team Gates website: http://www.teamgates.net)

Gates' retired Ford Bronco used to make hair stand on end during Sound Pressure Level competitions, but at the Spring Break Nationals 2005, her new Bronco debuted with Team JBL to take the cake in sound-quality competition for the first time ever.

Months after CNN and other national press dubbed her the "Boom Box Granny," Gates' Bronco emerged with an all-new look ¨C and sound. The exterior of the Bronco features full-range audio, delivering concert-worthy performance. JBL Pro speakers are mounted underneath each of the Bronco's doors, while the cargo area is home to six W15GTi 15-inch subwoofers. Also inside, and further playing up the Bronco's "wow" factor: a combination of JBL c508GTi component system speakers and JBL Pro 2118H speakers, two television monitors and a DVD player. But it doesn't end there. Seven JBL Power Series? and GTi amplifiers deliver almost 25 horsepower ¨C that's nearly 20,000 watts ¨C of audio amplification.

There are two audio systems in Alma's Bronco. The PA system outside is enough to rock any neighborhood block party while, at the flip of a switch, the inside system provides high-quality 7.1 surround playback. The system inside the Bronco allowed Gates to sweep the MECA SQ competition, where she won Best SQ and first place in the Master class. The Bronco also won first place in Tuner Jam and second place in the IASCA Bass Boxing competition just behind Team JBL's Mike Bartells, who placed first.

"I'm still bouncing off the walls!" Gates exclaimed from her home in Phoenix after her unprecedented SQ wins. "I want to thank Andy Wehmeyer, Gary Biggs, Mark Eldridge, Mike Maxwell, Kent Bulla and all the others involved in making this comeback possible. Although the Bronco belongs to me, it's nothing without my team. I was excited to finally be able to share this beautiful system with all my friends, and was absolutely thrilled to be called onstage for a first place in Sound Quality, and then for Best of Show. What an exhilarating weekend!"

The following is a list of products that made Gates' Bronco number one in SQ in Daytona:

Seven c508GTi 5-1/4-inch JBL GTi component system speakers
Three JBL Pro 2118H midrange drivers
Four 10-inch JBL Pro midrange drivers
Four JBL Pro 2426H compression drivers and 2370A Bi-Radial? horns
Six 15-inch JBL W15GTi subwoofers
Two JBL A6000 GTi amps
Four JBL Power Series PX300.4 amps
One JBL Power Series PX600.2 amp
One 17-inch Panasonic? monitor
One 8-inch Panasonic? monitor
One Panasonic? head unit
One Panasonic? DVD player
Tsunami? wiring, distribution and charging system
Twelve Eagle Picher? batteries
Neon courtesy of Lite Glow?
Alarm system courtesy of Viper?
Sound-damping material courtesy of Dynamat?
(View JBL products here: http://www.jbl.com/car/products/)

The Harman Consumer Systems Group (HCSG) is a leading designer, manufacturer and marketer of a wide range of high-fidelity loudspeakers, audio and video components, and multimedia systems for use in homes and automobiles, and with computers. The group's brands include JBL, Infinity, Harman Kardon, Mark Levinson, Revel, Audioaccess and Lexicon.

HCSG is a division of Harman International Industries, Incorporated. Harman International (www.harman.com) is a leading manufacturer of high-quality, high-fidelity audio products and electronic systems for the consumer and professional markets. The company's stock is traded on the New York Stock Exchange under the symbol "HAR."

¨CHARMAN INTERNATIONAL¨C
JBL, Power Series and Bi-Radial are registered trademarks of Harman International Industries, Incorporated

sundownz

Postby sundownz » June 12th, 2008, 2:12 pm

sound*ster wrote:well if i remember correctly Alma gates used a A6000Gti for sound Q, and won hands down....

that's why i asked.

But you don't NEED that sort of power - Alma is sponsored and its more of a "Wow Look at that" type thing than anything. JBL wanted to show off their biggest amp so they put it in the Bronco.

Sure, you can use a huge amp for an SQ system... but for the system to be balanced those amps probably never even reaches 20% of its potential output level.

