Noisy hydraulic tappets & Mitsu related *hiccups*

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Postby *KRONIK* » June 26th, 2008, 3:11 pm

^^^^^^^
:( :( :(

MitsuMan

Avoiding Hydraulic Lifter Noise

Postby MitsuMan » July 2nd, 2008, 1:04 pm

Guys I need to change my Oil & Filter to the Shell 15-50 and the Sakura that was recommended. But I can't find the SAKURA selling anywhere!

Please help!

Postby *KRONIK* » July 2nd, 2008, 2:16 pm

W2J have OEM mitsu filters sellin for 60dolla

buy dat instead

is bout 25 dolla more dan a sakura

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 3rd, 2008, 12:11 am

glad yuh got through MitsuMan,

MitsuMan

Postby MitsuMan » July 3rd, 2008, 10:20 pm

Yeah, thanks Guys. :)

I learnt quite a bit from the Manual which I downloade from the website that was offered on a previous thread. However what I found to be missing was what I needed most of all... the Wiring diagram for the system.. 4G15 & Tx.

Could anyone assist with finding that??
I saw another site offered for Manuals, but you have to pay 10Lbs. (which I don't mind) but it covers the Colt 4G1 -9 series from '96-'02. I don't feel that it is what I'm looking for.

sharKKmaN

Postby sharKKmaN » July 12th, 2008, 8:14 pm

wuh about ah haf cut wit engine and tranny.... ah man from master serve tell meh dat dem ting come wit transfer case an ting an is just to disconnect d central diff :?

Postby *KRONIK* » July 13th, 2008, 9:39 am

sharKKmaN wrote:wuh about ah haf cut wit engine and tranny.... ah man from master serve tell meh dat dem ting come wit transfer case an ting an is just to disconnect d central diff :?

:?: :?: :?: :?:

Lurus04

Postby Lurus04 » July 13th, 2008, 11:13 am

Hi Guys,

I just had to read all the comments posted here before posting my own. I am from St.Lucia and have a pajero V6 3500cc 6G74 engine. I am experiencing this ticking sound from the engine and themechanic says its the lifters/tappets that may be stuck. I am looking at removing the front end of the engine tomorrow to change the timing belt and will use the time to 'unstick' these lifters. I am no mechanic but I totally enjoy being there and seeing the mechanic at work when changing the parts on my engine. I was using 10w-30 fully synthetic oil on my vehicle. Do you think I need to put a higher grade of oil in my engine? Please advise.

I am also concerned about the oil pump. How would you know if it is working well? I am asking this because I wouldn't want to lose a whole engine when there is something I can do to avoid it, after reading that 6G74 engines are prone to engine shutdown.

sharKKmaN

Postby sharKKmaN » July 13th, 2008, 8:41 pm

wuh ah want t know kronik is if it cud work like dat oh and about the lifters mine does make noise wen d oil hadda change i use 20w50 wit d qmi engine treatment but once i used castrol high mileage 25w60 and they didnt make any noise even on start up :P

xtech

Postby xtech » July 13th, 2008, 8:49 pm

with engine restorer dey dont make a noise ever.............. even when oil change is needed :P

Postby *KRONIK* » July 14th, 2008, 10:53 pm

sharKKmaN, hmm from all ah we experience the grade of oil u use the brand...... the OIL FILTER and the treatment all come together to give a quiet engine....

the restore combined with the Semi synthetic shell oil (blue bottle) and a OEM (mitsubishi) should give u a very quiet runnin engine...

xtech, daz not true.... cuz a lot of ppl who used restore usually have to add a can at every other oil change.. cuz the lifter noise usually comes back...... if u add one can and the noise gone away i rel glad 4 u..... (wish mine woulda do dat)

Lurus04, i cant really answer any of ur questions.......... so u should post ur concerns in a new thread and let the more experienced persons guide u accordingly

xtech

Postby xtech » July 15th, 2008, 7:43 am

i said when oil change is needed............. not after you change yuh oil after u change d noise almost always returns......... read between the lines :D

engine restorer doesn't work when yuh lifters damaged by the way........ when u still hear d noise after adding a can yuh need to replace them lifters or clean them out

an yeah my noise went away......after only one can of restorer

u see i had knocking noise in the engine i brought the car with (mech say it sounded like a bearing bad) so i replaced it with a Jap Used GDI

dat is like buying a new engine cause in Jap it using right gas and oil so it has little or no sludge or carbon build up

Postby *KRONIK* » July 15th, 2008, 10:02 pm

word up

.... my noise is very slight....... and the noise really does come around wen the oil needs to be changed....

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » July 16th, 2008, 9:46 am

xtech wrote:...i replaced it with a Jap Used GDI... dat is like buying a new engine cause in Jap
it using right gas and oil so it has little or no sludge or carbon build up

it has little or no sludge or carbon build up... Ahmm, I wouldn't bet money on that if I were you.

xtech

Postby xtech » July 16th, 2008, 11:07 am

Sanctifier wrote:
xtech wrote:...i replaced it with a Jap Used GDI... dat is like buying a new engine cause in Jap
it using right gas and oil so it has little or no sludge or carbon build up

it has little or no sludge or carbon build up... Ahmm, I wouldn't bet money on that if I were you.

hmmmmmmm.............

