The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 5th, 2008, 2:42 pm

got my white 16GB 3G today :) it;s pretty, so pretty i wanna hide my old iphones :P

will post pics soon, till then here is me playing with a 16GB black from laptop city (who has them for sale BTW - I dint get mine there, but i saw them they are real LOL)

<embed src="http://www.viddler.com/player/589455a4/" width="437" height="370" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowScriptAccess="always" allowFullScreen="true" name="viddler" ></embed>

Postby tr1ad » August 5th, 2008, 2:43 pm

unknow error 1604: cannot restore iphone

this is with the winpwn method

xtech

Postby xtech » August 5th, 2008, 2:48 pm

^^^^^^^^^^^^ u probably used wrong restore file.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 5th, 2008, 2:56 pm

^^ yup

mke sure you are using the iPhone1,1_2.0_5A347_Custom_Restore.ipsw file

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 5th, 2008, 3:23 pm

RS200 wrote:got my white 16GB 3G today :) it;s pretty, so pretty i wanna hide my old iphones :P

will post pics soon, till then here is me playing with a 16GB black from laptop city (who has them for sale BTW - I dint get mine there, but i saw them they are real LOL)

<embed src="http://www.viddler.com/player/589455a4/" width="437" height="370" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowScriptAccess="always" allowFullScreen="true" name="viddler" ></embed>

They probably cost an arm & a leg there I would imagine. 3Gs or 1st gen?

Postby tr1ad » August 5th, 2008, 3:37 pm

this was following the iclarified steps with winpwn

xtech

Postby xtech » August 5th, 2008, 3:48 pm

well u followed it but did u
1) rebuild the currect firmware file?
2) Also did u have it pwn itunes?

Postby tr1ad » August 5th, 2008, 3:58 pm

1 yes
2 yes

xtech

Postby xtech » August 5th, 2008, 4:05 pm

well did you do it over

Freelander

Postby Freelander » August 5th, 2008, 4:13 pm

u sure u download the right version firmware they have 2 versions adn one is only for the iphone 3g

Postby tr1ad » August 5th, 2008, 4:20 pm

yup was for the ist gen iphones,

tried it more than 3 times already

xtech

Postby xtech » August 5th, 2008, 4:21 pm

i was scared it would happen to me but it worked. Well all i can say is try it on another machine

Postby tr1ad » August 5th, 2008, 4:22 pm

ill have to do that

Postby RBphoto » August 5th, 2008, 4:35 pm

So you have an Ibrick or it just not updating?

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 5th, 2008, 5:10 pm

iits not bricked,

download the correct firmware or even check me via PM i'll upload one that works for you.

anyway, here is a teaser:

check out the full article here

http://mytriniphone.com/blog/2008/08/wh ... ne-3g-box/

http://mytriniphone.com/blog/2008/08/my ... y-arrived/

xtech

Postby xtech » August 5th, 2008, 5:18 pm

show we a pic with GPS on google maps wukking

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 5th, 2008, 5:30 pm

no data so i dont think GPS will work, I also dont know what service/satelite it would pick up locally.

pretty spot on though

Postby tr1ad » August 5th, 2008, 5:37 pm

lucky bastard

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 5th, 2008, 5:48 pm

as i mentioned on the blog,

iphone 3g buyers

see how mine has service, this is because the sim card/contrat is still live, so it is actualy AT&T phone number roaming on Digicel (or bmobile)

please swap in your local sim to check for service with those seller who claim their iPhone 3G is "uhum" Unlocked ;)

mine is locked, and is roaming, there is NO software unlock at the moment of the iphone 3G

but it sweet too bad.. make ya old phone look like a bata bullet

xtech

Postby xtech » August 5th, 2008, 6:17 pm

RS200 wrote:Image

no data so i dont think GPS will work, I also dont know what service/satelite it would pick up locally.

pretty spot on though

HAHAHA he posted his location
now that i know the location of a local 3G iphone

u will be getting a visit from some very bad men later......... :twisted:

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 5th, 2008, 7:01 pm

if you can use that pitiful map to find me then you probably don't need one to find me..

thats just the closest cell tower actually, it's off by a bit when I am home.

xtech

Postby xtech » August 5th, 2008, 7:10 pm

i thought GPS dont use cell towers.................. but GPS nav sats in space

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 5th, 2008, 7:11 pm

I just installed an application called "Shazam" which is free from the App Store on 2.0.

