WTK what to use to wash the car

wickedestman

WTK what to use to wash the car

Postby wickedestman » December 12th, 2008, 6:41 pm

guys, this is a serious question... what is the best thing to use to wash the car?

I used to use this soft broom (they said it is made to wash the car) the fibres rel soft,etc. Its not a push broom eh.

Then, i was told to use a micro fibre cloth (which i use now) but stay away from sponges because that traps dirt and that scratches the car.

but, the microfibre also traps dirt and i cant seem to clean that out.

So whats the best thing to use? and how to clean the microfibre cloth properly?

Oleander

Postby Oleander » December 12th, 2008, 7:39 pm

Step1
Prepare all of the items you will need. Your bucket should be filled with cold to slightly warm water and a few caps of car wash liquid. In the bucket should be 2 sponges or 1 sponge and a brush.

Step2
Spray your car with water using a hose, starting from the roof of your car all down the body. Rinse each wheel last. This way, all of the loose dirt on the car will move from the top down and then off the car instead of being rubbed into the paint when you apply soapy water causing scratches, or spat upward by spraying the wheels with water first.

Step3
Next, Apply the soapy water from your bucket of water and car wash liquid to your car in section. Start with the roof, because, as before the dirt will go downward.

Step4
After applying soap to the roof of your car, rinse the soap off the roof.

Step5
Repeat these steps (apply soapy liquid to section of car then rinse that section) for the rest of the car, but be sure to follow in a pyramid motion until you reach the bottom of your car.

Step6
For your tires, grill and bumper, use the brush or second sponge to work out the dirt trapped and often stuck in those areas. Then rinse with hose, as you did with the other sections of the car.

Step7
Once you have completed all sections of the car, spray the whole car from top to bottom with the water hose again.

Step8
Now that your car is washed, use the clean auto squeegee to squeeze away any excess water on the Roof of your car, then use it on your front and rear windows. Using the squeegee prevents your car from getting too many water spots, and working in an order to dry with the squeegee helps to ensure that each area of the car is taken care of and doesn't have water thrown on it again.

Step9
Next, Clean off the squeegee with one side of your microfiber cloth, then use the squeegee on the side windows, then side mirrors.

Step10
Use the squeegee on the hood, trunk, then side of your car to finish the preliminary dry. Be sure to clean off your squeegee with that same side of the micro fiber cloth as you go along.

Step11
Now, using the other side of the microfiber cloth, the clean side, dab or pat your car dry your car by following the same order. The order is Roof, front and rear windows, side windows, hood and trunk, sides, grill and bumper, then tires. By patting instead of dragging the cloth, you are preventing the cloth from leaving swirl marks and also from dragging along with it any debris or dirt still left on your car.

Step12
Finally, clean up. Pour out and rinse your bucket, rinse the sponges and allow them to air dry. Wash the cloths. Store all items in the same location. Be sure they are stored in a dry, clean area.

The best thing to use is a microfiber cloth..
Change it when it's gets too dusty.

wickedestman

Postby wickedestman » December 12th, 2008, 9:04 pm

thanks a lot oleander, i knew how to wash the car, i just wanted to know what to use ;-)

i shall thief some sponge from somewhere :D

Doctor X

Postby Doctor X » December 12th, 2008, 9:55 pm

since we on the topic .....heard alot of people using dish washing liquid to wash car ....want to know how safe is to on the paint ..

FullStop

Postby FullStop » December 12th, 2008, 10:14 pm

dunno bout that na, but i think is turtle wax, i not sure of the brand, does make a 2 in 1 wash and wax, it is really good, and shines pretty nicely

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » December 12th, 2008, 10:26 pm

Yep Zip wax i think its named.......turtle wax makes it.........

Any review on this?

Also......how much do you all put in a bucket?, cause on the bottle says 1 ounce to a bucket....but that dosent seem to affect anything

wickedestman

Postby wickedestman » December 12th, 2008, 11:16 pm

Doctor X wrote:since we on the topic .....heard alot of people using dish washing liquid to wash car ....want to know how safe is to on the paint ..

lol i hear that messes up the clear coat? i used to use it on on an almera... but never on this car.

Dj_Bee wrote:Also......how much do you all put in a bucket?, cause on the bottle says 1 ounce to a bucket....but that dosent seem to affect anything

i just pour it into the bucket and whatever seems right, thats it there (lol jk, i measured it out already so i know how much is enough)
but all brands are like that? i cant remember my brand (i am too sleepy) but thats how much i put also. it smells nice though.

ghostbusters, i shall try that when this set finishes...

SO by to the topic... use a sponge?

someone904

Postby someone904 » December 13th, 2008, 9:25 am

i use a turtle wax sponge, paid $12 i think. it works well and holds a lota water.but i also wash down first with a microfiber to wash off all the dirt using water as a lubricant (hose in 1 hand spraying where i wipe), then a next cloth for the tyres and wheels. this saves a lota soap. u kno when washing a dirty car, half way through d soap flat and dirty? this stops that. like dey say, always wash rims and tyres with your soap last. wash from top to bottom , 1 panel at a time. if washing in the day rinse off the panel as soon as u soap, if at night, u can soap the entire car then rinse everyone down and dont forget to pass that sponge over your wipers :wink:

FullStop

Postby FullStop » December 13th, 2008, 4:00 pm

yeah , sponge to wash...but like most said, spray off heavy dust and dirt first

Oleander

Postby Oleander » December 13th, 2008, 4:22 pm

wickedestman wrote:
Doctor X wrote:since we on the topic .....heard alot of people using dish washing liquid to wash car ....want to know how safe is to on the paint ..

lol i hear that messes up the clear coat? i used to use it on on an almera... but never on this car.

Dj_Bee wrote:Also......how much do you all put in a bucket?, cause on the bottle says 1 ounce to a bucket....but that dosent seem to affect anything

i just pour it into the bucket and whatever seems right, thats it there (lol jk, i measured it out already so i know how much is enough)
but all brands are like that? i cant remember my brand (i am too sleepy) but thats how much i put also. it smells nice though.

ghostbusters, i shall try that when this set finishes...

SO by to the topic... use a sponge?

is the name 3D or something... gives a streak free shine and noo residue and what not.. ?

Postby X_Factor » December 13th, 2008, 5:52 pm

but i also wash down first with a microfiber to wash off all the dirt using water as a lubricant (hose in 1 hand spraying where i wipe),

thats a great idea u know...basically use a cloth and water at the same time and more or less water wash the car..then use the car wash solution and then "soap" up and wash off

someone904

Postby someone904 » December 13th, 2008, 6:30 pm

^^ helps u save soap, it never gets "flat" (not soapy as before) i hav tried turtle wax zip wax from pricesmart (this sucker does last. ah whole gallon, last bout ah year. not washing with the recommended amount, alot more and about once a week) tried mothers california something(still hav), even armor all(used once).....zip wax does give a kinda shine, the rest....... nothing to talk about

Postby r3iXmann » December 13th, 2008, 6:49 pm

dishwashing liquid will mess with the clearcoat

i use two microfiber cloths to wash... one for the tough dirt (sideskirts and lower part of the car) and one for the upper part

i believe it might be safe to use the sponge once you use a lot of water

i use armorall car wash btw :)

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » December 13th, 2008, 10:33 pm

but i also wash down first with a microfiber to wash off all the dirt using water as a lubricant (hose in 1 hand spraying where i wipe),

This is also what I do.

