1.6L SOHC CS3A 4G18...UPGRADE???

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

P3UNG

1.6L SOHC CS3A 4G18...UPGRADE???

Postby P3UNG » November 24th, 2008, 11:50 am

want to get a (i) lil more punch from stand still
(ii) better gas mileage
on this 1.6L SOHC 4 VALVE with CVT...its not foreign used, its dealer bought.

any suggestions besides CAI'S OR HIGH PERFORMANCE AIR FILTERS?

its stock and currently sitting on Motegi Racing SX7's Matte Black w/ Machined lip wrapped in Nankang NS1 205/40R17's

8-)
Last edited by P3UNG on November 26th, 2008, 9:24 am, edited 1 time in total.

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » November 24th, 2008, 11:55 am

Welcome to the forums P3UNG, but I am afarid that you will have to give a lot more information than that.

What's a 4 valve? What's the engine code? 4G18?

P3UNG

Postby P3UNG » November 24th, 2008, 2:18 pm

the engine is 4G18...

venum

Postby venum » November 24th, 2008, 2:37 pm

P3UNG, welcome

fellow owner\driver\maintainer of a CS3 lancer

start here and read your way up

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... hp?t=98180

P3UNG

Postby P3UNG » November 24th, 2008, 2:40 pm

thnx...

P3UNG

Postby P3UNG » November 24th, 2008, 2:42 pm

venum...i was just on that string...but its not telling me what i need to know unless i not looking where i should be...

venum

Postby venum » November 24th, 2008, 4:39 pm

you been thrugh all 53 pages :?:

:twisted:

P3UNG

Postby P3UNG » November 24th, 2008, 4:53 pm

apparently not...

anthonyanthony

Postby anthonyanthony » November 24th, 2008, 9:05 pm

From reading this forum most people using K&N CAI and SRI kits.
No one has actually measured the HP gain from these but spactulated based on how they feel the car operates.

was hoping serious tuners did a baseline hp for the stock CS3 and the gains afterwards with these intakes from the dyno at arima / la hoquitta as shown on this forum. Once they do that and show the results than i will consider these kits.

If you looking for more HP try increasing the compression , Ithink the engine stock
is about 10 you could go to 11.5 but will have to use premium gas.

A pardner of mine also removed his cat converter and said it improved performance but that is based on what he said , he did not put it on dyno.
he said next project will be to change pipe and barrel/ silencers.

You could probly remove the cat like him and use a free flow exhaust system
including pipe and barrel.

Unlike the 4G92 which has an extractor type exhaust , the CS3 4G18 comes with
a normal exhaust manifold, you could probly use an extractor like the 4G92.

Again it depends on how far you want to go in terms of time and money, I am sure
some tuners will suggest nitroius, turbo , manual tranny performance chips etc.

Some tuners will tell you the CVT is not designed for upgraded HP and may suggest you replace this but again it depends on far you want to go.

Other people comment please

P3UNG

Postby P3UNG » November 24th, 2008, 9:43 pm

thnx for the input...the goal is to have a tuned stock...i know its kind of an oxymoron..

but its dealer bought and i don't want to infringe on warranty so i'm looking for either OEM or close to as possible.

The goals are to get better mileage using premium and get a better 0 - 60 :D

currently going through the 53 pages of "CS Lancer!" :mrgreen:

idlemind

Postby idlemind » November 24th, 2008, 10:30 pm

welcome P3UNG

good job anthonyx2

the bigger oxymoron here is in getting better gas mileage and a better 0-60
its either one or the other

u can start by CAI/dropin, extractors, performance plugs, redline treatment

at the same time install a tranny cooler and ensure ur brakes are in order
:idea:

P3UNG

Postby P3UNG » November 25th, 2008, 11:14 am

idlemind well seein as i cant get both...i will opt for a better 0 - 60.

the gimmick here is to keep things OEM or pretty darned close to stock..i was toying with the idea of a SRAM CAI but with the rain n floods didnt want anything below the engine...

