so is open season to hunt caiman...

Postby nervewrecker » September 17th, 2008, 11:53 am

I saw this notice on the newspapers over the weekend, was a notice from forestry stating that is open season for a number of animals.

my point is:

they just said caiman, they did not specify which one, isn't the spectacled caiman endangerd?

& while im @ it, I read that the spectacled caiman is salt water tolerent, has any1 ever come accross a caiman in the sea as yet?
furthest I've seen dem is by the river mouth in oropouche by the creek there....

Postby streetbeastINC. » September 17th, 2008, 12:01 pm

heard of one in north manzan...but i dont think they are capable of salt water survival....by me has millions...want one---

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » September 17th, 2008, 12:05 pm

I'm not sure which animals are protected man. I grew up in Barrackpore, close to Moruga and eveything ws fair game.
As for them hanging around salt water... they're not fishes using osmosis and diffusion so they probably can survive.

redaltezza

Postby redaltezza » September 17th, 2008, 12:08 pm

oh gosh, leave hottgyul alone nah

Postby Razkal » September 17th, 2008, 12:25 pm

Spectacled Caiman is the most common crocodilian actually, not endangered but at risk from habitat destruction. You're not supposed to shoot/kill/capture juvenile specimens though, average size for adults is around 5-6.5'

Black Caimans are alot rarer, i'm not sure if you're allowed to hunt these at all, seeing as they're listed as being "conservation dependent" i doh think hunting classifies as "conserving" :?

An adult black caiman is one of the largest crocodilians as well, 11-15' on average but a seriously big one is around 17'...i doubt any of allyuh hear short of joker moving with any kinda artillery to take out a 15 foot black caiman in one shot :|

Postby wagonrunner » September 17th, 2008, 12:39 pm

as far as caiman in the sea water goes, not to alarm anyone, but there are very rarely seen in the sea where the river empties next to pier II.

Postby Razkal » September 17th, 2008, 12:46 pm

^I can vouch for that

Sabot

Postby Sabot » September 17th, 2008, 2:36 pm

Razkal wrote:An adult black caiman is one of the largest crocodilians as well, 11-15' on average but a seriously big one is around 17'...i doubt any of allyuh hear short of joker moving with any kinda artillery to take out a 15 foot black caiman in one shot :|

Saw one of these black caimans while hunting in the guaya forest last year. On the bank of the pilot river, really thought it was a crocodile yes- dem ting huge!!! When we approached it made a run and a dive into the river from about 10 feet up- never saw sumting so big run at that speed nah, very different animal to the normal caiman imo.

Sabot

Postby Sabot » September 17th, 2008, 2:36 pm

Razkal wrote:An adult black caiman is one of the largest crocodilians as well, 11-15' on average but a seriously big one is around 17'...i doubt any of allyuh hear short of joker moving with any kinda artillery to take out a 15 foot black caiman in one shot :|

Saw one of these black caimans while hunting in the guaya forest last year. On the bank of the pilot river, really thought it was a crocodile yes- dem ting huge!!! When we approached it made a run and a dive into the river from about 10 feet up- never saw sumting so big run at that speed nah, very different animal to the normal caiman imo.

Postby Razkal » September 17th, 2008, 2:56 pm

^yeah they pretty damn quick for some big mo' fo's with short legs.

^black caiman

^spectacled caiman

Postby Maserati » September 17th, 2008, 2:59 pm

:shock: that black one

Postby Razkal » September 17th, 2008, 3:29 pm

^eyelids closed :lol:
but yeah they look alot more menacing than the spectacled ones :?

Postby joker » September 17th, 2008, 4:24 pm

I WAS ALWAYS told that caiman doh be in saltwater ......

THAT WAS A LIE ..... there a caimans in the sea .... but there are rivers close by ... so maybe they are a bit adventurous? :lol:

Postby Razkal » September 17th, 2008, 5:02 pm

^yeah they have a certain level of tolerance to salt water, after a while the membrane that protects their eyes when submerged begins 'losing water' and can be permanently damaged, among other sheit that can go wrong :lol:

To be quite honest, if i saw anything remotely resembling a caiman/alligator/crocodile in my vicinity in water passing my waist, i WILL scream like a beyotch and promptly die.

