The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 30th, 2008, 12:59 pm

WinPwn 2.5
http://www.appleiphoneschool.com/2008/07/30/winpwn-25/

[quote]It seems that the developers of WinPwn are in the process of developing a new WinPwn that is, “a lot easier to use and should help a lot of people having issues.â€

monkeypeaches

Postby monkeypeaches » July 30th, 2008, 8:28 pm

ah don't know if this was mentioned before........
but would the iphone 3g work in trinidad
was thinking of buying one and heard someone say that it wouldnt work
is this true ?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 30th, 2008, 8:53 pm

monkeypeaches wrote:ah don't know if this was mentioned before........
but would the iphone 3g work in trinidad
was thinking of buying one and heard someone say that it wouldnt work
is this true ?

Well as of right now it hasn't been unlocked. So it wouldn't be able to work on bmobile or Digicel.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 31st, 2008, 9:24 am

Apple iTunes 7.7.1 released:
http://apple.com/itunes

Changes: includes fixes to improve stability and performance
Size: 70.15MB

Postby tr1ad » July 31st, 2008, 10:37 am

pressure yest

take off meh phone an was stuck in recovery mode

big up to RS200 who put up with all meh calls to help rectify the problem

almost ded when d phone freeze

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 31st, 2008, 12:47 pm

iPhone Considered The Wii Of Portable Gaming:
http://www.g4tv.com/thefeed/blog/post/6 ... gn=TheFeed

Freelander

Postby Freelander » August 1st, 2008, 9:10 am

jailbroke my iphone 3g last night so far no probs, process was pretty straight forward. quake works some other features work. need to set up the ftp to upload the NES roms.

:D

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » August 1st, 2008, 9:22 am

bwtmc u get quake from?
!
gimmie link!

I figure I hvae some old ass sources...

Freelander

Postby Freelander » August 1st, 2008, 9:34 am

winpwn 2.0.3 version is out i guess comes with quake

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » August 1st, 2008, 10:18 am

You get it on Cydia, when you jailbreak the 2.0 firmware, as Installer is unavailable, Cydia is its less popular counter part.

Freelander

Postby Freelander » August 1st, 2008, 10:23 am

yeah thats it

the packages need some updating though

quake is hard damit so weird playing it

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 1st, 2008, 10:53 am

WinPwn 2.5 Screenshots:
http://www.appleiphoneschool.com/2008/0 ... reenshots/

[quote]As the developers of WinPwn continue to work on version 2.5 which is said to be, “a lot easier to use and should help a lot of people having issues,â€

Postby RBphoto » August 1st, 2008, 1:37 pm

Anybody know anywhere that fixing Iphones? One ah meh woman friends phone not working and she want to fix it (seems like a software problem)

Freelander

Postby Freelander » August 1st, 2008, 1:39 pm

just do a restore u will have to re-jailbreak and unlock though

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 1st, 2008, 1:46 pm

^ she thinks your hardware is more like software? :lol:

check www.trinigadgets.com

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » August 1st, 2008, 2:19 pm

^^^^ y u so....nahh , why ya gots ta tell him like dat boy
that just 'chew trippin foo'

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 2nd, 2008, 11:08 am

well I tried it and its working fine

I'm now running 2.0 on my old 2G iphone - my phone originally came with 1.0.2 and I've been running 1.1.1 all the time cause I never saw the need to upgrade till now.

I used the iClarified guide for using winpwn
http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=1572
didnt even need to remove by bmobile sim card.
I upgraded straight from 1.1.1 to 2.0

works like a charm
I backed up to iTunes before I did the upgrade and unlock, so I got back all my contacts, pictures, txt messages and email setups etc automatically.
- the App Store is sick!!! And lots of free stuff too.
Remote is kickass and will be trying the dyno app today

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 2nd, 2008, 7:35 pm

Apple locked into AT&T exclusivity until 2010?
http://www.electronista.com/articles/08 ... t.in.2010/

Apple is bound to its exclusivity deal with AT&T until at least 2010, sources have allegedly told USA Today. The newspaper asserts that AT&T agreed to the large-scale subsidies on the iPhone 3G's pricing in exchange for a one-year extension on the provider's sole rights for the device line in the US, pushing it back from its original 2009 date. The extension is crucial for AT&T, which is the leader in an increasingly saturated market and sees the iPhone as a tool to convert customers from other networks....

xtech

Postby xtech » August 3rd, 2008, 7:35 pm

I'm now running 2.0 on my 16Gig 1G iphone - my phone originally came with 1.1.3 and I've been running 1.1.3 all the time cause I never saw the need to upgrade till now.

I used the iClarified guide for using winpwn
http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=1572
didnt even need to remove by bmobile sim card.
I upgraded straight from 1.1.3 to 2.0

works like a charm
I backed up to iTunes before I did the upgrade and unlock, so I got back all my contacts, pictures, txt messages and email setups etc automatically.

