anyone tried sr16ve cams on a sr20ve yet?

FugiTECH

anyone tried sr16ve cams on a sr20ve yet?

Postby FugiTECH » February 4th, 2009, 7:52 pm

Im going to do a sr20VE-T (neo vvl) project in my 1600 galant soon, just getting all my info in order ,
cam wise please give some details (gains or losses) whether its Turbo or N/A, what you or your friends felt when you installed in the sr16 cams in the sr20ve? and what bolt ons they probably had,

I have been checking out the other site about this but would like to find out from someone that has actually done it locally , I know there are plenty ''experimenter''s in Trini also so sont hide info, we are all here to learn ^^

heard you can gain around 15-20 hp on a non turbo engine depending on your mods

Steffan

ps: please no VVL vs VTC arguments

turbosnail

Postby turbosnail » February 4th, 2009, 10:41 pm

stay with stock cams,but what other parts u using
might wanna look into these:
GTiR pistons/rods
555cc injectors(555 cc injs are good for 360 WHP at 3 Bar 44 PSI)
Stock ECU w/E-manage ultimate
MSD 8969
8cw crank
jgy manifold

now all that ive posted here i quoted a guy who has done this and has experience with the VE-T

or u can search on forums like http://www.sr20-forum.com/

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » February 4th, 2009, 11:07 pm

i have all that covered thanks,
:wink:
*waits for ones that had tried or trying this. :twisted:

double trouble

Postby double trouble » February 5th, 2009, 12:51 am

i think the only way you would know exactly the hp gains or losses is to dyno the engine stock...and then with the 16 cams......

yakuza

Postby yakuza » February 5th, 2009, 7:17 am

Dis my partna project PULSAR VZ-R in Ja.

http://www.wheelsjamaicahost.com/wheels ... ic=87777.0

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » February 9th, 2009, 1:30 pm

I ended up with 2 pairs of sr16 cams recently, my fault though, i will keep a set for when i go a bigger turbo though, will need the eyebrow/notch the pistons for them to work though :?

Plenty sr20forum guys got around 14hp by just dropping them in their vvl but I havent seen what gains the VE-T (turbo) guys got from it though,

saw that the sr16ve and sr20ve vvl heads are the same, just the cams are different,

if anyone here is interested in a pair check me.

turbosnail

Postby turbosnail » February 9th, 2009, 8:27 pm

i rather get the N1's but pm me a price nah

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » February 9th, 2009, 10:09 pm

I ordered the cams from G spec and thought it wasnt coming again, got fed up and got a local set to buy, then me partner tell meh the cams way i order reach :cry: anyway

with these you will make more power just dropping them in a bone stock sr20ve , then you can add on extra things like a Good header, cold air intake system, bigger exhaust, upgraded ecu for a slightly higher rev, which is better but pricey.These will make the perfect Combination.

If you go N1 cams you will have to do thing like:
-change the stock sr20ve Pistons or else you will bend valves
-you will need stronger springs and retainers because these make power at higher rpms than the regluar 16ve cams
-get a ecu to allow your engine to rev higher, this will work good for both cams but its need for n1's,

most people wouldnt bother spending money ordering upgraded n/a ecu anyway.

here are some ''sr16ve cams on a sr20ve'' threads i searched

http://www.sr20forum.com/sr20ve-sr16ve/ ... on-n1.html

http://www.sr20forum.com/sr20ve-sr16ve/ ... -cams.html

MazworxRacing

Postby MazworxRacing » February 18th, 2009, 5:04 pm

We use them in both of our race motor with no problems at all.

DF1_2nR

Postby DF1_2nR » February 18th, 2009, 6:05 pm

THE_FUGITIVES wrote:
If you go N1 cams you will have to do thing like:
-change the stock sr20ve Pistons or else you will bend valves
-you will need stronger springs and retainers because these make power at higher rpms than the regluar 16ve cams

-get a ecu to allow your engine to rev higher, this will work good for both cams but its need for n1's,

Where you getting this info from?????

Nothing I've researched shows this as being absolutely necessary for an N/A build.

Titanium Springs and retainers are needed if you looking to rev over the stock limit. The stock springs and retainers supposed to be safe up to around 8600 rpms.

Stock pistons are ok as well.

Not knocking you or anything just looking to see what your sources are as I'm planning to go down the same road. More info can't hurt.

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » February 18th, 2009, 7:22 pm

OH MY GOD mazworx is on Trinituner ? Mark is that you ?
I know you guys use that in the S15 motor , but does the s14 has a ve head also btw?

Whats going on with the S15 man? , last run i saw was with the car primed because it hit and you all own Puerto Rican car , that run was maddddd!!!

I always look for updates on the S15 , I hope to see you all better your best ET with it hopefully, I could imagine what it will take to do so ,
Have you all get a chance to run on an excellent condition track because you car always seem to be swaying all over the place lol

DF1 2nR
sr20forum and some other places, everyone has different opinions , because the ones i got the info from are reccommending these for your motor to be on the SAFE SIDE

Postby 3051 » February 19th, 2009, 12:21 pm

me want n1 cams :twisted: :twisted:

yakuza

Postby yakuza » February 19th, 2009, 6:59 pm

3051 wrote:me want n1 cams :twisted: :twisted:

Ask and ye shall receive.
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... ht=n1+cams

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » February 26th, 2009, 1:04 pm

yeh Robert look yakuza have them, send yuh ecu to upgrade to rev to a 9000 with a next $5000 :D

SR20VE-T

Postby SR20VE-T » February 26th, 2009, 10:13 pm

for what

u go just make enemies as soon as u car get faster

racer19

Postby racer19 » February 27th, 2009, 10:00 am

Postby 3051 » February 27th, 2009, 10:04 am

SR20VE-T wrote:

for what

u go just make enemies as soon as u car get faster

i have enemies already

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » February 27th, 2009, 4:30 pm

hey hey , behave allyuh self before they lock this thread , talk about engine , look even Mazworx post on meh thread :wink: