Logitech Z5500 Sub repaired and Blew Again!! WTF?

Postby 3stagevtec » February 11th, 2009, 8:59 pm

it's actually my cousin's sub, i'll be dropping it off for him tomorrow, when he installs it, i'll get a review on how it sounds..

Resin is a natural or synthetic compound which begins in a highly viscous state and hardens with treatment.

he used it to help harden and strengthen the cone..

he did a good job on the repair, i can't wait myself to see how it performs now...

southside connections

Postby southside connections » February 11th, 2009, 9:42 pm

well the reason he placed resin on the cone is because after the coil or spider, the next thing to go is the cone which eventually breaks up in small cracks

well dat's not fibreglass resin lol, is som special but it has fibreglass as an added active ingredient

so 3stage you pass his work?

Postby SR » February 11th, 2009, 9:46 pm

this thread is on a thin line bordering on more old talk than technical

keep the old talk for msn

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » February 11th, 2009, 11:01 pm

SR wrote:this thread is on a thin line bordering on more old talk than technical

keep the old talk for msn

Yeah I see what you mean I edited a whole set of post there so it should look like it back on track now.

Aight guys waiting for 3stage to test it out and give a review.

Southside connections I am wondering if the fixed driver will be able to handle more RMS.

If so then perhaps we looking at around 200 RMS now instead of the old 188 either that or perhaps he doing something with the sub to make it better quality cause the guy said when he done with it, it eh go blow again so am anxious.

southside connections

Postby southside connections » February 11th, 2009, 11:50 pm

well a coil a has it's limits based on the magentic feild it's in

by stiffening the spider/suspension you can increase a speaker's tolerance for a short time,you cannot increase it's thermal power handeling

if a speaker said 100wrms,normal then its 100wrms give or take 20% more or less power without problems

however it the same speaker is upgraded with a stiffer suspension,this will give the same speaker more control and tolerance at the normal or 20% higher rating but it does not increase the unit's thermal power handleing overall

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » February 12th, 2009, 1:12 pm

thanks for the info

This is amazing glad to hear it will be able to tolerate a bit more torture but will still keep it a bit lower this time just to be certain

Postby 3stagevtec » February 13th, 2009, 8:02 pm

i didn't get to hear the sub play when i dropped it off for my cousin..

he did text me saying "it playing real good, a whole lot better than before"..

sorry i can't give a more technical reply..

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » February 14th, 2009, 3:09 am

3stagevtec wrote:i didn't get to hear the sub play when i dropped it off for my cousin..

he did text me saying "it playing real good, a whole lot better than before"..

sorry i can't give a more technical reply..

WOW nice nice real sweet.

Yeah he must be talking about how its not to one note as before that was actually the biggest problem with the original Z5500 and even cheap Audiopipes sounded better.

This is super awesome can't wait for mine :P

Postby 3stagevtec » February 14th, 2009, 10:33 am

pioneer wrote:you paid someone to do that?

thats pioneer trying 2 live up 2 his name on tuner....plz ignore his statement

Postby 3stagevtec » February 14th, 2009, 2:41 pm

pioneer wrote:No seriously, who did that work?

that was Crakey from Duncan village.. honestly, he's very good from what i saw.. he's not at a JL audio engineer level, but he's not the average sub repair guy either..

btw, the sub was in really bad condition before i sent it to repair.. my cous had tried to open it up nah..

if you examine the work up close, you'd be satisfied.. imo..

Postby 3stagevtec » February 14th, 2009, 2:49 pm

pioneer wrote:oh ok...why not KP?

i'm from south, so the distance was a factor.. and when i spoke with him, i was pretty convinced he could handle the job well..

i also noticed he repairs subs for Sound Extreme, Shameer etc.. so he's pretty well trusted..

southside connections

Postby southside connections » February 14th, 2009, 2:52 pm

wisemen
soundextreem
shameer
basline audio
12 volts
notorious customs
predator crew

and a good few others do their work by him

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » February 14th, 2009, 3:17 pm

^ditto
Just curious as to how much you guys paid to repair the sub.

southside connections

Postby southside connections » February 14th, 2009, 4:45 pm

well i've seen some work by him for 12v,must be kp could not take the work at the moment, so he substituted

Postby 3stagevtec » February 14th, 2009, 6:26 pm

paid $150 for the repair...

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » February 15th, 2009, 2:08 pm

To me once this Z5500 poor bass improves I good with that.

And I have no doubt the fixed driver will improve the bass.

Because I have heard cheap 10" Audiopipe that sounded a thousand times better than this Z5500 which leaves me to believe has something to do with the actuall speaker not just the box

So it leaves me to believe logitech really went cheap on the sub, but not just because they trying to save money and making it cheaper for everyone to afford but because the system is what it is. Its a 5.1 for movies and games where the sub's only purpose is to produce power explosion in like a bomb or something so.

Which is why it plays so poorly in music cause if you try a music system on a movie I am sure the Z5500 will beat it cause I heard some 5.1 movies in AC3 and Blu ray DTS and damn I could say this Z5500 was born for movies and games no lie.

So I think replacing the old driver really does help in improving the one note sound that most HT does give. Minus Onkyo though them is the ony people does make HTIB and can actually play music pretty nice. But Onlyo kinda expensive actually its double the price of a Z5500 and half the power maybe.

0awg

Postby 0awg » February 15th, 2009, 3:05 pm

Alpine wrote:To me once this Z5500 poor bass improves I good with that.

And I have no doubt the fixed driver will improve the bass.

