BUMP!

liquidmetal

Postby liquidmetal » April 21st, 2008, 4:06 pm

BUMP!

triniboi49

Postby triniboi49 » April 25th, 2008, 9:52 pm

The salary really depends on the Industry you are working.
Examples are:
LAN Admin Pt' Lisas 15K
Lan Admin Energy 20ish +
Lan Admin Insurance 10 - 15
Business Analyst - Maufacturing: 10 -15
Business Analyst - Energy: 15-20K
The bets at an IT company - 12 with experience,
they may may more if they really want you
Energy Companies pay more but harder to get in.
IT companies pay less, but yuh get good experience and good offers after.

Choose your field and then make your mark. I choose Unix/Oracle and now a bit of Virtualization
and I have no complaints,
There is also the option of taking up an H1B with a 'body shop' in orlando or NJ USA

mitsu4life

Postby mitsu4life » February 6th, 2009, 9:01 am

i didn't really want to bump an old thread so don't flame me...please lol, but i wanted some advice on what's an average salary i should be getting because i think i am very much unpaid after reading this thread

its just me in the I.T dept of a small company and i manage an maintain a sql server and the application running on it, exchange server, firewall, everything related to the phone system, the dc's, all end user problems, all the pc's (about 35), the companies payroll software, all backups, all network issues and recently apparently relocating linx lines have fallen under my responsibility :?

i don't have that much I.T experience, about a year and 6months but my learning curve was sharp. i have my mcse, net+ and several bicsi certs for structured cabling and fiber optics an i want to start CIS

what would be considered an average salary for what do because i think i am seriously being taking advantage of here?

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » February 6th, 2009, 9:11 am

mitsu4life wrote:i don't have that much I.T experience, about a year and 6months but my learning curve was sharp. i have my mcse, net+ and several bicsi certs for structured cabling and fiber optics an i want to start CIS

what would be considered an average salary for what do because i think i am seriously being taking advantage of here?

Under $5000.00/mth

You have your MCSE, NET+, but no Degree. At the end of the day, its the Degree that commands your salary for you.

Usually I've seen IT BSc's start off at about $8000/mth with no experience.

mitsu4life

Postby mitsu4life » February 6th, 2009, 11:46 am

rodfarva wrote:
mitsu4life wrote:i don't have that much I.T experience, about a year and 6months but my learning curve was sharp. i have my mcse, net+ and several bicsi certs for structured cabling and fiber optics an i want to start CIS

Under $5000.00/mth

You have your MCSE, NET+, but no Degree. At the end of the day, its the Degree that commands your salary for you.

you what's sad i personally know people with degree's who don't even know to join a machine to a domain

reddo_tuner

Postby reddo_tuner » February 6th, 2009, 12:21 pm

mitsu4life wrote:
rodfarva wrote:

Under $5000.00/mth

you what's sad i personally know people with degree's who don't even know to join a machine to a domain

mitsu, that is really funny but true. IT is sometimes a profitable thing but only in certain companies. And you best know your sheit!

Sabot

Postby Sabot » February 6th, 2009, 2:40 pm

reddo_tuner wrote:
mitsu4life wrote:
rodfarva wrote:

Under $5000.00/mth

mitsu, that is really funny but true. IT is sometimes a profitable thing but only in certain companies. And you best know your sheit!

It would seem that you run the show as far as IT goes for a small company somewhere. That's one of the reasons why everything 'IT' related is being thrown at you. Thing is that very few companies in Trinidad realize the strategic benefits of IT and hence look at it as just another big expense. The certs in different vendor related products is all well and good and do allow for some increase to your salary once its being put to use and saves the company money. What you need however is a solid base such as a good degree and learn the fundamentals of IT in whichever area you choose. After a good base and an introduction into what IT really entails then depending on where you choose to work you can then specialize and command a better salary. There is much more to IT than just vendor certs such as MCSE etc...

ROTARY_FATEFULL

Postby ROTARY_FATEFULL » February 6th, 2009, 4:23 pm

rodfarva wrote:

Under $5000.00/mth

MCSE holds alot of weight eh...it depends on the person hiring(a good IT Manager will lean to someone who is MCSE rather than Degree, seen it many a times), i've been around ppl with Degrees and MCSEs and the folks i know that are MCSEs are leagues above the folks with Degrees(Unfortunately nowadays we have alot of PAPER MCSEs - cant do shite) but 5k even in Trinidad is a rop off for someone with MCSE

mitsu4life

Postby mitsu4life » February 6th, 2009, 5:54 pm

^^ well in my case there is no I.T manager just the GM, i know all about the PAPER MCSE's lol i remember a time in my previous job we went to a Big comPany to check some supposedly faulty cabling...when i reach there the I.T admin didn't know to activate a node you need to use a patch cable from the patch panel to the switch...that have me pissed now thinking about it :evil: i could only imagine what kinda salary he getting

i was planning on leaving but the way things going now with the economy if i do i might be screwed, i supposed to do my cisco exam next so hopefully i can bargain a little more with that

Postby pugboy » February 6th, 2009, 6:15 pm

in case you all didnt know,
IT is no longer the promised land,
MCSE dime a dozen, CCNA cent a dozen

the era between 1996-2006 of fellas changing job every year and getting big increase in salary is gone
plenty people returning from UK too, all those who went on the 2 year job stint

mitsu4life

Postby mitsu4life » February 6th, 2009, 6:31 pm

^^ i realise this now but say what i like the field, i suppose i should just soak up the experience and leave when/if something better comes along

benko

Postby benko » February 6th, 2009, 6:34 pm

honestly with the exception of a few specialist jobs, the higher paying IT jobs are not all about being the most technically adept, it is about knowing how to select and manage appropriate resources to keep the users happy.. you can always outsource to a specialist the 2-3 times a very "reliable" configuration has "issues" or further technical input is required.

You will find the the adept technicians making a fantastic living have to work very hard either chasing down the outsourced job or being on call for the really sucky systems guarantee no sleep

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » February 6th, 2009, 6:47 pm

It is so broad, get specialised.

All these hit and miss certifications, find your path and get on it.

Postby pugboy » February 6th, 2009, 6:56 pm

well just work at it for the good reasons and become good at it - this applies to an field......

its not any different than any other field other than the fact that there are a lot more of bogus fellas out there who charge cheap and make people not want to pay for IT services.

mitsu4life wrote:^^ i realise this now but say what i like the field, i suppose i should just soak up the experience and leave when/if something better comes along

saxman642

Postby saxman642 » February 6th, 2009, 7:54 pm

After reading thsi entire thread, I must consider myself lucky I have a job paying $8000/month and my only certs are A+, Net+ and MCSA on Windows 2000.

and I am essentially the IT Admin for a school...and a peon tech for the Ministry of Education.

Plan to spend 6 years there and oh, will I be enhancing my skills: MCSE, SQL, Linux, Unix, CCNA, Bsc, you name it....

I will have my degree by the time I finish my time there.. the money HAVE to come very nice after...

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » February 6th, 2009, 10:37 pm

ok my friend 2 months out of the Uwi. Gren IS prog. started at 8k then after 6 mths to 12k @LNG.She's doing application support. No certs.
I- BSC , CCNP/SP MCP - Security train L2 RnS. started 4kTTD around 7 years ago.

Snags

Postby Snags » February 6th, 2009, 11:09 pm

ZACK ROUSE!

Postby buzz » February 6th, 2009, 11:20 pm

.:PROZAC:.. wrote:It is so broad, get specialised.

All these hit and miss certifications, find your path and get on it.

[/thread]

Spirit R

Postby Spirit R » March 6th, 2009, 7:08 am

What is the starting salary for a RPG programmer?

Smokey

Postby Smokey » March 6th, 2009, 7:46 am

Spirit R wrote:What is the starting salary for a RPG programmer?

Role Playing Game Programmers?....ask square enix

Computerman

Postby Computerman » March 6th, 2009, 7:56 am

RPG IV (aka RPGLE) for IBM i series servers - Avg 7-8k inhouse. You'd do much better as an independant consultant/developer.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » March 6th, 2009, 8:35 am

i have hired over 50 IT professionals for all fileds in an IT department and one of the main questions i ask beside the typical technical questions is

HOW have YOU made the IT department more effiecnet and viewed as a department with worth.

most ppl canpt answer taht but what i am gettign at is, if you want a higher pay, be it increase in salary or new job, you need to prove to managemnet that IT is importnat and not a black hole where money goes into.

come up with saving plans, not just ot save money but to save manpower or resources. they have a manual process to do something, create a database, automate it with IT. do somethign other that fix user errors ect.

in other words BE PROACTVIE.
www.google.tt is your best friend.

you need to make your self and the IT deparment worthwhile and ONLY den can you consider asking for a raise ect.
if u are intervieing, without coming across arogant, show how you have helpd save money/resources/manpower and time in your previous company.

in this day and age its all about saving and doing more with less.

i started off with 800 a month for a year and have progress quickly to a very comfortable salary.
baby steps guys baby steps. u need to suffer for a bit to make it big. not eveyone is born with a golden spoon in their mouht and can call high salaries. if you don;t have the contacts or the links then take your time and you will get their.

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » March 6th, 2009, 9:37 am

you're lucky to get that type of sal. i started of < 10,000 grand with an upper sec. class hons. coming straight back from the UK... only after 3 mths i was in the 11 - 15 k bracket after switching jobs.

bess thing to do is a couple private jobs to make up the rest.

Postby teems1 » March 6th, 2009, 9:47 am

Computerman wrote:RPG IV (aka RPGLE) for IBM i series servers - Avg 7-8k inhouse. You'd do much better as an independant consultant/developer.

naw, RPG programmers are in short supply

everyone and their doggy is a .NET developer nowadays...

you should be able to get 10-12 easy if you have some experience.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » March 6th, 2009, 10:58 am

The truth is in all my 13 years of IT experience certs will always be better. They give you more knowledge on the particular hardware. Is better to be able to join a workstation to a domain than just knowing what a domain is. I trained people from all over the country on structured cabling & fiber optics and networking.

All lot of those people have degrees and het they couldn't even create agroup policy. It's sad but in third world T&T employers always look for degrees first. So I guess the best thing is to get your degree it will work out better in the long run.

baby steps guys baby steps. u need to suffer for a bit to make it big. not eveyone is born with a golden spoon in their mouht and can call high salaries. if you don;t have the contacts or the links then take your time and you will get their.

This is so true, I remember I started off at $1800 and was doing real dog work. Cabling, Administration, Accounting, etc. Everything takes time and everyone will get there at some time.

Postby teems1 » March 6th, 2009, 1:02 pm

Programming != Networking != PC Techs != HelpDesk

Everyone uses the IT umbrella too much because their job sucks and don't want ppl to know they do gruntwork for a living.

Re: I.T jobs and salaries in T&T

Postby redmanjp » July 30th, 2011, 3:21 pm

so how does local salaries for these certs compare

http://images.globalknowledge.com/wwwimages/pdfs/WP_15TopPayingITCerts.pdf

acesinghit

Re: I.T jobs and salaries in T&T

Postby acesinghit » July 30th, 2011, 3:41 pm

in order to be paid well in IT, you need to have your undergrad and graduate degree and maybe an MBA as well coupled with certs etc...You need a wealth of operating experience as well. Maybe then you can thus command a salary of minimum 15k a month. For now, 7-12k is the best you will get with an undergrad fresh out of school.

A few years ago a top IT co. here paid CIS students 4k a month and a local top insurance co was doing same. Today, these individuals stayed there and built service within their respective companies and enjoy around 8k a month minimum.

What madcrix said above is the truth. baby steps!! you'll get there.