Tune Up

Glitch

Tune Up

Postby Glitch » November 27th, 2008, 3:35 pm

Yeah Fellers,

I plan to do a tune up this weekend on my daily driver (4G93T) and looking for recommendations.

Oil - Currently using Royal Purple - What weight and body/brand should I use
Oil Filter - Fram
Engine Flush - Should I use this?
Coolant - Using Shell at the moment
Fuel Filter - OEM
Air Filter - K&N (Already in)
Plugs - Already have a new set in (4 mths old iridium)

Am I missing anything? Also feel free to recommend what has worked for you guys so far.

Postby X_Factor » November 27th, 2008, 6:47 pm

Oil Filter - Purolator - see thread on fram oil filters
Coolant - Redline water wetter works pretty good

Racegod

Postby Racegod » November 28th, 2008, 10:20 am

Glitch,

there are a whole host on ched bout engine wash.. not needed...

Oil - oil is oil... plenty ched bout dat too... but i continue to use shell helix semi-syntec, simply becuase i've always been using it.

coolant - no problems with Shell...

bonzo.specb

Postby bonzo.specb » November 28th, 2008, 11:37 am

X_Factor wrote:Coolant - Redline water wetter works pretty good

yea dat dos wuk good :mrgreen:

slow323

Postby slow323 » November 30th, 2008, 1:42 am

everything fine just use a better oil filter fram aint all that

Mark Divr

Postby Mark Divr » November 30th, 2008, 2:34 am

about the redline water wetter..it works best with water alone..no glycol.....

if used with coolant(glycol)..it doesn't cool ass effectively as the above.. some 10Cdegrees.. Difference between them...

adn for a dailt driver..you need rust protection from yuh coolant...which redline doesn't accommodate for....

also if using the water wetter//it is recommended that u change yur fluid annually!

a final diagostic .... redline water wetter is - $55-$60 a bottle..
does it make sense to use it..????? i wanna know myself..lol
i have a service scheduled for wednesday..and don't know if i should put it..i done gone and buy it..steups..

greyfox2501

Postby greyfox2501 » November 30th, 2008, 7:50 pm

check list looks good meng, except the oil filter, get oem one. also have the mechanic take a look at your bushings, suspension etc. our roads do a number on the underneath of our vehicles...

a good underwash as well should be in order!

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » December 1st, 2008, 6:23 am

X_Factor wrote:Oil Filter - Purolator - see thread on fram oil filters
Coolant - Redline water wetter works pretty good

X2! 8-)