The TriniTuner 2008 F1 Season Thread

Postby MG Man » August 24th, 2008, 10:12 pm

waiting for Banzai to account for how Hammy could not find 8 seconds :lol:

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » August 25th, 2008, 9:15 am

intresting race..... Massa shine its a while he did not impress me... plus he cah tell yellow from green ...

i was unable to tell my 63 was mucking up but did McLaren follow Ferrari and remove the wheel fairings?.... to aid in brake cooling

Postby MG Man » August 26th, 2008, 6:37 am

Banzai mysteriously quiet

Postby Maserati » September 5th, 2008, 3:13 pm

Felipe Massa and Fernando Alonso topped the timesheets in Friday's dual practice sessions ahead of the Belgian Grand Prix in Spa.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/motorsp ... 599854.stm

Postby Maserati » September 6th, 2008, 10:16 am

Lewis Hamilton edged out main title rival Felipe Massa in the dying seconds of qualifying to capture pole position for Sunday's Belgian Grand Prix.

Grid positions for the Belgian Grand Prix in Spa-Francorchamps:

1. Lewis Hamilton (GB) McLaren-Mercedes 1 min 47.338 secs

2. Felipe Massa (Brz) Ferrari 1:47.678

3. Heikki Kovalainen (Fin) McLaren-Mercedes 1:47.815

4. Kimi Raikkonen (Fin) Ferrari 1:47.992

5. Nick Heidfeld (Ger) BMW Sauber 1:48.315

6. Fernando Alonso (Spn) Renault 1:48.504

7. Mark Webber (Aus) Red Bull-Renault 1:48.736

8. Robert Kubica (Pol) BMW Sauber 1:48.763

9. Sebastien Bourdais (Fra) Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1:48.951

10. Sebastian Vettel (Ger) Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1:50.319

11. Jarno Trulli (Ita) Toyota 1:46.949

12. Nelson Piquet (Brz) Renault 1:46.965

13. Timo Glock (Ger) Toyota 1:46.995

14. David Coulthard (GB) Red Bull-Renault 1:47.018

15. Nico Rosberg (Ger) Williams-Toyota 1:47.429

16. Rubens Barrichello (Brz) Honda 1:48.153

17. Jenson Button (GB) Honda 1:48.211

18. Adrian Sutil (Ger) Force India-Ferrari 1:48.226

19. Kazuki Nakajima (Jpn) Williams-Toyota 1:48.268

20. Giancarlo Fisichella (Ita) Force India-Ferrari 1:48.447

Richard

Postby Richard » September 6th, 2008, 12:49 pm

Rain or Kablamo

Very exciting and strategic race ahead

MASSA, Massa, massa

Postby Monk BANzai » September 6th, 2008, 7:32 pm

^^^ hmmmm will make for some interesting racing.....

Postby Maserati » September 6th, 2008, 7:38 pm

think kimmi won here last 3 years

Postby Maserati » September 7th, 2008, 9:36 am

man what a race..kimmi got by Hamilton on the second lap due to Hamilton spinning and losing some ground...he led till the last few laps when some rain came down and all hell broke loose..hamilton passed him then they were both struggling to cope with the conditions finally kimmi just spun off and smashed into a wall.
really sucks to be him

Massa second

Postby Monk BANzai » September 7th, 2008, 11:56 am

^^heheheehheheeeee......WHER IS MG MAN NOW!! WH ODOMINATED IN THE WET?....EH?

even...

but in the end.......

good race tho....Kovalien jsut not supporting Hammie when he needs it as opposed to Massa....who was right there in the evnt that Hammie spun off...

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » September 7th, 2008, 1:06 pm

^You do know that was illegal right?
And yes, the stewards have dealt with it as such..he was stripped of his win and demoted to third...

The man again showed his immaturity and lack of experience...when you cut the track you're supposed to give up your position completely, not stay alongside, then cut behind the man to take the draft and push yourself down the inside...Kimi's front wing got a big of a hit when Hammie forced his way then braked hard, so you can be pretty sure that's waht caused him to spin twice after, the second time taking him out of his race...

