Peugeot 306 1.6 super vs. premium.

BMW, Mercedes, Mini, Audi, Peugeot, Renault, VW, Rover, Volvo, Porsche, Jaguar etc.

christopherwilliams2

Peugeot 306 1.6 super vs. premium.

Postby christopherwilliams2 » November 11th, 2008, 10:32 pm

I know the Prime Minister said only BMW and Mercedes (clearly not Audi lol) use premium.
I'd like to switch from using premium in my 306 (using for the past 7 years) to using super.

I know that it's said that all you have to do is:
1. Use up the premium gas in your tank till it is on 'E'
2. At the pump, put in a 'gas treatment' before filling up with super.
3. Be happy with extra money left in your wallet so you can actually afford the $50 rice and $80 flour.

What i want to know is if anyone can recommend a particular gas treatment or better yet if you have a 306 sedan and do something similar. What would your advice be?

plex

Postby plex » November 12th, 2008, 7:36 am

I still using premium but i also use an injector cleaner from time to time, Prestone is the brand.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » November 12th, 2008, 8:00 am

does the injector cleaner make the car a bit more fuel efficient?
Also, where do you get it?

plex

Postby plex » November 12th, 2008, 8:49 am

christopherwilliams2 wrote:does the injector cleaner make the car a bit more fuel efficient?

the car runs better but on long run is where i see good fuel economy.

any gas station you can get it.

christopherwilliams2

306 premium vs super

Postby christopherwilliams2 » November 12th, 2008, 8:58 am

thanks. I think I'll try it.

plex wrote:
christopherwilliams2 wrote:does the injector cleaner make the car a bit more fuel efficient?

the car runs better but on long run is where i see good fuel economy.

any gas station you can get it.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » November 12th, 2008, 8:59 am

one more thing..if you have an idea..how far do you get on a full tank?
that little button near the odometer can be reset each journey.
I get about 400km...is that good?

plex

Postby plex » November 12th, 2008, 10:47 am

christopherwilliams2 wrote:one more thing..if you have an idea..how far do you get on a full tank?
that little button near the odometer can be reset each journey.
I get about 400km...is that good?

400km is good..

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » November 13th, 2008, 11:09 pm

dese days the PM stressing about installing CNG kits in yuh vehicle.

ah wonder if you would have to re-inspect your vehicle?

plex

Postby plex » November 15th, 2008, 6:25 am

i sticking with the gas i not sure about cng.

dlittlelion

Postby dlittlelion » November 16th, 2008, 2:28 pm

i running super from day one in my 306 hatch

GDGunta

Re: Peugeot 306 1.6 super vs. premium.

Postby GDGunta » October 28th, 2011, 11:04 pm

i running super in 306 1.6 sedan

shotcaller

Postby shotcaller » December 5th, 2011, 10:17 pm

i change from premium to super sum years now and i never put the treatment... works the same

GDGunta

Postby GDGunta » December 21st, 2011, 8:58 pm

shotcaller wrote:i change from premium to super sum years now and i never put the treatment... works the same

same view here

fido

Postby fido » January 24th, 2014, 12:12 am

Looking for manual pedals for a 306. Also have a 1.6 engine complete with brain box and harness for sale 2,800. No leaks or smoke.

Return to “EURO”