Kicker 08CVT654 - Kicker 6.5" Shallow-Mount Subwoofer

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 18th, 2008, 10:43 am

anyone has reviews on this or used it...

i noticed there is hardly ne room in the back of my navara for a sub so i was thinking of putting 6" woofers on the back door..well if possible...

http://www.woofersetc.com/index.cfm?fus ... ct_ID=6597

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 18th, 2008, 12:42 pm

u got a link..cuz i tried googling it and not really comin up with neting

theblitz

Postby theblitz » October 18th, 2008, 12:58 pm

Aaron 2NR, you getting these locally? I looking at small shallow options for an L200 also and this looking good so far. New JL W3 relatively expensive

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 18th, 2008, 1:04 pm

i didnt check for it locally..but im sure it isnt that expensive to bring thru a skybox

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » October 18th, 2008, 1:06 pm

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... ght=alpine

i think it might be more cost effective to run 2 slim tens and a small amp... as u say skybox may come out better pricewise

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » October 18th, 2008, 1:26 pm

they have these locally & i can get them but i never really looked into it ..... :|

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 18th, 2008, 2:03 pm

im just looking at options for a sub...
never heard of ne1 with the 6" so i dont no how it hits or neting......
the space at the back of the navara is very limited..even less than the d22 frontiers

riadb

Postby riadb » October 18th, 2008, 2:27 pm

putting these subs in your doors will create alot of rattling...

you would have to heavily dampen the inside of your doors to get the desired performance.

I would recommend slimline subwoofers in a dedicated sub enclosure.

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 18th, 2008, 3:02 pm

cool well that was my first option...

but given the limited space which slim line performs better etc..

pioneer, rf, etc

nello-sello

Postby nello-sello » October 18th, 2008, 4:36 pm

pioneer wrote:check out the Alpine powered sub with built in amp...could prolly save some time and headache there

I wonder if this will work well for midbass...freq range seems wide enough for it?

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » October 18th, 2008, 4:52 pm

My advice is to properly sound deaden the back doors and seal it off with fiberglass. Then use two JL 6" W3 or evo-sti-k has some JL 6"w0's for sale and the bass response will be much better than even a 10" shallow sub.

I try to stay away from shallow subs as 90% of them suck at low bass and should only be used as a last resort.

riadb

Postby riadb » October 18th, 2008, 5:38 pm

90% of them suck at low bass and should only be used as a last resort

care to elaborate as to the models that make up this 90%??

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » October 18th, 2008, 6:08 pm

Pioneer, Rockford, JBL, Coustic, Kicker these are the ones i used. From the forums i saw SR commenting on the Exile saying that they also lacked low end response. The only Flat sub i heard good reviews of are the JL, but at $3k each they better hit some lows.

Even in theory look at the fs, freq response etc. they are far from impressive. I used an arc audio 8" sub in a .35cuft sealed enclosure and it sounded WAY better than a P3S in a similar enclosure. Just my 2cents

theblitz

Postby theblitz » October 18th, 2008, 10:37 pm

a 6" JL W3 is $1k....... if he needs to get two then the flat JL is the best thing for him..... jus have to put out a lil more

If you want the best bass possible you can't use the shallow subs...... they are acceptable for music in applications where limited space is available. If you want better bass sacrifice space. Putting two JL in the doors will require alot of work to the doors though..... I dont think he needs that.

On the other hand (sad to say :( ) just bought a 10" flat primere for dads van, will let you know how it turns out if you still looking at getting a sub (don't worry I'm not a pioneer fan but as far as stealth installs go this was the economical choice)

[$875 @ tripple R for a 10" flat] ----- same sub sells for $1150 at valpark sound and security I think unless is the 12" (which is $1049 at RRR).

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » October 18th, 2008, 10:44 pm

^& d 12" premier flat is $995 by me all d time - i beat back all them price .... :mrgreen:

i dont know much about flat subs but like said above look at d fs to get an idea ...

Postby SR » October 18th, 2008, 11:17 pm

elemental designs 10" flat sub works well for this application in the budget category

in stock

as well the other option to consider would be the new jl audio 6" subs
also in stock

i suggest a pair but will run you more than a single ed 10" sub

we have done the navaro since it first rolled on to our shores

the pioneer will play louder than the elemental design but the elemental will go lower

choosing the correct sub for the space available is critical the navaro doesnt offer much space or options wehn it comes to enclosure design

elemental design sq10 single 2 ohm $950
jl audio 6w3v3 $975 each
jl audio flat sub $3000 however its a 13" sub and will not work without slight seat adjustment in the navaro also will require 600rms to perform efficiently

whereas the ed 10" or the pair of jl 6" only requires 250-350 watts max

suggest passing tru with the vehicle and we can advise event further on the entire system based on our experience with the vehicle

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 18th, 2008, 11:40 pm

yea no scene shaz...ill check you wen i get some stuff in order

thanks

theblitz

Postby theblitz » October 19th, 2008, 12:06 am

(...Rovin...) wrote:^& d 12" premier flat is $995 by me all d time - i beat back all them price .... :mrgreen:

i dont know much about flat subs but like said above look at d fs to get an idea ...

lol alrite nah I wasn't advertising :lol:

btw I spammin a bit: you have more TWS.4 SS tweeters?

larry_ois3

Postby larry_ois3 » October 19th, 2008, 12:45 am

im just looking at options for a sub...
never heard of ne1 with the 6" so i dont no how it hits or neting......

Well what the people in this thread say is accurate (at least from my experience).
i know someone who used 2 6" kicker woofers (not the model you looking at though) and they are good for midbass; don't expect low 35Hz street bass from these. They don't bottom out or anything when u put low frequencies on it- you just hardly hear it... at least the ones i played with

markzz

Postby markzz » October 19th, 2008, 1:44 pm

* deleted

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » October 19th, 2008, 3:13 pm

i say get a 8 or 10" sub and done

it will fit in the right enclosure as long as you make enough space for excursion as well

zebras are small speakers

AND THEY DO PERFORM WELL

riadb

Postby riadb » October 19th, 2008, 8:54 pm

if you have the space...
MTX Thunder 5500 8"

you will not be dissapointed....trust me

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » October 19th, 2008, 8:54 pm

Have you ever owned/heard a Zebra Subwoofer?

Not everything has to be JL or Alpine you know :roll:

riadb

Postby riadb » October 19th, 2008, 8:58 pm

Not everything has to be JL or Alpine you know

the new zebra subs are good but they still too big for dis application IMHO

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » October 19th, 2008, 8:59 pm

DJ Q,

d day u buy something good & look back at d days what u had b4 u gonna say to urself "boy i eh play i had some rel rubbish long time yes" ....not because something loud means it good eh ...... :|

riadb

Postby riadb » October 19th, 2008, 9:00 pm

^d day u buy something good & look back at d days what u had b4 u gonna say to urself "boy i eh play i had some rel rubbish long time yes" ....

nahh...doh think like dat man, we do it cuz we love it :wink:

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » October 19th, 2008, 9:00 pm

riadb wrote:

Not everything has to be JL or Alpine you know

the new zebra subs are good but they still too big for dis application IMHO

no... i saw a box built for a bt-50 with a 10" pioneer sub .. which is bigger than a zebra

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 19th, 2008, 9:03 pm

if u got 4 inches u got plenty behind the seat of the navara...

i think ill go with the elemental

Postby Greypatch » December 1st, 2008, 1:04 pm

did u install as yet aaron ?

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 1st, 2008, 1:21 pm

na boy...do urs first na..lol