As for dominated in the wet...better question...who dominated in the dry? Both teams had different setups, one stayed for a complete dry and the intermediate, so at the end of the race it showed...

Postby Monk BANzai » September 7th, 2008, 1:51 pm

worksux101 wrote:^You do know that was illegal right?
And yes, the stewards have dealt with it as such..he was stripped of his win and demoted to third...

The man again showed his immaturity and lack of experience...when you cut the track you're supposed to give up your position completely, not stay alongside, then cut behind the man to take the draft and push yourself down the inside...Kimi's front wing got a big of a hit when Hammie forced his way then braked hard, so you can be pretty sure that's waht caused him to spin twice after, the second time taking him out of his race...

As for dominated in the wet...better question...who dominated in the dry? Both teams had different setups, one stayed for a complete dry and the intermediate, so at the end of the race it showed...

i not talking bout dry....nd as for FIA..my postion stil lstands that the sport is ruled by too many regulations....but thias just me...i made the same stink last yr when they ruleld aginst Alonso in soem key areas....as for th wet dominace..i still say that apart from Senna, and may be Nigel Mansell, i have not seen another driver do so well in the wet.

IMHO..a race is a race..its not done so in BTCC and the German Touring...yuh run and yuh win...if a man bump yuh off in th process...HOLD YUH CORNER!!!!.......heheheehhe.....but gotta agree with MG on this one....F1 is so regualted now they wont know if a sheit fart hit them...

not lashin out at yu eh Peds.....i still say Hammie win...inexperience or not...and ah really kinda tired of this "inexperience" talk when the man make a mistake...thats the only way he will gain experience...by doing stuff like hat.....again Senna and even "boo hoo" Schumi were nasty and very competiive drivers ...with Prost at one time REFUSING to talk to Senna after races becua of Senna's driving tactics......let the boy/man leanr he way nah?...

steups....now ah hadda go and type a SMS text to MG MAN asking fuh forgiveness......lol

Postby Maserati » September 7th, 2008, 3:28 pm

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » September 7th, 2008, 3:36 pm

i not talking bout dry

Then you may as well not talk about wet...one doesn't go without the other in a race like that...if you have a wet setup, then obviously you will seem like a better driver vs other drivers whose cars have dry track setups...

as for th wet dominace..i still say that apart from Senna, and may be Nigel Mansell, i have not seen another driver do so well in the wet.

Go check back a few years...Hockenheim i think it was but may be wrong...go see what barrichello did to win the race...he ran the last few laps in the soaking rain on DRY tires and still whooped the field, without having that significant of a lead going into those last few laps when the others made their stops...Schummi and JPM were also excellent in the rain...hammi hasn't rely done that much or been in enough wet conditions to really be dominant..esp with what he did today...
Yes it does come down to inexperience, but as you said he will only be better for it and years to come will only improve from his mistakes, which is ultimately what we'd want for him to be able to fulfil his potential fully and be as good as everyone knows he can be...

djaggs

Postby djaggs » September 7th, 2008, 3:42 pm

I think it was a little harsh, but when I saw it I expected him to be penalised. Kimi had the advantage going into the turn, he had the right line, Hamilton was off line and tried to barge his way thru. I still love the little guy though.

As for Kimi, I still say Alonso is a better driver and should have the second Ferrari, I said in the beginning of the season that Massa would be the driver to watch, and I still think he could win the championship.

YAAAYYYY FELIPE !!!!!!! :D :D :D

Postby Maserati » September 7th, 2008, 3:59 pm

dunno what to say bout kimmi's future.

but 2 horse race massa n hammy

djaggs

Postby djaggs » September 7th, 2008, 8:17 pm

TREX

Postby TREX » September 8th, 2008, 8:26 am

djaggs wrote:I think it was a little harsh, but when I saw it I expected him to be penalised. Kimi had the advantage going into the turn, he had the right line, Hamilton was off line and tried to barge his way thru. I still love the little guy though.

