Best 2008 Pickup: Sportero vs Ranger vs Hilux

Postby RBphoto » August 8th, 2008, 2:14 pm

Choices.....Choices
Typical line up outside my office door
Dis is the only sportero at work. Is it just me or the front looking evo-ish?

Postby honda hoe » August 8th, 2008, 2:16 pm

is jus u :roll:

shottah_crew

Postby shottah_crew » August 8th, 2008, 2:30 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Why in the world would anyone buy an auto pick-up????

Cuz its gonna be driven by a number of people.

crossdrilled, d Navarra mite look good wen it chromed out and thing, but I hear the frame rel heavy and does eat thru brake pads compared to other pickups.

honda hoe, doh mind the Toyota parts, cuz I selling them! lol.

Postby RBphoto » August 8th, 2008, 3:34 pm

shottah_crew wrote:crossdrilled, d Navarra mite look good wen it chromed out and thing, but I hear the frame rel heavy and does eat thru brake pads compared to other pickups.

Like I said previously, I only find it looks good. I have not heard good things about this except that it fast.

Postby crazybalhead » August 8th, 2008, 3:36 pm

crossdrilled wrote:Choices.....Choices
Typical line up outside my office door
Dis is the only sportero at work. Is it just me or the front looking evo-ish?

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: is just you!

Postby crazybalhead » August 8th, 2008, 3:37 pm

shottah_crew wrote:
crazybalhead wrote:Why in the world would anyone buy an auto pick-up????

Cuz its gonna be driven by a number of people.

crossdrilled, d Navarra mite look good wen it chromed out and thing, but I hear the frame rel heavy and does eat thru brake pads compared to other pickups.

honda hoe, doh mind the Toyota parts, cuz I selling them! lol.

cool cool, a handicapped person. Scene. 8-)

Postby RBphoto » August 8th, 2008, 3:52 pm

^^ Nothing wrong with an auto pickup. It is a saer if a little less functioal vehicle in my oppinion.
Last edited by RBphoto on August 8th, 2008, 3:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby crazybalhead » August 8th, 2008, 3:52 pm

How it safer??? Serious???

Postby RBphoto » August 8th, 2008, 4:02 pm

In slippery conditions, if you don't use your clutch properly, you can find yourself sliding off the road. Ah going home now...will explain later.

VJTEK

Postby VJTEK » August 8th, 2008, 4:04 pm

Safer for a woman who go grind dem gears... :D

Postby wagon r » August 8th, 2008, 4:11 pm

...a few fluffy men in here boy.... :|

Postby Team Loco » August 8th, 2008, 5:34 pm

and the mafia arrives...... :twisted: :twisted:

VII

Postby VII » August 8th, 2008, 6:09 pm

the others can't compare with the Navara,best in power,best in space(cabin and cargo),superior interior,good on and off road manners,and great road presence. .in my opinion its the best pick-up available here,I test drove all the others and from the time I stepped in the Navara I was sold !!try the Navara pal. .

Postby Team Loco » August 8th, 2008, 6:15 pm

Navara is nice, but i dont like the ground clearence. i prefer the hilux for its legendary dependability and true off road capability. plus i prefer the rugged strong ride

RichieRich
2NR MILF Hunter

Postby RichieRich » August 8th, 2008, 6:20 pm

honda hoe wrote:i would buy a hilux simply cuz its a toyota

Amen.

VII

Postby VII » August 8th, 2008, 6:40 pm

interior a bit more comfy than others

plenty leg room for rear passengers,they always comment on that

Last edited by VII on August 8th, 2008, 6:59 pm, edited 4 times in total.

noobie

Postby noobie » August 8th, 2008, 6:42 pm

That look kinda low though! And what about the poor crash rating?

VII

Postby VII » August 8th, 2008, 6:47 pm

noobie wrote:That look kinda low though! And what about the poor crash rating?

its the same clearance as the Hilux,the bulkier look and bulges just creates an illusion. .

the poor crash rating was on initial tests,they've since rienforced those areas,btw most trucks 3 stars is a good rating and thats where both Hilux and Navara are at. .
Last edited by VII on August 8th, 2008, 6:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

noobie

Postby noobie » August 8th, 2008, 6:48 pm

VII wrote:the bigger bulges just creates an illusion. .

yeah...my head get thief like that already...oh wait...we still talking trucks here...

robbieg

Postby robbieg » August 8th, 2008, 7:16 pm

Runnin a Hilux for about 2 years now. No complaints thus far. I like the suspension, its good for both road and off road.