I've been using AutoGlym car wash (and polish) going on four years now......nothing else ever compared 8)

On another note, what's the deal with all these "FastWax" sheds popping up in Mall /other carparks all over the place? These flipping people want to show you how "good" their product is....and some fools buy it! As another poster said.....if you're not using water as a lubricant/medium for the dirt to be removed, you only swirling around dirt on your cloth and paint.....which will leave fine scratches :roll:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 14th, 2008, 9:37 pm

I use the turtle wax zip wax and found it to be quite good..........definitley leaves the car with a nice shine

btw
Last edited by wickedestman on Tue Jan 01, 2069 12:01 am; edited 999,999 times in total

wtf

^^!SPAWN!^^

Postby ^^!SPAWN!^^ » December 14th, 2008, 9:48 pm

As my vehicle white in colour , I use water , dishwashing liquid and pitchoil when I washing it , takes off all the visible stains and has it looking real shiny and clean :wink: .

Idle_Torque

Postby Idle_Torque » December 14th, 2008, 10:50 pm

squeeze an ah sponge ftw... washing car since ah was 5yrs wit this an neva c notting happen to any cars as yet... :)

Postby Maserati » December 14th, 2008, 11:28 pm

original.badman wrote:squeeze an ah sponge ftw... washing car since ah was 5yrs wit this an neva c notting happen to any cars as yet... :)

from what I know avoid dish washing detergent, as it is too strong and will remove the wax you want to keep.

Avoid scratches by using two buckets; one will have your normal car wash detergent, the other will be just water. When you are finished sudsing up a particular area, rinse the wash mit/sponge in the plain water. This will keep scratch causing dirt particles from revisiting the surface of your car. Another approach is to rinse off with your hose the wash mit/sponge before dipping it into the car wash detergent.

wickedestman

Postby wickedestman » December 15th, 2008, 12:30 am

Guys thanks alot for all the suggestions... i not going to reply to everyone though :P. i gonna start using a sponge... or two. and TWO buckets! one with sud and one with water.

I have to try out that other suggestion about the water as lube and microfibre wash down... then soap and wash.

Thanks A lot guys!

AND DONT USE DISHWASHING LIQUID

I have one other question.. maybe i should make a new thread?

I want to know what to use on the tyres.. they looking really bad... even after i used a brush on it!

what to use?

make a new thread about that?

~˜VëgŲ˜~ wrote:
Last edited by wickedestman on Tue Jan 01, 2069 12:01 am; edited 999,999 times in total

wtf

hehehe lol you get catch too man? :P

Postby Maserati » December 15th, 2008, 1:03 am

wickedestman, have a couple auto detailing forums about

http://www.autopia.org/forum/index.php

http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/

as for your tyres you mean you want a black shine?
Meguiars Tire Gel
http://www.autogeek.net/golclasenhig.html

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » December 15th, 2008, 6:06 am

^Clean yuh tyres with a brush/sponge and BREEZE.

Then wash it and let it dry.....and apply armorall or silicone (your choice). I personally find that the silicone splashes up at times if you go through a little rain after.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » December 15th, 2008, 11:06 am

No Touch ture care....don't even need to scrub tyres first....just spray and yuh done

type r

Postby type r » December 15th, 2008, 12:24 pm

i use Mothers car wash bess shine ever :|

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » December 15th, 2008, 1:36 pm

Where can i get the turtle wax sponge to buy?..........

And if i pour some squeeze in the bucket which also has the zip wax, will that be defeating the purpose of the wax?

Postby equipped2ripp » December 15th, 2008, 1:59 pm

^ yes it will

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » December 15th, 2008, 2:12 pm

seen.......and where can i get the turtle wax sponge?

Postby equipped2ripp » December 15th, 2008, 2:18 pm

laughlin and degannes

wickedestman

Postby wickedestman » December 15th, 2008, 4:00 pm

(sp)^^

thanks guys i shall make some purchases... thanks maserati for the links and yess to make them :black: :lol:...

i use mothers... i have half bottle again to go. It smells sweeet! but that not gonna help my tyres

someone904

Postby someone904 » December 15th, 2008, 7:27 pm

i got one turtle wax sponge at laughlin and degannes and another in tru value (trinicity)

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » December 15th, 2008, 7:44 pm

So what makes the turtle wax sponge different from the normal matress sponge?

And what bout kerosene, does that damage the car's clear coat?