Well the original engine was about 10 years old an it drove for 6 years of that on our shitty crappy low octane lead n sulfur loaded gas.

Versus 10 year old jap used engine which ran on 100 octane no lead low sulfur gas for 10 years.

These motors where never meant for export.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » July 16th, 2008, 12:06 pm

xtech wrote:...10 year old jap used engine which ran on 100 octane no lead low sulfur gas for 10 years...

IMHO no way of verifying that. JDM sells lower octane gas too.
BTW 100 octane in JDM is not equal to 100 octane in US or to 100 octane in UK.
AFAIK different rating standards apply in each case.

My $0.02¢

Postby *KRONIK* » July 16th, 2008, 1:39 pm

Sanctifier wrote:
100 octane in JDM is not equal to 100 octane in US or to 100 octane in UK.

different rating standards apply in each case.

Postby *KRONIK* » September 1st, 2008, 10:16 pm

rite so i change oil

stop using restore due to bad reviews

and now dem thing getsin down like ah lavantille riddim section

i used the blue bottle shell 15w50 with OEM filter (failed minserably)
the car get loud and ticky and was losing power

castrol 10W30 with a QMI treatment (power loss was gone but the noise is still there ticking)

should i just go ahead and change my whole head or repair the lifters/ change dem

was the situation wid dat...

Postby ~Vēġó~ » September 2nd, 2008, 11:48 pm

should i just go ahead and change my whole head or repair the lifters/ change dem

I feel so.....once the price looking decent enough.

Postby *KRONIK* » September 3rd, 2008, 8:12 am

word

sharKKmaN

Postby sharKKmaN » September 3rd, 2008, 8:15 am

u actually tried that blue bottle sh!t... ah man chain me up wit dat an d same ting happened... but d royal purple workin... d noise is temp wit d 20w50...

Postby *KRONIK* » September 3rd, 2008, 8:29 am

sharKKmaN wrote:u actually tried that blue bottle sh!t... ah man chain me up wit dat an d same ting happened... but d royal purple workin... d noise is temp wit d 20w50...

i rell sorry i used the shell......
biggest mistake of my life....
now it cost me an whole emgine head.....
or 16 lifters......

i using castrol now

may try the royal purple at next oil change

sharKKmaN

Postby sharKKmaN » September 3rd, 2008, 8:47 am

wey u get d lifters t buy????

Postby *KRONIK* » September 3rd, 2008, 5:07 pm

me eh know

if the restore doh work next time ill see to change dem or the head....

Postby ~Vēġó~ » September 4th, 2008, 11:11 pm

wow bad reviews for the blue bottle........maybe your lifters were too far gone???? I dunno.........but then again I started using restore when it seemed the blue was not keeping them quiet all the time.....

Postby *KRONIK* » September 5th, 2008, 4:15 pm

the thing is the castrol worked best for me with a purolator filter....

i just tried the shell and OEM filter to see if it would completely quiet it but it actually made it worse.......

i used a QMI engine treatment with a 10w30 as was recommended by a mechanic and i ran the car hard (i mean rell hard) and the noise actually is similar to when the oil ready to change)

wen my 2000km for the qmi is done is Restore and Castrol syntec FTW

if dat eh wuk
den is either a new head or new lifters :cry:

sharKKmaN

Postby sharKKmaN » September 7th, 2008, 8:46 am

well its time t change oil.... if i didnt wanted t know..dem f--kin lifters lettin me know... buh i tinkin about d 5w50 mobil1 or d 15w50 royal purple

d qmi still hv about 2000km.... kronik yuh go tell meh how d castrol work

oh yes and d oil filter... sum say tht d k&n oil filtr eh need t change not until d oil change after this one... sum pro advice wud greatly b appreciated :|

Postby *KRONIK* » September 7th, 2008, 11:23 am

hear wat

i find the 10w30 castrol workin good with the qmi

the lifter noise is there but not very noticable, also if u leave it idling when parked the noise actually dissappears completely an comes back :shock:

one thing i noticed though is dat the castrol works better when warm (as in let ur car idle on a mornin for a few minutes)

rite now i goin back to the Castrol syntec (black bottle 50body) with a purolator filter and a restore
if mih engine mash up........ well............ small ting.........

doh waste ur money on dem other filter cuz the purolator actually working good

my experience witht he MObil1 was good but at 4500-4800KM the lifter noise come back, i eh try the royal purple yet

DISCALIMER: these incidents were noticed from my experience and results may vary....

stang

Postby stang » September 8th, 2008, 9:37 am

doh waste ur money on dem other filter cuz the purolator actually working good

Which purolator oil filter you would use on a 2000cc GDI Galant?

sharKKmaN

Postby sharKKmaN » September 8th, 2008, 9:42 am

well ah tried d k&n cuz iz a big name.... used t use fram... but honestly i dont know which purlator wud fit my 2.0l local sharKKy... :roll:

Return to “MITSUBISHI”