Postby SR » June 12th, 2008, 2:29 pm

sigh

not becasue she ahd the amps in the van meant she used them for sound q

i was there

the system was built mainly for as we put it in trini "GALLARY"

and both myslef and terry floyd agreed that the "green civic" at the time was louder and cleaner sounding that the bronco

however at sbn there was nothing to compete against it nor did any other vehcile sound as loud or as clean so hats off to team gates

when competing in sound q more than half that system would not have even been switched on

do a search for corey himel (i think i got the name correct"

he has a wall in his van and for sound q only one of the subs are actually on and the gain is turned down while the other subs were all damped with towels so as not to have any effect on the overal sound of the system when being judged for sq

as sundownz said it wont reach 20% but mroe than likely it wont reach 10%
sq is judged at no more than 110db max depending on the floor noise

sound*ster

Postby sound*ster » June 12th, 2008, 3:38 pm

i get ur point SR but oh gorm man waz with all d attitude??
iz da time of d month oh wha?

Postby SR » June 12th, 2008, 8:19 pm

no attitude intended

but people need to learnt he difference between sq and spl

as well as the equipment used for it

Postby 3stagevtec » June 12th, 2008, 8:49 pm

sundownz wrote:The Kicker amp will produce far more than rated power and is *extremely* efficient due to a new push-pull topology and signal modulation design - 90% at FULL output levels. It has no output stage, instead it modulates the audio directly from the power supply of the amplifier. I am not aware of any other amplifier that actually achieves this level of real world efficiency at full output.

It's not even my product... but I'd be proud to sell it if it was. It is an impressive piece of engineering.

for those who didn't see it...

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/dOogUslmbf0&hl=en" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="425" height="344"></embed>

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » June 12th, 2008, 8:50 pm

slacker_jack wrote:
DJ Q wrote:^you can buy two of the earthquakes for the price of one kicker

and i find kickers were always WAYY too overpriced

yuh get wah you pay for hoss
kicker does always underrate they amps

take for example, a kicker amp a man was sellin in the classifieds, 1.000rms it rated @ but it was putin out more than 1.400 rms
wen they say 10,000, you kno wah they mean 8-)

But even if the amp is underated... is that call for it to be double the price of another reputable brand? It's not like Earthquake is BOSS or anything...

For US$10,000 you can buy two of the Earthquake Power House amps which will definitely put out more power than one Kicker Warhorse and also allow them to not be under as much strain as the one amp would be.

If the WarHorse is 97% efficient... that means that it will put out 9,700 watts at the given resistance... let's throw in another 1000 watts to cover Kicker's "underratedness".

If the Power House is a regular Class D... it should be somewhere around 80% efficient.. so that covers 8,000 watts.

US$9,995.00 = 10,700 watts
2 x US$4,995.00 = 16,000 watts

Which one would you buy :?:

Postby 3stagevtec » June 12th, 2008, 9:09 pm

you know how much current those two earthquakes will pull... you will need an insane power plant to get that kind of power out of them..

it will be alot easier to produce that 10,000W from the kicker than a similar rating from the earthquake..

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » June 12th, 2008, 9:20 pm

^but is it worth double the money?

Postby 3stagevtec » June 12th, 2008, 9:29 pm

for its cutting edge design and ultra high efficiency, i'd say yes it is... (but if it was me, i would buy another cheaper / similarly powerful amp and spend the $$$ i saved on extra alternators... :wink: )

southside connections

Postby southside connections » June 12th, 2008, 11:04 pm

hmmm just think-

2 350amp alternators runnin on 16v
10 16v batts
3 runs power/3runs gground all 0awg

hmmm reallly expensive wirein

sound*ster

Postby sound*ster » June 13th, 2008, 6:11 am

but if it was me, i would buy another cheaper / similarly powerful amp and spend the $$$ i saved on extra alternators... )

ah think daz d point Q tryin to make

Postby 3stagevtec » June 13th, 2008, 6:52 am

sound*ster wrote:
but if it was me, i would buy another cheaper / similarly powerful amp and spend the $$$ i saved on extra alternators... )

ah think daz d point Q tryin to make

i saw that, but like i said above, for its new design, you gotta expect it to cost a bit...

sound*ster

Postby sound*ster » June 13th, 2008, 6:56 am

well yea for dat price it aint practical for anybody to really buy dat amplifier unless you really wanna show off.

4 Crossfire XP2400D's i sure won't cost $60000TT, Actually you could build a whole system with dat kinda $$

boom

Postby boom » June 13th, 2008, 7:11 am

I think buying one of these is like buying a ferrari or gallardo, you can get the same performance from a silvia with half the price tag of a enzo but you can never get that same wow factor...

