paint fumes

steffali

paint fumes

Postby steffali » August 19th, 2008, 10:36 pm

whats the risk of staying in an office with high paint fumes? any osha acts?

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » August 19th, 2008, 10:42 pm

Unless its a confined space no, shut off the ac , open up some windows , and take frequent breaks outof the room .

steffali

Postby steffali » August 19th, 2008, 10:44 pm

thing is, without the ac, the office is extremely hot, the chief didnt want us to keep the door open, cuz we had to use a brick to hold it open and he didnt like how it looked, we have no vents or windows... apart from taking frequent breaks from the office, i took a sick day, but i wanted to know if there's any osha acts regarding this

Postby UML » August 19th, 2008, 10:45 pm

more or less dizziness, nausea, headaches, etc.

......once it properly ventillated u shud be good tuh go.

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » August 19th, 2008, 10:54 pm

steffali wrote:thing is, without the ac, the office is extremely hot, the chief didnt want us to keep the door open, cuz we had to use a brick to hold it open and he didnt like how it looked, we have no vents or windows... apart from taking frequent breaks from the office, i took a sick day, but i wanted to know if there's any osha acts regarding this

Boss suppose to use some common sense firstly and assess the situation , if it don't have vent's etc paint on a weekend when no one is around to occupy the office . Clearly they haven't done tht , so most you can do is demand that he keep the door open and let you all take freq breaks,and provide water , medicine and stuff like tht . Once you're getting dizzy , hit the doctor and write up u're NIS coz u got sick in the office because of the office environment . So expenses comes out the bosses pocket.

It have labour law's ,you can prob check , dont' think osha act has this I might be wrong coz I never read osh act , i'm working on british reg's off the top of my head . Hope it helps

Postby MG Man » August 19th, 2008, 11:25 pm

^^^^so basically you have said nothing

The OSH act applies to employers with 11 or more workers...assuming that applies to you,
being in an enclosed space is a direct contradiction to the warnings on most paint products, ie use in a well ventilated area
you can call the OSH hotline and lodge a complaint
you can refuse to work if you believe your health is at risk

Postby crazybalhead » August 20th, 2008, 8:42 am

MG Man wrote:^^^^so basically you have said nothing

The OSH act applies to employers with 11 or more workers...assuming that applies to you,
being in an enclosed space is a direct contradiction to the warnings on most paint products, ie use in a well ventilated area
you can call the OSH hotline and lodge a complaint
you can refuse to work if you believe your health is at risk

yes dread, a common disease here. :lol:

Postby Team Loco » August 20th, 2008, 8:55 am

yup, i see rbtt employees know about this. the pointe-a-pierre branch is frequently closed due to fumes (gas fumes)

sufferrar

Postby sufferrar » August 20th, 2008, 10:34 am

Jus drop on the ground, roll around and then start to beat up like a fish . Then start to spit and you go see how fast they will open the windows and door....

Postby De Dragon » August 20th, 2008, 11:19 am

And wit' your schnoz,you prolly inhaling two three times de fumes ah de rest ah dem!

Postby wagonrunner » August 20th, 2008, 11:50 am

De Dragon wrote:And wit' your schnoz,you prolly inhaling two three times de fumes ah de rest ah dem!

Postby Greypatch » August 20th, 2008, 11:53 am

lawdd

cornfused

Postby cornfused » August 20th, 2008, 12:56 pm

should have used Behr/expressions , benjamin moore, or sherwin williams and those issue would have been mostly avoided

Postby honda hoe » August 20th, 2008, 12:59 pm

De Dragon wrote:And wit' your schnoz,you prolly inhaling two three times de fumes ah de rest ah dem!

oh fack :lol: :lol:

Postby AllTrac » August 20th, 2008, 1:30 pm

how val going gyal, like he fall orf de planet?