As for Kimi, I still say Alonso is a better driver and should have the second Ferrari, I said in the beginning of the season that Massa would be the driver to watch, and I still think he could win the championship.

YAAAYYYY FELIPE !!!!!!! :D :D :D

Well said but I too believe that that penalty was too harsh, the sport needs some aggressive driving and 2 men fight for the lead on the 2nd to last lap, well it don't get better than that.

Postby Maserati » September 8th, 2008, 12:08 pm

true that I enjoyed that battle at the end

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/TzKMyFCaZy0&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/70rXr2Mkq_M&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

Postby Maserati » September 8th, 2008, 12:22 pm

love this shot going up the hill.

well then

if he only knew what was to come a few minutes later

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » September 8th, 2008, 4:29 pm

^Funny that hey mention Raikonnen pushing hamilton wide in the last turn...reaosn being hamilton did that TWICE to massa in the same race...once massa couldve kept on the power and been side by side with him by simply riding along the edge of the track, but didn't because he obviously went 'out of bounds' and chose to settle in his position behind hamilton...

When you cut the track, regardless of the circumstances...(and no you cant say its the only way because if he really wanted he could go on the brakes harder and slot back behind raikkonen) you're supposed to give up your position and ensure that no advantage whatsoever is gained...noone in their right mind can say no advantage was gained simply because if he slowed down and went behind raikonnen, he would never have had the momentum to even attempt the second pass...surely he wouldve gotten it later on as his car was setup for those conditions contrary to kimi's...
At the end of the day, it's simple...you're supposed to relinquish the same or more track space that would have been present had you not cut the track and stay behind the car...hamilton did not do that as he always stayed either alongsde or kimi or for a split second directly behind...he shouldve given up, as ALL race drivers do continuously, at least a car length or two in the next corner...when last has anyone recieved a similar penalty for something like this? Its common courtesy...but again hoepfuly the experience would help the guy learn...

Postby Maserati » September 8th, 2008, 4:41 pm

yup in the end going to make for an exciting Monza next weekend :twisted:

Postby Monk BANzai » September 8th, 2008, 8:24 pm

worksux101 wrote:^Funny that hey mention Raikonnen pushing hamilton wide in the last turn...reaosn being hamilton did that TWICE to massa in the same race...once massa couldve kept on the power and been side by side with him by simply riding along the edge of the track, but didn't because he obviously went 'out of bounds' and chose to settle in his position behind hamilton...

When you cut the track, regardless of the circumstances...(and no you cant say its the only way because if he really wanted he could go on the brakes harder and slot back behind raikkonen) you're supposed to give up your position and ensure that no advantage whatsoever is gained...noone in their right mind can say no advantage was gained simply because if he slowed down and went behind raikonnen, he would never have had the momentum to even attempt the second pass...surely he wouldve gotten it later on as his car was setup for those conditions contrary to kimi's...
At the end of the day, it's simple...you're supposed to relinquish the same or more track space that would have been present had you not cut the track and stay behind the car...hamilton did not do that as he always stayed either alongsde or kimi or for a split second directly behind...he shouldve given up, as ALL race drivers do continuously, at least a car length or two in the next corner...when last has anyone recieved a similar penalty for something like this? Its common courtesy...but again hoepfuly the experience would help the guy learn...

in retrospect...yuh right.....buh apar from Hamie ..i find F1 utterly boring......thais why i like the kid....his brazen guts......hahahaaha im sure when he wlks past the Prancing horsie's garage after a race....he's liek "WHUT!!! HUH?!?!?! WHUT!!!"...

