The Official CS Lancer Thread!

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » July 22nd, 2008, 10:11 pm

SHO, u interfered with the battery recently?

jus asking coz when i did with mine awhile back it started behaving the same way until it sorted itself out

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » July 23rd, 2008, 7:19 am

well the car wuking better and yes i did remove the battery about 3 weeks ago to help ah old man who batery went dead

idlemind

Postby idlemind » July 23rd, 2008, 11:55 am

thats the problem right there....i did the same for my dad, swapped batteries a good few times coz his alternator went and he stalled in a bad area.

as usual i thought was a GDI issue :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

idlemind

Postby idlemind » July 29th, 2008, 8:16 am

Guys, i contemplating changing the grade of oil i use, coz i seem to be burning quite often as a result of 'spirited driving' habits.

Currently i use Mobil 10w30 and im not meeting the 5000km change before i have to add another quart in between.

now ive been told that 10w30 is ideal for GDIs by reputable mechs, but obviously i need something better. the car isnt smoking, and i checked the plugs and they're clean and dry.

you guys have anything to suggest?
dont really wanna go on trial and error with this engine

thanks

Mitsu power

Postby Mitsu power » July 29th, 2008, 9:37 am

^^^ on the swift is roughly the same deal i use 5w- 40 . to me the ideal is 10w -40 but you cant get that in trinidad in syn or even blend only mineral oil .. All i can say is take a flush and get a steady supply of 10w 40 mineral and you should be good to go ..will look into it if the gdi can use a mineral oil ...

idlemind

Postby idlemind » July 29th, 2008, 9:42 am

somehow i think is full syntec bizness only

Postby ronsin1 » July 29th, 2008, 1:56 pm

Whats your milage now idlemind I use the same 10W 30 Mobil1 and do not have to top up between oil changes

idlemind

Postby idlemind » July 29th, 2008, 2:05 pm

old engine was around 107000km and i knew the causes for me burning back then.
this new engine is < 60000km and in immaculate condition, which leads me to assume its coz of the driving habits.

remember i treat tiptronic like manual :oops:
im sure if i left the bloody thing in cvt il meet the 5000km

venum

Postby venum » July 29th, 2008, 4:33 pm

i using teh 5w 40 mobil full synthetic

no burn-off

idlemind

Postby idlemind » July 30th, 2008, 1:16 pm

would dat burn at a lesser rate?

Mitsu power

Postby Mitsu power » July 30th, 2008, 3:52 pm

venum wrote:i using teh 5w 40 mobil full synthetic

no burn-off

^^Thats in what a gdi lancer... what are your driving patterns ?

Postby ronsin1 » July 30th, 2008, 5:08 pm

4g18 engine and it makes a north-south 5 days ah week if I am not mistaken

I have a 4g15 GDI and used to make the same run and I never had burn off and I used 10w-30 mobil1 full syn.

venum

Postby venum » July 30th, 2008, 5:15 pm

ronsin1 yuh not mistaken

morning is regular stop and go traffic form ~ aranguez

evening is pace back to south

her foot not light :lol:

idlemind

Postby idlemind » July 30th, 2008, 5:41 pm

so try the 5w?

Postby Rainman » July 31st, 2008, 6:26 am

i used castrol syntec 15w-50 in my 4g18 was this too heavy?

Mitsu power

Postby Mitsu power » July 31st, 2008, 8:30 am

^^ that cool

venum

Postby venum » July 31st, 2008, 12:01 pm

rainman wrote:i used castrol syntec 15w-50 in my 4g18 was this too heavy?

i used Shell Helix 15W-50 in mine when I had it

never had a prob with burn-off or any other prob for that matter

fras

Postby fras » July 31st, 2008, 12:42 pm

venum wrote:i used Shell Helix 15W-50 in mine when I had it

never had a prob with burn-off or any other prob for that matter

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » August 4th, 2008, 9:21 pm

ok i am loss to the problem with my car , i will just wait till it shut down or sumtin breaks......... idle still fluctating between 300- 1500 rpm no engine lights tried replacing sensors etc i loss all yuh know any mechanic that might be able to help

Postby ronsin1 » August 5th, 2008, 9:27 am

TPS by chance????

idlemind

Postby idlemind » August 5th, 2008, 9:29 am

heres a far fetched suggestion to check ur fuel pump

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » August 5th, 2008, 9:36 am

tps and fuel pump would have shown up when i scanned the car right

idlemind

Postby idlemind » August 5th, 2008, 9:39 am

tps maybe but a durty fuel pump is susceptible

venum

Postby venum » August 5th, 2008, 11:51 am

idlemind wrote:heres a far fetched suggestion to check ur fuel pump

all them GDI men have a pump complex . . .

anything go wrong the first thing they holla is "PUMP :!: "

after that is "TPS :!: "

idle, is a EFI engine he talking bout

JUS4SHO wrote:tps and fuel pump would have shown up when i scanned the car right

you hope

TPS more than likely, but pump - not really

one scanner indicated TPS when my distributor was acting up on teh CK2

another (newer) scanner showed no faults

CS3 pumps usually do not act up, did you check the idle control motor

what about MAP sensor :?:

I know a mech that can help - Robert Chan - 652-7678

Postby ronsin1 » August 5th, 2008, 3:48 pm

venum wrote:
all them GDI men have a pump complex . . .

anything go wrong the first thing they holla is "PUMP :!: "

TPS more than likely, but pump - not really

I know a mech that can help - Robert Chan - 652-7678

I resent that first statement :evil:

the second sand third statement I agree with :)

idlemind

Postby idlemind » August 5th, 2008, 3:57 pm

ive heard of EFI lancers having to change/service their pumps already

but il let the outside chile have his say

Postby ronsin1 » August 5th, 2008, 4:03 pm

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » August 6th, 2008, 7:18 am

nah i checked the fuel pressure its spot on, venum ,Robert Chan you know him good?...

venum

Postby venum » August 6th, 2008, 4:16 pm

when yuh ready to go

call meh, I'll take yuh

he is my mech

but doh do like a GDI man I sorted out once - make arrangements for engine job and then buy engine in bamboo and split :D

idlemind

Postby idlemind » August 6th, 2008, 4:18 pm

oh gooooooooooouuuuuuuuuuuud

*insert sketel laugh*

yuh wicked

Return to “MITSUBISHI”