You start the app, point the iPhone by some speakers playing music for a few seconds, and the iPhone tells you the name of the song, who sung it, the album it was on, shows you a pic of the album cover and a few links to download it from iTunes - I've tested it with about 10 songs and every one was spot on exactly correct!!!

that is freakin amazing!
I tried it from the very beginning of songs to the chorus to mid verse to the guitar solo - it got all of them - from just a few seconds of music.
Everything from Air Supply to Buju

lets see your walkman phone do that!

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 5th, 2008, 7:16 pm

welcome to 2 weeks ago:P

glad you stepped up from 1.0.2 duane

allot has changed huh??

xtech

Postby xtech » August 5th, 2008, 7:21 pm

who dyno they car my laser get 140hp 10sec 0-60

automatic 1.3 turbo eh unmodified cept for 2.25inch exhaust :twisted:
in specs online the manual version does do 7 sec 0-60
4EFTE powered Laser

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 5th, 2008, 7:39 pm

RS200 wrote:welcome to 2 weeks ago:P

allot has changed huh??

yes, I feel like I was folded up under a rock :lol:

I'll add to the cluelessness: I've been trying to find a workaround to purchasing on iTunes and the AppStore. I have a "hacked" iTunes account that I got from an online redemption that allowed me to use "None" as the credit card, I used this account to get album covers and freebies - it works well with the AppStore to get the free apps - however I cant purchase the good stuff since iTunes wont accept my international credit card even though I have my Miami skybox address attached to it.

So far Kesvetc had a good solution which was to purchase iTunes gift cards from Amazon - Amazon accepts international credit cards.
However they all seem to want to ship the physical card to me. Including the Apple Store. Is there a way to use an international credit card to purchase an iTunes gift card and have the code emailed to you? Waiting for them to ship the card so I can scratch the back to see the number is so 1985.

AM I missing something that should be otherwise obvious?

oh and GREAT work on mytriniphone.com RS200 - you are spot on and up-to-the-second!

Postby tr1ad » August 5th, 2008, 8:40 pm

someone upgrade meh iphone

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 5th, 2008, 9:09 pm

RS200 wrote:welcome to 2 weeks ago:P

allot has changed huh??

yes, I feel like I was folded up under a rock :lol:

I'll add to the cluelessness: I've been trying to find a workaround to purchasing on iTunes and the AppStore. I have a "hacked" iTunes account that I got from an online redemption that allowed me to use "None" as the credit card, I used this account to get album covers and freebies - it works well with the AppStore to get the free apps - however I cant purchase the good stuff since iTunes wont accept my international credit card even though I have my Miami skybox address attached to it.

So far Kesvetc had a good solution which was to purchase iTunes gift cards from Amazon - Amazon accepts international credit cards.
However they all seem to want to ship the physical card to me. Including the Apple Store. Is there a way to use an international credit card to purchase an iTunes gift card and have the code emailed to you? Waiting for them to ship the card so I can scratch the back to see the number is so 1985.

AM I missing something that should be otherwise obvious?

u can buy itunes gift "certificates" that get sent via email. but it's thru itunes only so i'm guessing an international credit card would still be useless here... :lol:

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 5th, 2008, 10:53 pm

triad, i told ya i'll do it for ya for free, PM me.

thanks Duane, i too use itunes gift cards, if you sign up for mobile me you'll get a free itunes account. then you can use itunes gift cards too, best thing to do is buy a 100 usd at a time, that way you can budget ti and buy a few aps and some movies on itunes.

thanks for the compliments about mytriniphone, its fun :)

Postby RASC » August 5th, 2008, 10:54 pm

Oh My Good Grief...I read through this entire thread...and I'm still amazed at the amount of hoops you guys jump through on a daily for basic stuff included on most unlocked handset's out there. Bordering on the freakishly nerdish :|

I guess it's cause most of us (you) are involved in the tech industry in some way so this stuff is some what exciting, but honestly do you ever get tired of it sometimes?

Still waiting on my 3G tho :cry: