HELP NEEDED - MITSUBISHI LANCER HORN REPAIRS

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

JC ELLIS

HELP NEEDED - MITSUBISHI LANCER HORN REPAIRS

Postby JC ELLIS » August 17th, 2008, 4:35 pm

Hi All,

I have a fully loaded Mitsubishi Lancer that was purchased from Diamond Motors in 2005. The horn started sticking a week ago on my way to work and went off constantly on my way to work until I disconnected the fuse. Carried it to an Auto Electrician who checked it an said the problem is in the steering wheel, and it's possible that the spring inside is damaged.

Do you know where I can get this fixed, as I am concerned that the air bag system and horn is located in the steering wheel?

What precautions are taken to ensure that the air bags are not deployed while horn is being fixed?

idlemind

Postby idlemind » August 17th, 2008, 4:48 pm

As i was saying...

HA!

i have the same problem
Electrician doesnt want to interfere bcuz of the same Air Bag system

I was told if i am ever serious in fixing to disconnect the battery before doing anything.

Good Luck

I jus ran a bypass switch to the kick panel(foot rest) for my left foot
so i mash for horn :D

...venum stay quiet respond to JC

btw i was jus thinkin to change the steering wheel all together
but let me know if u get any head way with repairing this

its a lil pain to tell everyone driving my car that the horn is a switch to mash

JC ELLIS

Postby JC ELLIS » August 17th, 2008, 6:02 pm

You have me rolling with laughter. So you have a "clutch" horn then..LOL..but thanks for the advice.

It reminded me of when I had a car before that had an alarm system but no remote so whenever the alarm went off, or I needed to disarm the car, I had to run inside the car, put the ignition switch to the on position, then take off another switch for the alarm to go stop.

Actually, the electrician told me that an airbag blew up on him already, but there is a way to isolate the airbags while doing the repairs.

I am hoping I could get an experienced person to do it for me. I understand the Bamboo should have the parts.

How come you did not put that switch on the dash board?

idlemind

Postby idlemind » August 17th, 2008, 6:14 pm

Simple, i did not want to obscure the surface of the dash :)
But its cool in a way, i get accustomed and its good for when u need both hands on the wheel, i jus mash.

My Electrician also told me that an air bag deployed on him already so he stayin clear from fixing it.

But what did DM say about this? Your car local couldnt someone inhouse look at it?
Or advise on a way to isolate? All i know is to disconnect the battery...it make sense

But..

The SRS system is finicky, if its interfered in anyhow the SRS light on the dash will light up and stay on

JC ELLIS

Postby JC ELLIS » August 17th, 2008, 6:38 pm

A friend of mine has a partner who works in Diamond Motors so I want to make a contact there, but knowing them by the time they finish with me, I might have to sell the windscreen to pay them.

There is a way to isolate the airbag(he discovered that after one blew on him). I have also been reading different post on the internet and they said these things require an experience professional since the air bags contain a mixture of gases.

So I hope that I would get it checked out. Who would have thought that a problem like that would have been such a problem?

idlemind

Postby idlemind » August 17th, 2008, 6:49 pm

see pallie das why i aint even bother and stay humble with my lil fix

but it have plenty CS men here so lets hope they can help us out
but honestly if i get a steering wheel cheap on eBay i would buy

then again how good will that SRS be??

venum

Postby venum » August 17th, 2008, 8:07 pm

idlemind wrote:I jus ran a bypass switch to the kick panel(foot rest) for my left foot
so i mash for horn :D

...venum stay quiet respond to JC

you make things too easy . . .

teh air bag can be isolated

fuse needs to be disconnected, battery connection removed and for safety unplug teh crash sensors - this may involve removing the front bumper

teh steering needs to be removed carefully as well

I was by teh mech 2 weekends ago and seen a steering removed

if you buy another steering it should work once teh airbag not deployed

more than likely this is your option

if you remove teh horn and have to change the spring, where u getting one :?: mitsu spring from CK lancer may work

you may be able to get one from a blown steering

JC car under warranty still :?: if it is use that option

idlemind

Postby idlemind » August 17th, 2008, 8:13 pm

3 feet ah speaker wire and a maxi buzzer switch

JC ELLIS

Postby JC ELLIS » August 17th, 2008, 8:54 pm

Venum, I already check out Diamond Motors, but they say that is not covered under the warranty. And yes, I agree that the airbag can be isolated, however you know there are mechanics, and there are "mechanics", so that is my major concern. I aint want my airbag deploying when I don't need it.

Idle, I am sure if you get the correct part number then you can have the steering flown in, if you have to change it. I was on some sites today checking out different stuff. This one http://shop.autopartsfair.com/store/?N=1676+4294967004 is a good one because they seem to have a wide range.

And guys, you know my battery has decided to call it a day. It's the original one that has been in the car for almost three years so I need to get one. Any ideas on a good one?..The original one has no name on it and everything written in Japanese.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » August 17th, 2008, 10:52 pm

Jap batt on a Local?

