maximum file size causing errors, help tech

Postby RBphoto » July 6th, 2008, 10:55 am

Well, i buy a terabite drive, WD, USB. When I try to move a 20GB file from my computer to the drive, error comes up saying that not enough disc space, but the terrabyte drve clean. Smaller files moving with ease. WTK, what gives with this? What is the maximum file size you can move to a external storage drive?

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » July 6th, 2008, 11:30 am

you might need to say what OS you using and What service pack

Postby RBphoto » July 6th, 2008, 11:49 am

Xp, SP3

Snyper

Postby Snyper » July 6th, 2008, 12:10 pm

u might need to format the drive right click my computer--->manage-->click disk management--->locate the drive right click and format

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » July 6th, 2008, 12:18 pm

he said Smaller files moving with ease.

Postby RBphoto » July 6th, 2008, 12:29 pm

The drive is working properly, I can use it as a USB key..plug and play. I only getting the error when I moving this large file. Also, i just noticed that the drive space on the laptop is less than the 20 GB I was trying to move. Anyone figure that this could be the culprit? Does windows copy the file to be coppied on the same drive then look to move it to the destination drive? Could this problem be an error from my source drive?

Mark Divr

Postby Mark Divr » July 6th, 2008, 12:31 pm

maybe yur buffer volume is too small...... jus a hunch

ROTARY_FATEFULL

Postby ROTARY_FATEFULL » July 6th, 2008, 12:33 pm

what file system is the drive formatted as? if it's FAT then you will need to format it to NTFS. you may have a file on the old drive that is larger than 4gb (that is if the new drive is formatted as FAT32)..

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » July 6th, 2008, 12:37 pm

"i just noticed that the drive space on the laptop is less than the 20 GB I was trying to move. "

i dont understand
please explain more

SnipeR

Postby SnipeR » July 6th, 2008, 12:39 pm

ROTARY_FATEFULL wrote:what file system is the drive formatted as? if it's FAT then you will need to format it to NTFS. you may have a file on the old drive that is larger than 4gb (that is if the new drive is formatted as FAT32)..

this seems to be the reason here. reformat the drive using NTFS file system.

ROTARY_FATEFULL

Postby ROTARY_FATEFULL » July 6th, 2008, 12:48 pm

most (if not all) external drives are formatted as FAT32 so that all OS's can see the drive when plugged in. If you plan to use the drive in OS's older than Win2K i suggest you create a FAT32 partition to use as a common space.

Postby RBphoto » July 6th, 2008, 1:06 pm

stephanweaver wrote:"i just noticed that the drive space on the laptop is less than the 20 GB I was trying to move. "

i dont understand
please explain more

My source drive, the laptop, has only 5 gigs free. The file I want to move from my laptop to the atttached WD 1Tb drive is 20 gigs large. Was wondering whether the fact that there was not enough room to buffer on the source drive was the reason for the problem.

ROTARY_FATEFULL

Postby ROTARY_FATEFULL » July 6th, 2008, 1:29 pm

if your external is formatted as FAT32 then you won't be able to copy files larger than 4gb. if this is the case then i suggest you create an NTFS partition with enough space to back up your files.

W2J

Postby W2J » July 6th, 2008, 1:52 pm

your external storage device is timing out due to loss of packets try using a certified reference drivers.

wickedestman

Postby wickedestman » July 6th, 2008, 2:19 pm

crossdrilled, what format the external drive in? yuh not answering that lol...if its FAT reformat to FAT32 or NTFS

Postby RBphoto » July 6th, 2008, 2:24 pm

I will check what the external drive formatted to. This file was the contents of my laptop drive zipped up. Will get back to y'all.

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » July 6th, 2008, 3:51 pm

What size does windows reconize the drive as?
Im talking bout the terrabyte drive

benko

Postby benko » July 6th, 2008, 6:42 pm

3 things to try

1. check for software or some sort of management utility for the drive

2. try splitting drive into a few NTFS partitions 250gb partitions should be more reasonable for windows to try to manage

3. try booting with a live cd and doing the copy