Because I have heard cheap 10" Audiopipe that sounded a thousand times better than this Z5500 which leaves me to believe has something to do with the actuall speaker not just the box

So it leaves me to believe logitech really went cheap on the sub, but not just because they trying to save money and making it cheaper for everyone to afford but because the system is what it is. Its a 5.1 for movies and games where the sub's only purpose is to produce power explosion in like a bomb or something so.

Which is why it plays so poorly in music cause if you try a music system on a movie I am sure the Z5500 will beat it cause I heard some 5.1 movies in AC3 and Blu ray DTS and damn I could say this Z5500 was born for movies and games no lie.

So I think replacing the old driver really does help in improving the one note sound that most HT does give. Minus Onkyo though them is the ony people does make HTIB and can actually play music pretty nice. But Onlyo kinda expensive actually its double the price of a Z5500 and half the power maybe.

a repaired sub might not sound better than it was before it was repaired unless it was modifyed in some way, the sub alone is not to blame for the poor quality, the rest of the equipment may also contribute.

onkyo is a very good brand in front of logitech, the power ratings of the logitech are over rated like I said. the logitech bassline is rated at 100hz, it may give out half that power at 50hz & even less at lower frequencies.

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » February 15th, 2009, 6:11 pm

^^ Yeah I did a frequency test on it and it is totally silent at 33hz.

It does not even give full power at 100hz it gives full power at 140 hz. lol

From the time it hits 80hz and 50hz it probably gives quater the volume. and 33hz real small bearly hear it.

20hz ultra silent while the cone moves with 3 inch excursion looks kinda spooky in a way :shock:

0awg

Postby 0awg » February 15th, 2009, 6:32 pm

Alpine wrote:^^ Yeah I did a frequency test on it and it is totally silent at 33hz.

It does not even give full power at 100hz it gives full power at 140 hz. lol

From the time it hits 80hz and 50hz it probably gives quater the volume. and 33hz real small bearly hear it.

20hz ultra silent while the cone moves with 3 inch excursion looks kinda spooky in a way :shock:

that is what we mean when we say bottoming out / offloading. you talking bout mechanical damage there one time, spider will get weak, suspension may damage etc

this is why I recommended a next enclosure & a new sub.

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » February 15th, 2009, 10:28 pm

^^^ OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOWWWWWWWWW

SHIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIT

Hoss I used to be doing that nonsense for fun just to see how it looks.

Good god way the muddas arse I gone and do jed lol

:| :| :| :| :| :| :| :|

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » February 15th, 2009, 10:30 pm

Now I realize how my sub mash up :| :| :|

0awg

Postby 0awg » February 15th, 2009, 11:22 pm

^^^^

:rofl: @ Alpine,

Pirate

Postby Pirate » February 16th, 2009, 7:41 am

U really serious, u seeing all that movement and not hearing anything, mainly meaning that the sub unloading and u still playing? U wanna kill the speaker? (and did) :-?

well from my experience with logitech tells me that their boxes dont produce low freq bass and pushing it will unload the driver and boom...dead speaker.

Postby 3stagevtec » February 16th, 2009, 8:04 am

i think the tuning freq on the Z55 sub enclosure is in the 30Hz region.. so anything below that will unload the sub resulting in mechanical damage, depending on how long / hard you play it..

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » February 16th, 2009, 1:06 pm

Pirate wrote:U really serious, u seeing all that movement and not hearing anything, mainly meaning that the sub unloading and u still playing? U wanna kill the speaker? (and did) :-?

well from my experience with logitech tells me that their boxes dont produce low freq bass and pushing it will unload the driver and boom...dead speaker.

Well then lookie here now I know how the kiss meh ass thing mash up. :)

Good thing for this ICE forum yes.

Now all I need to do is get back meh spaeker from the cracky fellow.

I call he and he say the speaker done fix :) whoo hoooo

Now the question is when he passing up by my side to drop this off he say today or tuesday I cah wait to receive it and give a review. Also anxious to hear how it sounds to :)

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » February 16th, 2009, 1:49 pm

u need to break in d sub again eh since it come like a 'new sub' now so take ur time & dont make d same mistake twice ....

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » February 16th, 2009, 4:57 pm

(...Rovin...) wrote:u need to break in d sub again eh since it come like a 'new sub' now so take ur time & dont make d same mistake twice ....

Yeah I go take meh time with this new sub won't make the same mistake again.

Well I eh know pios when I hook it up is only then I go know how it sounding.

I go give allyuh fellas ah review as soon as I get it.

The Z5500 biggest problem lies in playing things like crunk music like salt shaker it only hits with one note and misses everything else.

But for stuff like rock and Trance it plays sweet is just hip hop it lacks but not all songs eh. It actually plays some hip hop pretty nice.

Postby 3stagevtec » February 17th, 2009, 8:17 am

pioneer wrote:A sub won't sound different/better if it's repaired :|

My word allyuh does let people fool allyuh yes.

define repaired..

since Crakey NOT using an original kit to do the repair, the coil's MMS will be different from original, as well as the stiffness of the new spider he uses..

if he uses the resin on the cone again, that will increase the MMS also..

so chances are, it will sound different in this case..

Postby 3stagevtec » February 17th, 2009, 11:12 am

pioneer wrote:define different...

doesn't mean better

and it doesn't mean worst as well...

different:
an increase in MMS might increase the overall Q of the speaker as well (i think). the higher overall Q might help with the low end output from the sub..

(someone correct me if i'm wrong)

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » February 17th, 2009, 12:00 pm

^ exactly, 90% install 10% equipment. Even if you put a better quality sub it does not change the fact that the tuning and actual enclosure is toots and the low bass still going to be lacking.