I went good ole Automotive Components for 13 plate Turbo 2000

Cant knock them local fellas once you maintain ur warranty, any issues you have they will change free of charge

venum

Postby venum » August 18th, 2008, 3:14 am

JC ELLIS i know what yuh mean bout those mechs

my philosophy is to avoid them fellas and spend the $ where i knwo I getting good quality

served me well so far, 1 CK Lancer 2 CS3 Lancers and a K74T L200 8-)

why fly in a steering :?:

yuh cud get good ones locally from teh FU guys

if yuh see them remove it, yuh fine

you may end up buying an entire steering column to get it though.

call teh Mitsu man Bella 682-7179

as for battery - AC DELCO

ROCKET SMF - I have one of these on my CK2 3+ years now

Track

JC ELLIS

Postby JC ELLIS » August 18th, 2008, 3:47 pm

Thanks man, but like allyuh fellas don't sleep. I getting technical help round the clock. You all could teach some of these business places a lesson or two

idlemind

Postby idlemind » August 18th, 2008, 4:34 pm

all that rough ride in the Animal have him restless at night

btw save Bella number and let me kno whats the cost for a steering if u considering

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » August 18th, 2008, 4:38 pm

most times abs wires are in a yellow bright colored loom .. thats the one to stay away from and u will be good to go

its fairly easy to work around it
good idea is to have a pry tool handy ..

venum

Postby venum » August 18th, 2008, 7:53 pm

MonsterPower said it right

yellow bright colored loom - those are Airbag

idlemind no Animal these days, Elle in the garage for some major maintenance

i buying gas jus like teh rest of allyuh

meh first baby - CK2

idlemind

Postby idlemind » August 18th, 2008, 8:01 pm

yep yellow wire once u pull out the cap on the underside of the steering wheel.

but fellas seriously it must have someone to fix this spring coz it cant be jus JC and mine gone bad

MonsterPower i think the fear of prying is the issue.

Shawn about dem crash sensors.
i think dey all over the car no?

manual have diagrams for side impact too

venum

Postby venum » August 19th, 2008, 12:50 am

Idle

I only know about teh front impact sensors

side impact is usually for vehicles with side airbags

but it would not be strange if there are side impact sensors to activate the front airbags in teh event of a side impact

I never saw the front impact sensors as they covered up really well with teh fender and bumper stone shields and the front engine stone shield

I saw them on teh Animal, as they not as covered up - front only

why fix teh spring, cost less to just change teh steering

i think that it is a clip that breaks inside teh steering

just make sure that when teh steering is changed\replaced teh contact ring on teh steering makes contact with the one on teh column

rishi_j

Postby rishi_j » August 19th, 2008, 5:49 am

JC ELLIS, if i was u... i woulda try to take off the steering wheel myself.. so if the airbag deployed.. i wouldnt hav reason to be vex wit anybody else...

and taking out the steering wheel shouldnt be that difficult... There shud be 2 holes or sumtin to the back of the steering where there wud be either a screw or a clip or sumtin.. and then the air bag can be removed

JC ELLIS

Postby JC ELLIS » August 19th, 2008, 11:06 am

I will pretend that I didn't hear that advice from the man with the EVO 7. I aint no car mechanic, that's why I am looking for a good one.

VENUM, where BELLA located?

bOOsTmaN

Postby bOOsTmaN » August 19th, 2008, 2:19 pm

idlemind, you does mash for ur horn... LMFAO :lol:

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » August 19th, 2008, 2:26 pm

i will try to post up the steering removal from the manual tonight if i get time, the sensors are located in the front section of the chasie ... an fellas you know airbags dont deploy under 20km right so the guy so say it blow up on him :lol: :lol:

JC ELLIS

Postby JC ELLIS » August 19th, 2008, 5:29 pm

Guys, I check Diamond Motors and they telling me how that may be covered under the warranty but they not sure. I would have to bring in the car and then they check, and the Service Manager would decide if it is covered under warranty, so I am praying.

Btw I had removed the horn fuse for the noise to stop. Is that OK or should I disconnect the horn wire?

rishi_j

Postby rishi_j » August 19th, 2008, 7:17 pm

bella located in cacandee road felicity...

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » August 19th, 2008, 7:27 pm

ok as promised this is the chapters from the service manual for download

srs system

http://rapidshare.com/files/138612260/s ... m.pdf.html

steering system

http://rapidshare.com/files/138612738/s ... l.pdf.html

go forth and remove steering, :mrgreen: idle

idlemind

Postby idlemind » August 20th, 2008, 10:24 pm

:D thanks SHO

disassembly looks simple enough

will give it a try when i get some time.

boostman yuh laughing...il post a pic tomoro :lol:

idlemind

Postby idlemind » August 22nd, 2008, 4:09 pm

Haterz... 0X

JC ELLIS

Postby JC ELLIS » August 22nd, 2008, 5:34 pm

That's original man. Just now you may put the accelerator on the steering wheel???

idlemind

Postby idlemind » August 22nd, 2008, 7:48 pm

^Continue shouting out the window, il mash my horn :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

bOOsTmaN

Postby bOOsTmaN » August 22nd, 2008, 8:04 pm

i didnt think u was Really serious nah lmao.. nice concept tho..

whats next?? driving ur car from a playstation remote?? thas the rel sceeen lol

JC ELLIS

Postby JC ELLIS » August 22nd, 2008, 10:46 pm

Nah, I aint have to shout outside the window.After seeing that, I think I have a new idea. My car has a sun roof, so I will get one of those horns that the SNOWCONE man has and put it on top of the car. Whenever I need horn, I will just slide back the roof and squeeze :)

By the way IDLE, what would you do if your little toe sick? :D

Return to “MITSUBISHI”