how to stop bouncing in frontier?

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
jmayers

how to stop bouncing in frontier?

Postby jmayers » October 19th, 2008, 9:27 am

sup pplz recently bought a tbw frontier. One issue i've noticed is that it bounces alot. Any advice on stoppin or min this? Will put up pix soon.

roadhog

Postby roadhog » October 19th, 2008, 10:45 am

are the tires worn?
did you check the pressure to see if it's ideal or too hard?

jmayers

Postby jmayers » October 19th, 2008, 11:25 am

tires kind of worn. Good pressure but i've heard of these vans bouncin at high speeds. Anything can be done to rectify? Its the body bouncing up and down like i on the cyat going bago on rough seas

Postby wagon r » October 19th, 2008, 1:11 pm

..sell it. further more, you knew it bounced like a ball and bought it anyway..... :|

Style Motors

Postby Style Motors » October 19th, 2008, 2:07 pm

Dred all my friends who have/had frontiers they could tell you about that , you going down the highway smooth road ( well our version of smooth road) and the front just bouncing up and down .

I think that thats just how the front suspension is , the front of the van heavy and the shocks just not firm enough , that van need a complete suspension haulover in my opinion.

pothole

Postby pothole » October 19th, 2008, 2:41 pm

http://www.purenissan.com/h_d__torsion_bars.htm

get a set of these it makes a big difference

jmayers

Postby jmayers » October 19th, 2008, 2:41 pm

word.

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » October 20th, 2008, 3:02 am

wagon r wrote:..sell it. further more, you knew it bounced like a ball and bought it anyway..... :|

do you need a hug meng? :lol:

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » October 20th, 2008, 7:00 am

Sell it.

simply buy a Hilux! :wink:

Postby equipped2ripp » October 20th, 2008, 7:19 am

use 265 or 275 tires instead of the stock 255....

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » October 20th, 2008, 8:21 am

tyres have nothing to do with it. The suspension was set up for comfort off-road, so there's a lot of travel and it's very soft. If you do a lot of offroading I'd suggest leaving everything alone and just cool it with the speed on the highway. If you rarely go offroad, then you could switch out the springs for stiffer ones which would reduce or eliminate the bouncing.

Postby equipped2ripp » October 20th, 2008, 8:27 am

who says?

when i used 265 and 275, the front end felt much better as compared to when it had the 255...

nothing of a BIG change, but yes it reduced the bounce.

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » October 20th, 2008, 10:08 am

^^ how would using a wider tyre width (a horizontal differentiation, with nothing to do with suspension) reduce suspension bounce (a vertical action directly caused by suspension setup, and more specifically spring/damper rates)???

The only thing you would experience with wider tyres is more grip, less speed since there'll be more drag and rotational weight, plus added wear to the ball-joints and steering ends. It's not a solution to bouncy suspension

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » October 20th, 2008, 10:57 am

The 3.0TD doesnt come with 275 tyres stock?

Postby wagon r » October 20th, 2008, 12:27 pm

s
e
l
l

i
t
!

Postby Greypatch » October 20th, 2008, 12:35 pm

lower it

2" drop and yuh orn

Postby sMASH » October 20th, 2008, 1:21 pm

g
i
v
e

m
e

i
t
!
!

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » October 20th, 2008, 1:31 pm

t
h
i
s

t
o
p
i
c

s
u
c
k
s
!
:mrgreen:

Postby equipped2ripp » October 20th, 2008, 3:23 pm

damieG82, well, it felt less bouncy to me and 1 or 2 other people i talked to who used bigger tires.

biggy82, yuh right yes, this topic sucks... beaten out more than a whore.

Postby equipped2ripp » October 20th, 2008, 3:25 pm

bleedingfreak, all the AX grades come wih 255/70/16 Bridgestone Dueler 840 from the firm.

Black Scorpion

Postby Black Scorpion » October 20th, 2008, 6:32 pm

rollin on 275-70-16 and i dont find the ride is bouncy... and yes the width of the tyre affects the height, ie a 275-70 is higher than a 265-70 (depends on brand too)

only part of the highway where the ride is bouncy is the new part after tech/costatt an u all kno that part of the highway worse than the rest :evil:

an ppl buy what they can afford so doh tell me sell it :oops: :lol:

Style Motors

Postby Style Motors » October 20th, 2008, 7:48 pm

Sell this thing and buy a ranger :P

Postby wagon r » October 20th, 2008, 10:31 pm

^ i couldn't have said it better.... :mrgreen:

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » October 20th, 2008, 11:49 pm

Svik are you wagon r's alternate account? :mrgreen:

jmayers

Postby jmayers » October 21st, 2008, 12:07 am

thanks for the advice fellahs. Will try tires and the bar. Will see how that goes. Bigg how does the navara run?

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » October 21st, 2008, 2:35 am

very well thanks....come ah diesel run and you will see first hand :twisted:

jmayers

Postby jmayers » October 21st, 2008, 3:18 am

i will have to do that. I was watching the moruga run. Soundin like some good fun.

Postby Greypatch » October 21st, 2008, 9:20 am

did they sort out the bouncing with the D40 ?

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » October 21st, 2008, 2:11 pm

Greypatch, yeah pretty much. its alot more stable. very little alignment issues as well

Postby Greypatch » October 21st, 2008, 2:41 pm

pretty much...like it still have some issues..

how does it compare to the lux or ranger ?

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”