I fotocopy Duane post..........................did not feel like typing

yeah i made it I am officially 2.0

going an Dyno the ride now :elephant:

xtech

Postby xtech » August 3rd, 2008, 11:23 pm

Apple iPhone 2.0 Cracked Apps Installation Guide

Having trouble installing the cracked apps. So here is a small guide to help you guys through.

In the following guide, the word “Exampleâ€

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » August 3rd, 2008, 11:28 pm

thankz...

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » August 4th, 2008, 1:50 am

in other news installer 4.0 beta has been leaked :mrgreen:

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » August 4th, 2008, 2:17 pm

^^^ I think its a bug because I have been having the same problem on different systems :(

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 4th, 2008, 8:22 pm

2.0.1 FW update out...

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 4th, 2008, 8:51 pm

mitch wrote:2.0.1 FW update out...

Firmware 2.0.1 Now Available:
http://www.appleiphoneschool.com/2008/0 ... available/
So far we’re hearing just bug fixes with no feature updates but we’ll see. Downloading now… 249.2MB We’ll update this article with more info. This download is available via iTunes.

Warning, if you have jailbroke or unlocked do not update at this time. Gizmodo is reporting it does not work with Pwnage or WinPwn.

_____
Update 1: iPod Touch users can also update.

Update 2: Doesn't wipe out existing media (pics, photos vids)

Update 3: seems faster and smoother

Update 4: iTunes sync and backup is faster (apparently)
Last edited by SRASC on August 4th, 2008, 10:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 4th, 2008, 10:28 pm

Picture Messaging (MMS) Workaround:
http://www.appleiphoneschool.com/2008/0 ... orkaround/

As most everyone knows, one of the biggest downfalls of the iPhone is the missing picture messaging. I was reading through our forum¹ and zachdrago² had written³ how to send MMS or picture messages to AT&T users. I have done this before with Verizon but I thought it would be kewl to list all the services that allow for this feature. Basically the way it works is you put the person’s phone number before whatever domain name that company uses for picture or text messaging.

zachdrago’s instructions:

1) choose the picture you want to send, and hit “email photo.â€

xtech

Postby xtech » August 5th, 2008, 8:47 am

How to SSH without WiFi !!!

You can actually SSH into your iPhone using WinSCP, Putty and other clients and do whatever you want, without having WiFi.

All you need is the 30-pin iPod Connector USB cable.

It´s been tested and also works on firmware 2.0.
And it works even if your iPhone is in sleep mode.

Requirements:

• Open SSH installed through Installer or Cydia
• iPhone Tunnel Suite
• Latest version of. Net Framework

Functions:
• Connecting via SSH to an iPhone / iPod Touch, all without the need of WiFi and with the need of only USB cable.
• Client WinSCP integrated
• Client Putty integrated

1. First, downloading it from here. http://www.makkiaweb.net/itunnel/data/its_setup.exe

2. Install the program and execute it.

3. Launch SSH in iPhone / iPod as well. Make sure it is connected to your computer using the USB cable.

4. You will find a screen that shows only 3 buttons like above, launch “iPhone Tunnelâ€

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 5th, 2008, 10:20 am

YouTube videos as your Ringtone! NO COMPUTER REQUIRED!!!
http://www.appleiphoneschool.com/forum/ ... =350#p1623

yes its true, there's a way to get YouTube videos as a ringtone

Requirements:
iPhone (DUH!) FW 1.1.4
MxTube
MobileFinder
vWallpaper
Wi-Fi (not necessarily a requirement, but saves time)

Step 1. Open MxTube, find a video you would like as your ringtone, and download (I would recommend the " High quality" option, it would look more cut up).

Step 2. Once the video is done downloading, quit MxTube and open Finder.

Step 3. Navigate to. /var/mobile/Media/MxTube and spot the video you downloaded (this might be a bit challenging if you have multiple videos, just look In the little pictures and see which one could be from your video.).

Step 4. Once you find you video, locate the clone of it (by this I mean the .mp4 file that matches the name of the .THM picture of the video you just downloaded.

Step 5. Press "File" and then "Move".

Step 6. Now navigate to /var/mobile/Media/Skrew/vRingtones

Step 7. Once there, press "Paste" at the bottom left button panel.

Step 8. Once it pastes there, exit Finder and reboot your phone.

Step 9. Open vWallpaper, and select Video Ringtones, then Select Videos, and select the vid u just downloaded. Then reboot.

Done! Now ask someone to call you, and you will see a YouTube video as your ringer!

Freelander

Postby Freelander » August 5th, 2008, 10:43 am

i cant get wallpaper to work :( i keep getting an error while applying it sigh . i hadda read up on it yes

Postby tr1ad » August 5th, 2008, 11:09 am

hmm.. still considerin upgradin to 2.0