RB20det transmission problems. Give a diagnoses.

Naka

RB20det transmission problems. Give a diagnoses.

Postby Naka » November 10th, 2008, 12:10 pm

OK, check the scenario. Installed an RB20det auto tranny unto an RB25 VVLdet engine. Well, the guys put it up, It drove in gear 3 as it wasn't wired, carried it to the electrician, wired it up, test ran it, gears changing properly, test ran it a little harder(by 2nd gear, the car was twisting in the road!), carried it to weld up the shifter, used a laurel shifter, so neutral is d and whatnot, ready to carry the car home, gears not changing. Making limiting sounds, so we suspect it staying in gear 3.

Any adivce?

btw, the project is for sale. http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=217295&sid=6a656d53caae991ca9010d8ef23a364e

Naka

Postby Naka » November 10th, 2008, 3:27 pm

anyone?

Naka

Postby Naka » November 11th, 2008, 3:50 pm

booyaka!!!

~Street Sleeper~

Postby ~Street Sleeper~ » November 11th, 2008, 3:59 pm

If it was changing before... and not after the welding work then i suspect either the shifter rod is too short.. or something electrical went wrong..

halfbreed

Postby halfbreed » November 11th, 2008, 9:36 pm

if u're using the wrong ecu, that can affect it as well. i once had a tranny work properly for awhile before giving the same trouble. we switched ecu's and the problem was solved. i think it was a turbo/non-turbo tranny ecu issue

Naka

Postby Naka » November 17th, 2008, 8:19 am

well, we put in some oil, then it worked a lil better. It had no oil in it before. guessing is a leak. I encountered another problem. diff buss. Was playing the ass and burning out then I heard bow! and then car couldn't move. this car real mad.

sidewayz69

Postby sidewayz69 » November 17th, 2008, 10:11 am

whey solider
ya bless de car?

~Street Sleeper~

Postby ~Street Sleeper~ » November 17th, 2008, 10:43 am

Naka, got any clues as yet on the air noise from the booster? .. I'm curious about that one..

Naka

Postby Naka » November 17th, 2008, 12:14 pm

sidewayz69, nah hoss, I eh bless it. I hadda do that. As for the brakes dude. I'm very sure the booster gotta change. I'll keep u updated.

bonzo.specb

Postby bonzo.specb » November 17th, 2008, 8:04 pm

sidewayz69 wrote:whey solider
ya bless de car?

LOL tru