Its gonna be exclusive and that I think makes it a amp with a high price amonst other factors.. Also its new, gotta expect a bit of a high price, like the Iphone when it now came out..

sound*ster

Postby sound*ster » June 13th, 2008, 7:19 am

^^ well true it has the wow factor in the bag, same thing like when the Gti was released..

but still, i'm sure this amplifier will only show up in kicker sponsored vehicles and cars of die hard kicker enthusiasts who have alot of extra cash to spend.

Highly doubt we gonna see it on the local scene tho..

anybody knows how much current the warhorse actually needs???
should be somewhere upwards of 900A ent??

Postby 3stagevtec » June 13th, 2008, 8:16 am

in the vid i posted, they said that with 4 of Kickers 2500.1 classD amps (=10,000rms), you will get around 1300 - 1400A of current draw.. but the warhorse will only draw 700-800A... that makes it worth the money..

but still, that amp is only US$9,995.00... you guys ever check the price tag on this amp...

MSRP $24,999.99

and Steve Meade has 2 of those in the Caddy... :faint:

Postby SR » June 13th, 2008, 8:22 am

keep pne thing in mind

these amps are designed as a marketing tool to attract you to thier brands

yes they are for sale as well but its moslty for marketing showcasing what the company can do with the technology

however not all of that technology is in their cheaper model amplifiers for obvious reasons

Postby nervewrecker » June 13th, 2008, 8:37 am

3stagevtec wrote:in the vid i posted, they said that with 4 of Kickers 2500.1 classD amps (=10,000rms), you will get around 1300 - 1400A of current draw.. but the warhorse will only draw 700-800A... that makes it worth the money..

but still, that amp is only US$9,995.00... you guys ever check the price tag on this amp...

MSRP $24,999.99

and Steve Meade has 2 of those in the Caddy... :faint:

I not even goin to open that link, I kno is the rf tk15 8-)

same thing I was asking in my ched bout why maunfacturers doh make high power amps, I kno price is definatly the factor cuz look @ the price of dat amp, why pios doh hav a 5000rms amp? man tellin me bout ohms law......

sound*ster

Postby sound*ster » June 13th, 2008, 8:57 am

jack i remember your ched and it was basically why manufacturers don't make amplifiers to "match" their speakers and you mentioned spaker impedance saz why some tuners hit yuh wid ohms law lol

anywayz sr makes a good point on the subject, it's a big marketing campaign

Sony P910i

Postby Sony P910i » June 13th, 2008, 9:31 am

But the kicker amp is new on the market so the price is high

In a while it should come down below 5k

Postby nervewrecker » June 13th, 2008, 10:18 am

why should it? the rf puttin out 1.5 times it power & is more than 2.5 times the price, the price hasent gone down. I eh hear nobody complaining bout the price of the rf.

if im not mistaken rf & kicker in the same league.

US$9,995.00 for the kicker vs US $24,999.99 for the rf.

Sony P910i

Postby Sony P910i » June 13th, 2008, 10:23 am

The JBL a6000gti is $3800

sound*ster

Postby sound*ster » June 13th, 2008, 10:50 am

The JBL a6000gti is $3800

now i would prefer spend my money there

2 JBL gti's and you packing more that 15000W
olus you'll have ah 2000 extra for batteries etc lol

Postby nervewrecker » June 13th, 2008, 10:57 am

well you hav to consider that we are comparing 3 amps that are underrated here,

jbl puttin out 6,000 rms

kicker puttin out 10,000

rf putin out 15,000 (im quoting the rated power here, we all kno each of them can put out more)

look @ the prices, $3,800, approx $10,000 & approx $25,000 respectively.

the jbl puttin out 3/5 the kicker power & is less than 3/5 the price, so I suppose the price of the kicker is so much as it is fairly new on the scene, it will prolly drop a bit in time to come as it gets older & as new technology comes out (higher power amps with lower power consumption).

but I still cant justify the price of the rf.......

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » June 13th, 2008, 11:02 am

well when the RF came out... it was the only amplifier that could put out so much power... and in fact it still is. but buying that is purely for the wow factor since u'd be able to get 3 kickers @ that price on 2nr :|