So I got held up at gunpoint....

Postby noshownogo » February 18th, 2009, 6:21 pm

RichieRich wrote:you did the safe thing yes

glad youre both safe.

X 2 you did the safe and right thing for your wife first and foremost and then yourself.

Good thinking on your part to remain calm and comply.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » February 18th, 2009, 6:28 pm

4) He will win who, prepared himself, waits to take
the enemy unprepared.

Isn't that cowardly?

No, not really. The enemy can think that he is prepared, when in truth and in fact, he had underestimated the situation and is actually unprepared for the undertaking.

Postby joker » February 18th, 2009, 6:38 pm

4) He will win who, prepared himself, waits to take
the enemy unprepared.

Isn't that cowardly?

in this case the enemy is the robber and he had a gun ....the victim was what? expecting to be robbed ....?

or in another instance if yuh out numbered or being advantaged.....take what is delivered and return it 10fold.

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » February 18th, 2009, 6:43 pm

actually yes, i was expecting to be robbed... it was the beetham after all.

which is why i 1) told the wife stay in the car, lock the door. 2) i moved with as much haste as I could.

weedbouy

Postby weedbouy » February 18th, 2009, 6:45 pm

uh lucky the robber aint take uh car with uh wife in it

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » February 18th, 2009, 6:48 pm

^ i knew if he made a move for the car i would have had to kill him. i was prepared to.

Postby De Dragon » February 18th, 2009, 6:54 pm

Glad to hear you and the wife are OK. Sometimes the most prudent course of action is the exact one that you took........*await the I woulda done he crew to run in!*

Postby joker » February 18th, 2009, 6:57 pm

await the I woulda done he crew to run in!*

take note the man show him the gun butt eh.......

Postby cinco » February 18th, 2009, 7:41 pm

good to know you and the wife are safe man
you have alot of composure and sense to make the decision you made
kudos to you
having a gun may have ended with you or some innocent bystander being killed not necessarily the best way to go

btw did you bother to report it?

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » February 18th, 2009, 7:43 pm

yea, at the traffic branch and then at besson street... tottally useless im sure... but i needed the report to get back my sim

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » February 18th, 2009, 7:58 pm

Damn! sorry to hear that

As others have said, you did very well.

Pios, take it down a notch

Mr Go Slow, good quotes from a good book

Postby AllTrac » February 18th, 2009, 8:00 pm

you being able to post here today and talk to your wife right now should alone let u know u made the right decision. Glad you did.

TKO_69

Postby TKO_69 » February 18th, 2009, 8:02 pm

I need a gun.

Don't we all. If i had one when they stole my car right in front of me the guy would've been drinking from a straw all now. I don't believe killing them it's not justice enough that is a easy way out. Make them suffer for the rest of their lives cause they care not about the stress you and yours endure when sheit like this happens.

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » February 18th, 2009, 8:04 pm

^ i aim for the left testicle

Postby Damien » February 18th, 2009, 8:04 pm

Who want to buy :lol:

TKO_69

Postby TKO_69 » February 18th, 2009, 8:05 pm

Kneecaps man, cripple they cnut! :twisted:

TK!

Postby TK! » February 18th, 2009, 8:06 pm

sorry to hear this mike. at least u were not hurt and u got your wllet back

Postby joker » February 18th, 2009, 8:08 pm

Damien wrote:Who want to buy :lol:

$

TKO_69

Postby TKO_69 » February 18th, 2009, 8:09 pm

legal?

Postby Damien » February 18th, 2009, 8:10 pm

TKO_69,Whey you think?

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » February 18th, 2009, 8:10 pm

thanks for all the comments guys. and yes while i do agree there was alot that went right about the situation, and there is much to be happy for...

we need to be angry at the stuff that did go wrong... and realise that all this is really unacceptable, and that shomething eneds to be done. At the end of the day this is our country, and some things are worth fighting for.

TKO_69

Postby TKO_69 » February 18th, 2009, 8:10 pm

you eh serious.

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » February 18th, 2009, 8:14 pm

forget it....yuh wife safe homie......

thats all that matters........

Postby buzz » February 18th, 2009, 8:17 pm

pioneer wrote:I had a master plan, invite them all to a free fete in some enclosed building that can fit all of them, kids included, them fackin blow it up.

PNM fete?

Postby cinco » February 18th, 2009, 8:18 pm

i get what you saying man its a sad day when you cannot enjoy the fruits of your hard work.
Society on the whole has failed Trinidad everyone wants to blame someone else no one takes responsibility and the law is an arse

ever wonder why Tobago took soooo long to get bad and they still not half as bad as Trini?
they still have a sense of culture a sense of family

+G0thiC_CitY+

Postby +G0thiC_CitY+ » February 18th, 2009, 8:20 pm

walk with a pitbull in ur car

Postby buzz » February 18th, 2009, 8:21 pm

drive up 160kph you should be able to roll to safe a safe distance should the worst happens :?

but glad to hear you aint another statistic man

mitsu_crazy

Postby mitsu_crazy » February 18th, 2009, 8:22 pm

Mudboy wrote:forget it....yuh wife safe homie......

thats all that matters........

say that when they start entering homes...

or they follow you and yours to your house...

it's not right no matter how you look at it..

something needs to be done...

mitsu_crazy

Postby mitsu_crazy » February 18th, 2009, 8:23 pm

buzz wrote:drive up 160kph you should be able to roll to safe a safe distance should the worst happens :?

but glad to hear you aint another statistic man

at that hr in d morning there is traffic...moving....but not that fast...

he did not have much of a choice...

rodfarva

Re: So I got held up at gunpoint....

Postby rodfarva » February 18th, 2009, 8:35 pm

Silvermike wrote:On the betham this morning, heading into POS @ 6:30am. Long story short, Car broke in a very bad place. Had to come out to fix it. Man crossed the road, pulled a gun... or atleast showed the handle and a bit of the barrel and told me

" dont make me have to shoot you in front of all these poeple. Hand me your wallet and cell phone"

Now this guy was 5'7 or so, 150 lbs. Standing on the shoulder... too close to me, telling me he's an amateur. The conciderations I had were the 2 cepep workers on my left cutting grass with blades, who I noticed stopped cutting, but werent about to help.... atleast not help me anyways.

The other concideration was my wife in the car that the cyhat didnt seem to notice due to the sun's glare on the front glass. All in all, the situation was calm for the moment, and money and a 2 year old cell phone is not worth the fight. So I handed them to him.

He proceeded to take all the cash out and hand me back the wallet containing my license, CC and other stuff. That was nice.

He then patted my pockets, saw I had nothing else of value really and then told me... " Of now go. This is the betham, yuh hear?"

So I got in the car and left.... At which point I thought to run his a$$ over... but that would cost more to fix than the money he stole....

I need a gun.

Good choice man. Sorry to hear of the experience nonetheless. But a Firearm wouldn't have done you any good there. Man only take your cash and cellphone.
Shooting him would have complicated your life beyond belief.