started the CS LANCER THREAD, up to page 34...and i'm seeing the challenges with the SRAM in the cramped engine bay venum's set up looked nice n clean but how much air is it really getting? i don't know, and since there's no dyno results then i think spending $400 for a K&N drop in isnt a bad idea...coupled with redline and performance plugs...

don't know about installation of the tranny cooler, will have to do some research on that one..brakes are stock.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » November 25th, 2008, 11:29 am

venum setup was a good job, but it needed sheilding below for the tranny and to the side by the engine and it was rubbing on the fuse box. ul have to keep the air flow channel from the front top radiator brace

and i was toying with the idea about cutting the bonnet above the area like the e7 to add more clean air.

theres another attempt at an intake somewhere here using a stock CAI from a 2.4 ralliart 04 CS (i think) but it channels the air from behind the fog light which really is too low. then again the y11 wingroad gets it from even lower.

the guy hasnt posted any increase hp or performance though

Postby ronsin1 » November 25th, 2008, 12:10 pm

pretty soon I will try the CAI mod as well as I will be putting in extractors

this with the CAI is that it suffers for air because it is restricted front of the lancer notice what venum did, he ended up using front part of a galant's CAI to try and get more air to the short ram, what I wanted to do is build a scoop from the bottom of the bumper as suggested by a guy with a manual CS who already did this mod not sure how it will work but it is something to try

venum

Postby venum » November 25th, 2008, 1:38 pm

ronsin1 wrote:this with the CAI is that it suffers for air because it is restricted front of the lancer notice what venum did, he ended up using front part of a galant's CAI to try and get more air to the short ram,

it was the front scoop from teh CS3

it worked well at high speeds as the high air flow in across teh front of the car was channeled through teh scoop and onto teh filter

teh full metal mesh filter worked ~ 50% better than teh K&N (which Rudman is now has wasting away in his garage)

it didn't fare too well at lower speeds as there was no bulk of air to channel through teh scoop.

MITSU designed the stock intake well

at stand still and low speed, upon the induction cycle of teh engine, the vacuum created sucks air through the intake pipe, then filter and the scoop (which i splace smack in the best source of cold air - outside teh engine bay from teh front of teh car)

essentially, the engine breathes the outside air directly upon vacuum creation.

with my intake, upon vacuum, at low speed and standstill, it was breathing hot air from the engine

at high speed, cold air dumped on it

having walked this road and spending ~ TT$1200.00, (as teh brave guinea pig) I will advise the use of teh drop in K&N

P3UNG

Postby P3UNG » November 25th, 2008, 3:58 pm

venum thanks for the play by play and advice...

idlemind no 0 - 60 punch for me...

ronsin1 let me know who that CAI proj turns out...

ok guys so after visiting DM Service Center...and after asking a few questions the conclusion thus far is that any high performance part..whether it be plugs air filter or the like will mess up the cars computer :oops: ...potentially causing irregular idling, shutting off, and not to mention no claim and voiding of my warranty. :(

so in summary the only thing high performance on my ride would be those 17's...HA! :lol:

maybe i can get a tip to make stock exhaust look a lil robust.. :|

idlemind

Postby idlemind » November 25th, 2008, 6:34 pm

madness! das DM for u

slap in a drop in, they shouldnt bug you for that
and a barrel!! wah tip u talking bout :|

W2J

Postby W2J » November 25th, 2008, 7:50 pm

KN Drop in Filter $560.00 instock
NGK IX 5's and 6's instock $265.00
Mitsubishi OE oil Filter instock $65.00

Postby ronsin1 » November 25th, 2008, 8:37 pm

W2J will contact around next week when I collect my CS to get a K&N drop in

P3UNG

Postby P3UNG » November 26th, 2008, 9:28 am

...fellas!!! i goin to put that K&N drop in n the cleaning kit. Gonna pop that in the engine today...the tank on full and i goin n get a bottle or redline fuel treatment, what i had finish....the plugs i leaving for now.

btw allyuh hear bout mixing redline water wetter with water and coolant together in the radiator???