Ive been maintaining the van faithfully at the dealership and it rides wonderful. Powerful (3.0 Diesel Turbo) , somewhat light as well. I find its quite comfortable.

Nice acceleration and top speed.

Here are some pics.

RichieRich
2NR MILF Hunter

Postby RichieRich » August 8th, 2008, 7:19 pm

wagonR will get horny when he see's those dirty pickups :lol:

robbieg

Postby robbieg » August 8th, 2008, 7:20 pm

wagonR will get horny when he see's those dirty pickups

it have more to come

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » August 8th, 2008, 7:25 pm

robbieg wrote:Runnin a Hilux for about 2 years now. No complaints thus far. I like the suspension, its good for both road and off road.

Ive been maintaining the van faithfully at the dealership and it rides wonderful. Powerful (3.0 Diesel Turbo) , somewhat light as well. I find its quite comfortable.

Nice acceleration and top speed.

Here are some pics.

What's the cost of the manual hilux 3.0 turbo diesel?

Postby Team Loco » August 8th, 2008, 7:29 pm

U really feel so? Hilux seems higher. To me, all these new 4x4s are designed to cater differing tastes. The hilux is designed with a no nonsense approach. More function than the bling(not counting the after market versions). The navara seems refined, pretty, highway racer. The ford or mazda focuses on ride comfort and speed.

But u still can't beat the hilux for strength. Pricey parts? Ha, a shock for my older 4x4 lux cost $220 at toyota. I just redid my entire 3L engine. Bearings, pistons, rings, engine kit from toyota didn't cross $2000

VII

Postby VII » August 8th, 2008, 7:58 pm

Team Loco wrote:U really feel so? Hilux seems higher. To me, all these new 4x4s are designed to cater differing tastes. The hilux is designed with a no nonsense approach. More function than the bling(not counting the after market versions). The navara seems refined, pretty, highway racer. The ford or mazda focuses on ride comfort and speed.

But u still can't beat the hilux for strength. Pricey parts? Ha, a shock for my older 4x4 lux cost $220 at toyota. I just redid my entire 3L engine. Bearings, pistons, rings, engine kit from toyota didn't cross $2000

your assessment is about right,but the Nav handles off rd quite well,I was surprised :shock: caus at that time I was thinking the same as u mentioned about the Nav in part of your analysis,you can't deny Toyota's history of durability and reliability. .buh ah still love meh Navara !!!

Postby joker » August 8th, 2008, 8:09 pm

i bought my toyota because of resale value after 2-3 yrs .

downfall about the toyota 4x2 is there is no intercooler and max speed is 160kph {170 downhill}...no intermittent wiper ,no clock< :roll:

700 km on $100 deisel... :mrgreen: .... rides better than ranger imo

VII

Postby VII » August 8th, 2008, 8:11 pm

FullStop

Postby FullStop » August 8th, 2008, 8:16 pm

mazda bt50 and ford are very similar, i like the bt50 since i've had very good experience with the b2500 turbo, rides nice and is an absolute beast off road, i took that thing up inclines soo steep u couldnt see where u going, only once did it ever stop, than i just rolled back and went up sideways lol

Postby Team Loco » August 8th, 2008, 9:08 pm

Yup, mazdas and ford are excellent vehicles. But the wl series engines are tough when it comes to parts availabilty from the agents. Also a malfunctioning wl engine is hard to come back, if you use substitute parts. I know this not by heresay, but by experience. Got a wl turbo in my mazda pick up, runs like a sportscar, but thumbs down to southern sales for parts availability and sale of third party parts disguised as oem

Postby brams112 » August 8th, 2008, 10:32 pm

fellas, some time ago this was on this forum where we saw on utube the navara was beaten by the vigo in a lot of ways, plus the video to the north pole, was that a fake? or no one belived what they saw, as for parts if u are a really reckless fella u will not really distroy the toyota,it is a really good buy plus resale value is the best so go figure, :lol: :lol: :lol: 0X 0X