Those fcukers are sneeeeeaky :x

I've been in the water with sharks, baracuda, groupers big like me, but that crocodile scene....nah, not me and that sheit. :|

mitsushima 5

Postby mitsushima 5 » September 17th, 2008, 5:13 pm

last year during crab season I saw 3 caiman in waterloo opposite the temple in the sea.

Postby joker » September 17th, 2008, 5:20 pm

i saw black caiman in the sea off plipdeco

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » September 17th, 2008, 5:40 pm

Razkal wrote:

To be quite honest, if i saw anything remotely resembling a caiman/alligator/crocodile in my vicinity in water passing my waist, i WILL scream like a beyotch and promptly die.

:lol: :lol: :lol: trust me u not alone....i sure joker an all will run on water

Postby Gem_in_i » September 17th, 2008, 6:12 pm

I thought hunting season opened 1st Nov and Waterfowl 1st Oct :?

Postby joker » September 17th, 2008, 6:23 pm

^^ :? <embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/UbO1dJGE-YY&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

go to full screen
<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/aCdHl_jwZow&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>
<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/f9IqUcjgIfc&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

Postby joker » September 17th, 2008, 6:29 pm

Gem_in_i wrote:I thought hunting season opened 1st Nov and Waterfowl 1st Oct :?

hunting season opens from october 1st -28 or 29th of february
you r not permitted to hunt with guns in october
gamefowl season opens from november1st
hunting is prohibited in the northern range west of the blanchicheusse{sp} road.

Postby X_Factor » September 17th, 2008, 6:34 pm

hunting "wild duck" in woodland used to be fun back in the days

they still do that there?

Postby joker » September 17th, 2008, 6:38 pm

yup , i did up till 2yrs ago , but since birdflu ah stop

scarlet ibis used to roost on the mangrove tree to the right of the white pipeline ... :mrgreen:

but in arena dam .... :shock: thousands of wild duck :mrgreen:

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » September 17th, 2008, 8:34 pm

what about d Cocrico?

Is people like u killin d scarlet ibis eh?? shucks

Postby pugboy » September 17th, 2008, 9:31 pm

the blue river/caroni bird sanctuary is salt water and there are lots of caiman in there

Postby joker » September 17th, 2008, 9:35 pm

what about d Cocrico?

WENT LOOKING ... reach far as flagstaff and nutn :roll:

Postby Razkal » September 18th, 2008, 12:06 am

pugboy wrote:the blue river/caroni bird sanctuary is salt water and there are lots of caiman in there

Nah that region is brackish water

Postby mitsu_chick941 » September 18th, 2008, 8:34 am

redaltezza wrote:oh gosh, leave hottgyul alone nah

WDMC............doh fcuk up nah,redaltezza!!!

princessanna

Postby princessanna » December 1st, 2008, 12:44 pm

trinidad only have the Spectacled Caiman
and these animals can be hunted legally during hunting season once u have a permit :
(1) waterfowls
(2) deer
(3) agouti
(4) Iguanas
(5) Quenk - wild hog
(6) Caged birds
(7) caiman
(8) lappe
(9) armadillo - tattoo

and these animals can be captured and have as pets without a permit (Vermins) considered as pest :
(1) bats
(2) mapipire balsain or fer de lance
(3) mapipire zanana or bushmaster
(4) mice
(5) mongoose
(6) rats
(7) coral snake
(8) squirrels
(9) manicou
(10) orange winged parrot

anything else except these 10 vermins u need a permit to hunt them or have as pets....u need anymore info feel free to ask

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » December 1st, 2008, 12:55 pm

:? allyuh sorf....i live in alligator village...daz like pets by me

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » December 1st, 2008, 5:05 pm

well boy i don't think i've ever seen an armadillo in the wild nor deer or ocelots. Why? cause of people like allyuh dat jus killin our wildlife to satisfy ur need to feel superior :roll: :roll: