Engine Swap 1.6

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

quiot

Engine Swap 1.6

Postby quiot » July 8th, 2008, 8:25 am

i would like to know what engine would be best suited to swap for the TS 1.6 awd?............i am not looking for a major speed boost .......just a lil more power and speed........if i can keep the original suspension and breaking system even better

future shop llc

Postby future shop llc » July 8th, 2008, 9:10 am

If you buy a 2.0 boxer engine more upgrades are open to you.....

Forged engine parts, cams and other goodies my be baught down the road to give you a wild N/A ride eventually.... But, for starters the 2.0 will have some more pep anyhow.

it not easy to get however. but like everything $$ talks.

there are current no forged items for the 1.6 scooby engines... "no market for it" according to JE, Wiseco, CP......

they were not even aware the 1.6 or 1.5 were being built until recently. :(

ImprezaDriver

Postby ImprezaDriver » July 8th, 2008, 4:33 pm

2.5 or 2.0 should be an easy swap

quiot

Postby quiot » July 8th, 2008, 8:13 pm

i hav been told about th ej20............is it an easier swap and wat kind of performance we looking at

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » July 10th, 2008, 6:47 pm

As with most trinis, it seems like main concern is putting a big engine in their car, w/o upgrading suspension and/or brakes.

Do it right the first time...My 2c.

bong

Postby bong » July 11th, 2008, 2:55 am

^^^^
like the man sayin 2.0 come with bettr brakes an suspension for a reason
the car will handle like crap an not stop
makin the swap a waste of time :roll:

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » July 11th, 2008, 6:54 am

^^Yep.

There's a reason that the 2.0R/ 2.0GX cars come with all wheel disc brakes (unlike the TS)

There's also a reason why the WRX and STi's come with 4 piston brakes up front, and 2 piston at the back. And they have improvbed suspension/bigger sway bars etc etc.

It's not just about "feeling fast" in a straight line. If that's what you want.....go drop eeen ah RB in ah 120Y...and you'll be VERY fast....in a straight line :roll: :lol:

quiot

Postby quiot » July 11th, 2008, 7:32 am

well if there is a need i am willing to change suspension and brakes.........but the reason for d bigger engine is not all about the speed......i just want it there is i need it......alot of sheit does happen wen yuh stop at lights in d night from various threads and from ppl i know so is just a lil more power if that ever arises........."knocks on wood".....so a lil help would be appreciated

Postby bushwakka » July 21st, 2008, 3:38 pm

ImprezaDriver wrote:2.5 or 2.0 should be an easy swap

are u referring to 2.5 n/a? where u get that from?

Go Fast
Location: Cheap and fast won't be reliable. Cheap and reliable won't be fast. Reliable and fast won't be cheap

Postby Go Fast » July 21st, 2008, 11:39 pm

that is a normal thing, the EJ25 is an excellent N/A platform..

ImprezaDriver

Postby ImprezaDriver » July 22nd, 2008, 3:07 am

yeah...the 2.5 liter is what i have and it's rated at 173 hp. We don't get anything smaller than 2.5L with the new imprezas in the states.

and quiot...i doubt your suspension and brakes will be that much of a problem with a 2.0 swap. Scooby n/a engines are not really that fast. :lol: :roll:

I think the 2.0 is rated at 125-145hp... i can't really remember.

edit--and don't bother trying to mod it for big increases. You'll get nowhere unless you spend big money. Start out with a k&n drop-in, lightened pulley/flywheel, port/polish and maybe a tune if you're gonna do anything.

Postby bushwakka » July 22nd, 2008, 5:14 pm

Go Fast wrote:that is a normal thing, the EJ25 is an excellent N/A platform..

well i kno the ej25 is a normal ting in de states....but do u get ej25s to buy in de bamboo?

i believe the ej20 is rated around 145 hp
IMHO, u shud always upgrade the brakes when u hav a 1.6....those things come with drums dude......i hav no idea abt the suspension tho....can a formerly 1.6 car support the weight of a 2.0 block comfortably without adversely affecting the ride, handling etc?

Return to “SUBARU”