Kimi and Filippe...are so "By the book" boring.....sigh.....but Hammie now....yeah....i like how he breaks the rules...makes the sport interesting....reminds my of Senna's FIRST F1 run in Monaco...when he almost caught Piquet if it wasnt for officials calling off the race due to rain.....Senna was BLAZING in the wet!!....>Hammie is the same thing....HE loves the wet!!!...another Brit....Mr. Hunte (RIP)...that man usedto give NIkki Lauda and dem BEAMS back in the day!! .....Nigel Mansell giving Prost and Senna real pressure...the brits (once they have the right car) are excellent drivers.....another great F1 legend....if only he ans chumi cua face off...

Aprt from them...>Montoya was my great hope back in th day to quell Schumi ( ireally dont like Ferrari....sorry...great cars ..but something....maybe TIff is a fan thats why...lol) but hen he got fustrated with his car and left the game.....but Montoya...wud LOVE to see Montoya/Hammie/Alonso fight......ahhhhhhhh (rubs nipples)

Hammie has thrown the "big boys club" book down the toilet...and Frank WIlliams loves him for it.

well boy PEds..on to the next race eh....

Postby Maserati » September 8th, 2008, 8:35 pm

true those last few laps were exciting how Hammie hunted down kimmi
F1 needs more excitement

and well Bernie said the US may get back their Grand Prix soon

djaggs

Postby djaggs » September 9th, 2008, 12:08 am

Good point Banzai.

Hamilton is fun to watch, he kinda reminds me of Montoya, but cant compare him with Mansell yet, at least not in the wet. Mansell was the master of car control.

Hamilton has a great personality, really funny and interesting guy. Kimi on the other hand, well, his driving matches his personality. Just check him out in the interviews.

At least Alonzo did his freaky lil dance on top his car after a win, and he was the first person i've seen beat Schumacher fair and square in a straight up fight.

Postby Monk BANzai » September 9th, 2008, 1:14 am

^^ hehehe...but Mansell or Senna in the Wet?....Senna was BALLS to the wall style of driving...whilst Mansell was very calculating....the way he wud "jook" the car into corners....and floor it coming out.....sigh...

gimme Senna tho...just had more flair to is....

chk this out...
<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/XX6lyttEryY&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

if that is not a nail biting 3 mins......

as opposed to...
<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/RpqlEg19NK0&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

hhehehhehehe

djaggs

Postby djaggs » September 9th, 2008, 9:07 am

Damn, I remember seeing that Monaco race....sheit that was exciting. Two masters at work.

That race is considered to be the greatest example of controlled precision racing ever. There is literally no where to pass on that circuit, worse if youre trying to pass a genius like Senna.

Those cars had serious power, turbo charging hadnt been banned yet and they were putting out around 1000 hp.

Im looking at the current lineup of F1 stars and im trying to imagine who could put on a performance like that, I can only think of Alonzo and Hamilton.

Alonzo did something like that to Schumacher the year he won his second title, I think it was at the same track.

djaggs

Postby djaggs » September 9th, 2008, 9:16 am

This is the Touring car equivalent to that race....the unbelievable Steve Soper, IMAO one of the greatest Touring Drivers ever.....unbelievable man, was unbeatable in the RS Ford Sierras.

Here he is chasing Joachim Winklehock (another legend)

Check out Steve's control at 1:44

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/P6kVm6ffOyI&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

BTW Soper eventually won that race.

djaggs

Postby djaggs » September 9th, 2008, 9:34 am

Check out the friendly comaraderie between Mansell and Senna, you dont see that much today. Look how Senna pushes the Track steward away with his foot...... :D

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/ehLyDof0NWs&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

Postby Monk BANzai » September 9th, 2008, 11:52 am

^^ wow..i have never seen that clip....thats a tear jerker for a F1 PEONG like me!!!....Senna getting a ride back to the pits in Mansells car... yunno today FIA wud proolly penalize both Hamilton and Massa if that happened...but nice....back then....with the exception of thesafety regs, i think was the best time for F1....turbo charged cars putting out 1000HP no traction control...and actual shifters in the cars!!.......hehehe

thanks for that clip JAGGS......made my day...