Strauss wrote:As we on the topic of Handling.
Ever notice how the Frontiers could never take a friggin corner without the back sliding out or fishtailing on smooth roads? And that's in 4wd!
Our Mazda and Toyota could friggin drift around corners and straighten itself back up with ease. And that's in rear-wheel drive alone.
Rory Phoulorie wrote:Strauss wrote:As we on the topic of Handling.
Ever notice how the Frontiers could never take a friggin corner without the back sliding out or fishtailing on smooth roads? And that's in 4wd!
Our Mazda and Toyota could friggin drift around corners and straighten itself back up with ease. And that's in rear-wheel drive alone.
What speeds are you talking about here?
The 4WD systems on these vehicles are designed only to be used up to a certain speed on smooth roads (remember how a 4WD system and an AWD system operates are somewhat different). Anything above those speeds would result in handling and drive train wear problems.
From my experience with overseeing a fleet comprising commercial grade 4x4 Nissans, Mazdas, Toyotas and Mitsubishis, the Nissan and Mazda give the best on-road ride, followed by the Mitsubishi and then the Toyota. For off-road work (in locations where probably 90% of you all would never take your 4x4), the Toyota performs the best. Overall durability (based on initial capital cost, maintenance expenses and down-time) goes to the Toyota.
Team Loco wrote:Believe me, rory know what he talking bout. I have seen some of his vehicles. If is anyone to put a 4x4 to a test, its his workers.
I am now doing 154000kms on my hilux. Went to the diesel boys run the other day. We went through rally roller coaster rally stages in longdenville. We ran all 4x4s at top speed, no compromise. We had a brand new bt50, ranger and four luxes including a new model. Sorry, no navaras. It was like a top gear torture test. The mazda and the ranger were way ahead. Hiluxes lagged behind cause of lack of speed. I did several jumps etc. Went to mileage mack yesterday to check alignment. Not only was I in the tolerence zone, I was dead on, needed no alignment whatsoever. I have never changed a single suspension part and apparantly never will, since everything was in tact. Even my brake lining is halfway done, and that has never been changed.
So we need to get a navara on that course.
x2floor wrote:the best commercial use hard core mud/brick/cement/construction/plant/govt approved pickup on the market is the mazda bt-50 thats why its a best seller. if yuh want fake leather seats, fake wood trim, automatic tranny and accustomed to a corolla or any other toyota product your natural choice should be a hilux. they're perfect for pricesmart, movietowne, liming on the avenue and heading to the airport to pickup yuh in-laws suitcases.....oh if yuh into more lights than a boeing 777 aircraft then the hilux is a go go cause them bling bling models with more crome than a steel pan coupled with them added on accessories makes more noise than farmer brown's datsun 120y in carlsen field.
the l200 jus ugly.......it funny like learie joseph and get its looks from beaula (sry 4 spelling), the curved tray and upside down grille doh cut it for me and the interior is small like a D22 Frontier which is even past mess.
wrt power.......the navarra is the most powerful then the ranger/bt-50. least powerful is the l200 2.5 and even if yuh bring the 3.2 it still cyar touch the 3.0 DOHC 16V Duratorq TDCi monster in the ranger/bt-50 worse yet the new 2.5 in the navara uses CRDi and a VGT.
now in terms of interior the top 2 is the hilux and l200. hilux will take the win then the navara in 3rd. the ranger/bt-50 is last and the isuzu d-max/chevy colorado jus too shitty to be included in anything here.
now speaking of shitty, the shitty thing about this whole situation is that i drove a 2.7 vvt-i fully loaded hilux and i say damn boy it felt just like the fortuner...the thing doh feel like a body on frame vehicle at all, heck a new SGV cyar even come close. im sold.
RichieRich wrote:VII wrote:TRDcorolla wrote:wtf you trying to mis quote me for. .u think I'm one of the just come arses ah wah. .bin there owned the best and still do!!!(not talking bout the Navara here!!)well how the fk to state it again?. .so in your little mind you're trying to say that I meant that the evo shitty too rite. .this place is gettin more and pathetic. . .
bwdmc u take bait and get all emo
yeh rite. . .'bait' how convenient. .watever boss. . .this place has become so fake its not funny. .
VII yuh doh hadda prove anything to some ppl here, most of them driving 1 car and have a loan on it so to them that brand is the best.
Strauss wrote:Reminds me I forgot to fill diesel this morning.
But people.. what about using a pickup for what it supposed to be used for? To me, all the new pickups are all about bling and lack it where it matters the most... off-road.
I guess if you want something to beat up (e.g. give security guards, WASA, Forestry etc to drive), then it's a Navara. If you want something with a little class and finesse, it's the Hilux or Sportero.
crossdrilled wrote:I decided on a pickup for the following reasons:
1) Fuel cost of diesel
2) Maintainance cost of a pickup should be less than that of a car as it is a more rugged vehicle, and I will not be roughing it up that much
3) I looking for a fairly cheap vehicle, and I think that compared to a small sedan, a pickup is bettter value for money
4) With the way people driving on the road nowdays, I rather be in a tank with a good set of old iron bars protecting me and my family.
5) Should come out better in a head on collision with a passenger car.
6) I don't drive that fast anymore, so speed/ high speed handling is a non issue for me.
7) If you see my car you will understand that I don't need something refined.
Those are my priorities and what I want a pickup for. But again, anyone on the direct Turbo issue?