evo fuel consumption wat it like?

phaze

evo fuel consumption wat it like?

Postby phaze » October 21st, 2008, 9:30 am

was jes wondering nah. would like to find out how much it costs to full ur tank and how much mileage yuh does get per tank. also who uses their evo as a daily driver and was the octane rating for ah evo? nebody usin super in their evo?

Postby Dave » October 21st, 2008, 9:33 am

filling the tank is one thing but how fast the needle goes down is another

the inside gas lid says 95+ octane

as for consumption of gas, it is heavy, no two ways about that

Postby MG Man » October 21st, 2008, 9:46 am

hi performance cars = high fuel ocnsumption
it's a way of life
When I drive the HSR (when it driveable), I get about 20mpg if I short shift and cruise in 5th
When I drop the hammer, I get about 12 - 14mpg

Freelander

Postby Freelander » October 21st, 2008, 9:52 am

actually in trinidad's current traffic state not many cars have good fuel consumption.

real highway driving up here you can get up to 26mpg in an STI so i dont think an evo would be too far off from that

Skanky

Postby Skanky » October 21st, 2008, 9:53 am

Bout 120 to fill up premium and anywhere from 250-400kms per tank.It eh cheap on gas.

phaze

Postby phaze » October 21st, 2008, 9:57 am

my gosh! that real bad. i was at least hoping to get some kinda good news about fuel consumption concernin the evos. geez! 120 to full up not that bad, but that means an evo has a small tank then cuz ah civic is roughly the same thing maybe even h lil more. so nobody usin super in dey evo tank then.?

Postby AllTrac » October 21st, 2008, 9:58 am

Skanky wrote:Bout 120 to fill up premium and anywhere from 250-400kms per tank.It eh cheap on gas.

:shock: surprising :shock:

kevin310

Postby kevin310 » October 21st, 2008, 9:58 am

Skanky, THAT ENT SOUNDIN RITE

Postby MG Man » October 21st, 2008, 10:01 am

phaze wrote:my gosh! that real bad. i was at least hoping to get some kinda good news about fuel consumption concernin the evos. geez! 120 to full up not that bad, but that means an evo has a small tank then cuz ah civic is roughly the same thing maybe even h lil more. so nobody usin super in dey evo tank then.?

go back to drivin yuh B15

phaze

Postby phaze » October 21st, 2008, 10:01 am

i thinkin the same thing.. 250-400 is really good mileage per tank. the way them fellaz describin the evo fuel consumption yuh lucky if yuh get ah 200.

Postby tr1ad » October 21st, 2008, 10:03 am

depends how much times u go into boost

ps

use the search button

phaze

Postby phaze » October 21st, 2008, 10:05 am

y u doh hush ur nanny MG.

saltydog
CARS Member

Postby saltydog » October 21st, 2008, 10:06 am

Gas consumption you say? if you concerned bout that buy a diesel van. The evo has to be the worst car I ever come across for fuel consuption period. The car has a 55 litre tank so a normal fill up from say 1/4 tank is about 150 - 160 for this I get an impressive 200 - 220 km or 12 MPG average

You want to know why I dont drive it everyday?

however that being said its a real fun car to drive

Postby SmokeyGTi » October 21st, 2008, 10:09 am

keep the revs under 2500 (assuming u stock) and it'll run almost like a 2.0l n/a engine

TK!

Re: evo fuel consumption wat it like?

Postby TK! » October 21st, 2008, 10:11 am

phaze wrote:was jes wondering nah. would like to find out how much it costs to full ur tank and how much mileage yuh does get per tank. also who uses their evo as a daily driver and was the octane rating for ah evo? nebody usin super in their evo?

if yuh have to ask dat when buying such a car. .. forget it!

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » October 21st, 2008, 10:13 am

phaze wrote:y u doh hush ur nanny MG.

uh oh, now it's orn

phaze

Postby phaze » October 21st, 2008, 10:14 am

nah boy i fraid to buy ah van, meh family and bredren dem will have meh transoprting fridge and bricks and b14 engine from the bamboo for dem. i thinkin bout gettin ah evo but was jes doin some research on it. found out some info decided to ask fellaz on tuner. i thinkin ah evo is ah good car for meh, i does currently only use my car bout 3 days ah week so the gas thing might not be too bad, really and truly thats the only thing i studying. the gyal like to go on long drives nah she go have to chill sheself now! :twisted:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 21st, 2008, 10:16 am

400km on a tank of gas in an Evo is nearly impossible unless you plan to drive with no A/C, drive only on the highway, with no boost - maybe, just maybe you might get 400km - but even then I doubt it.

I get about 250km on a tank of gas - the evo 7 tank is even smaller than the evo 6 which Salty dog has, the evo 7 holds about 38 liters of gas.

honestly, good fuel consumption should be the least of your worries if you own an Evo.
Last edited by Duane 3NE 2NR on October 21st, 2008, 10:18 am, edited 1 time in total.

phaze

Postby phaze » October 21st, 2008, 10:16 am

smokey thats the best advice i get so far concerning ah evo.

Freelander

Postby Freelander » October 21st, 2008, 10:17 am

SmokeyGTi wrote:keep the revs under 2500 (assuming u stock) and it'll run almost like a 2.0l n/a engine

so true out of boost not fun but saves hella gas

oh and if ur attitude is why not fill it with super and you bitchin about its consumption its 2 things

1. you dont care about cars and just wanna pick up some penal potang
2. you cant afford to maintain it

mg man is a wise man get a B15

phaze

Postby phaze » October 21st, 2008, 10:20 am

alright duane we now getting somewhere... i need all de info from experienced tuners who own evos. alright so the fuel thing should be the least of my worries, wat should be then?

phaze

Postby phaze » October 21st, 2008, 10:34 am

hey i was jes askin about the super thing, jes wanted to kno who was really using super in dey evo (yuh kno expose ah tuner)...that penal potang thing was ah low one dread.

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » October 21st, 2008, 10:39 am

A CT9A is actually a 48L tank, so wow, from fuel light to full is probly only about 35 litres? 33?
It seems the most expensive part of evo maintenance is new engines, chassis straightening, body jobs etc.

phaze

Postby phaze » October 21st, 2008, 10:41 am

ohh well that was wat i wanted to find out really. body work is really the expensive things to maintain. wat about shocks and brake pads and bearings and them kinda things?

Freelander

Postby Freelander » October 21st, 2008, 10:44 am

get a subaru evos are over rated :mrgreen:

Postby AllTrac » October 21st, 2008, 10:44 am

phaze wrote:alright duane we now getting somewhere... i need all de info from experienced tuners who own evos. alright so the fuel thing should be the least of my worries, wat should be then?

walking crank and some come 1wd :lol:

ok just kidding about the walking crank, i think it only affected the eclipse, some say the evo 1-3's also, but i cant clarify. The 1wd issue tho is something to be worried about

silver racer

Postby silver racer » October 21st, 2008, 10:48 am

[freelander quote]
get a subaru evos are over rated
[/quote]

na homie, evo's is boss

btw wat play off wit d showdown between d sti's an evo's???

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » October 21st, 2008, 10:50 am

as they said in TopGear..

..instead of a gas tank, they fitted the evo with a pipette...

JWT

Postby JWT » October 21st, 2008, 10:51 am

evo gas and sti would be the same although the evo has a smaller tank than the sti. in my sti i get 220kms to a full tank under boost i would get 170kms if so much

taht is for $150 in gas

Postby AllTrac » October 21st, 2008, 10:53 am

and how much boost u running JWT?

also are those figures (cost to full) pre budget? have you had your car up and running since post budget?