W2J

Postby W2J » November 26th, 2008, 9:33 am

redline water wetter with water and coolant together in the radiator???

redline works best with water and was not design for certain coolants I would be very careful. I recommend that you use DEI Radiator relief instead which we stock its also safe for coolants and it has out performed water wetter.

P3UNG

Postby P3UNG » November 26th, 2008, 9:40 am

W2J wrote:
I recommend that you use DEI Radiator relief instead which we stock its also safe for coolants and it has out performed water wetter.

that DEI sound good...need to get some coolant...ah like having stuff before i need it.

the car literally brand new..the 29th of Nov go make it a month on the road...i goin by Car Boutique in a few to get the drop in.

W2J

Postby W2J » November 26th, 2008, 9:59 am

I have the drop in bro and cheaper than Car Boutique and btw why are you changing the coolant if the car is new?

P3UNG

Postby P3UNG » November 26th, 2008, 10:05 am

well i'll check u in a few to get it then...

i not changing the coolant...jus sayin its good to have. we have a 1.5 GDI CVT as well thats got some miles on it, so its good to be prepared...had a CK2 1.5 4G92 before.

anthonyanthony

Postby anthonyanthony » November 27th, 2008, 6:38 pm

As i said men talking about performance with their K&N etc but where are
the dyno figures, comon people.

When I bought my car I talked to DM techs about this and came to this conclusion,
DM knows only how to sell cars
They only go by what the manufacture specs says so dont ask them about
performance kits, they dont know( i cant see how putting in a performance filter or plug can mess up your computer , i can under stand this for installing larger injectors, performance coilpacks etc. )

If you play cupid ( I only play ) they will convince you that you must have a
BSc, MSc & PHd in automotice engineering to change oil and you must come by
them every 3000km or 2 months for this.
That was back then, I dont know fro now, by d way do we have any mechanics
from DM on this forum? Please respond.

Anyway P3UNG, if you car on warranty jusy upgrade your rims and tyres but put back your original when carrying car at DM for service. After warranty over then sell original rims and tyres, men used to laugh at me whan i do this. I think the 17" might be too extreme, stick to 15 or 16.

17 & 18" with 215/ 35,40 & 45 series tyres does look good but when time to buy tyres or hit a hole you might bawl when tyre or alignment man tell you tyres cant balance since your rims are bent and must be fixed

Put up a pic of your car so we can view it, look at mine and tell me what you think , i runninfg on 15"

Postby ronsin1 » November 27th, 2008, 7:52 pm

P3UNG, not to cut across but was it you I saw leaving the port in Port of Spain with the PCK lancer

P3UNG

Postby P3UNG » November 27th, 2008, 9:22 pm

port? which port? when?

that could be anyone ronsin1...more details.

...haven't got any engine bay pics yet, but i'll post what i have...

Postby ronsin1 » November 28th, 2008, 5:49 am

ammm the Port in Port of Spain where the containers come in and all the vehicles are stored before customs release it

venum

Postby venum » November 28th, 2008, 8:32 am

i running original mitsu long life coolant

will let ya know how that goes

P3UNG

Postby P3UNG » November 28th, 2008, 9:34 am

ronsin1 yeah i believe so, that area after ceramic tile ltd....

ok, so guys... prob nex month or nex year for that K&N...didn't get it the other day - (once i doh get sumtin when i plan to i usually don't go again)

venum that coolant works well...i only ask bout the water wetter as two nights ago i was by muh neighbour. He was preppin his ride for a show and he was doin his oil, tranmission fluid, plugs and coolant and he use the redline water wetter.(the bottle say that it makes the engine operate at about 20deg Farenheit cooler, their mixture suggestion is water wetter,glycol and water...if i remember correctly.

...he has a ck2..did a manual convert and a rear disc brake conversion..SRAM CAI (not certain as to its effectiveness, more for appearance)...dropped..18"s...double exhaust(functional)..custom ground effects kit..

Return to “MITSUBISHI”