Logitech Z5500 Sub repaired and Blew Again!! WTF?

0awg

Postby 0awg » February 17th, 2009, 1:54 pm

33 hertz wrote:^ exactly, 90% install 10% equipment. Even if you put a better quality sub it does not change the fact that the tuning and actual enclosure is toots and the low bass still going to be lacking.

same reason why I dod not recommend the jl or the idmax

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » February 17th, 2009, 3:34 pm

pioneer wrote:With the same enclosure?

First of all people I strongly believe the repaired driver will sound much better.

I will tell you why there is a guy on youtube who replaced his logitech Z2300 tang band with a Re Audio 8 inch.

And he even has a video of it playing he says it sounds a thousand times better with the new driver in the same exact enclosure.

Logitech problem is not just eh low frequency its one note the drivers them put in was only designed for producing explosions in games and movies. Was not for music which is why it misses so much.

I have no doubt what so ever that a repaired driver with different parts will sound better.

Maybe not lower but it will definitely solve the one note problem.

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » February 17th, 2009, 3:42 pm

33 hertz wrote:^ exactly, 90% install 10% equipment. Even if you put a better quality sub it does not change the fact that the tuning and actual enclosure is toots and the low bass still going to be lacking.

The thing is the Z5500 biggest problem is that it sounds one note.

he driver is designed for explosions in games and movies.

Therefore replacing the driver will definitely make it play music better.

And 3 stage cousin is not the first person I heard say that a different driver made the bass sound much better.

There are a number of persons on youtube modding their systems saying that a different driver sounds better for music.

Watch this I have a Sony stereo here and I open the box on one side and replaced the crappy 6.5 inch with a more powerful and different one and the bass sounds magnificent now using the same box.

And this box was made in 1992 its nothing even fancy even a child can build this box. I believe while the box is very important the driver also has a very important role to play.

But I will tel you guys how it sounds when I get back my 10".

Right now I traded my gold back for my sennheiser HD555 from same guy who bough it.

And this headphone definitely producing high end bass right now and audiophile mids. So when I get back this 10" from cracky I will know if the bass has improved for music etc.

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » February 17th, 2009, 6:31 pm

better how?... i hope he not like trinis

dumb trinis think if it not loud it doh sound good

movies and games have lots of L.E.F. `s low frequency effects ... u feel they all that and a bag of chips now ... if u hear a system tuned near 20 hz ud rethink ur appreciation for those same lfe`s

and as for the driver ... that aint no one note driver eh i can show u vids where tang band subs dessimating the place

Postby 3stagevtec » February 17th, 2009, 7:13 pm

With the same enclosure?

^ exactly, 90% install 10% equipment

i agree with the 90% install, 10% equipment statement..

but answer this, place 2 different subs in the same enclosure.. will they sound the same? highly unlikely..

now, i'm not the best at reading TS parameters, but it is possible for the parameters of the sub to change in a way to better suit the Z55 enclosure... and the opposite is just as possible..

where Jeff, Nigel etc?? they could better explain it..

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » February 17th, 2009, 7:17 pm

@ Soundstream_626 Hmm well it does have a couple reviews where they editors were saying the Z5500 becomes one note as soon as you play music on it.

Ow it was Audioholics

http://www.audioholics.com/reviews/spea ... ech-z-5500

I think was that review that said it was one noted not sure.

It got quite great results for games and movies but poor ones for music.

When I get back this Z5500 driver I shall know if it does indeed sound better.
Not counting on it eh but hey if I slap he on and it start to rock what the heck all hail cracky. lol

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » February 17th, 2009, 7:26 pm

3stagevtec wrote:^ i saw your sub today when i went to collect mines...

the guy placed a layer of resin on the both sides of the cone... extra stiffness..

the new spider

i measured the coil at 8.0Ω resistance..

Only thing I kinda wish in a way it was a bit more clean you know. Like so that you won't know if it was repaired.

Postby 3stagevtec » February 17th, 2009, 9:51 pm

pioneer wrote:Don't mean to rain in your parade or anything, but WTF are those gaps on the sub frame about? :|

Correct me if i wrong but i never saw a sub like that - in original condition

But i guess if you don't care about that and was looking to "modify" the sub anyhow, those little details shouldn't matter.

the stock sub doesn't come with those foam surround pieces (the perimeter of the sub, where you circled).

he just added those.. and what does that have to do with the quality of sound anyway?

------------------------------------

i can't wait for Alpine to get back the sub and give his unbiased personal opinion on how the repaired sub performs...

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » February 17th, 2009, 11:09 pm

pioneer wrote:Don't mean to rain in your parade or anything, but WTF are those gaps on the sub frame about? :|

Correct me if i wrong but i never saw a sub like that - in original condition

But i guess if you don't care about that and was looking to "modify" the sub anyhow, those little details shouldn't matter.

Pios I should ah take some pics of the sub before it was sent to repair.

You notice the gaps you circled out there.

Well hear this I surprised the guy even put those black things on because originally it had nothing.

It looked far worst before because remember them things was not mean to show thats why the Grill is a non removable grill.

When you remove the grill the edges kinda look horrible so I surprised the guy put something to make it look nicer.

Not sure how it will look shiny now with the resin business but I guess it will be a change maybe the glossy look might look nice afterall.
But I would have still prefered it to look like it was not even repaired in the first place yuh know.

But small thing I guess. Leh me hope the guy drops it off this week. He said its already repaired but remember he pick up the sub and he dropping it back by front gate free. Its costing me I think $120 or so to fix something like that.

So he has to make a trip Arima this week and when he does he will drop it off for me. Its a really big convenience having someone collect it by your gate and drop it back home for you.

Props for this guy for doing that at no extra cost. :)
Now just hadda hope he passing up this side this week :)

Postby 3stagevtec » February 18th, 2009, 10:45 am

my sub still original, so i'll post some pics to compare as well..

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » February 28th, 2009, 4:07 am

Boyaka I get the speaker. 12 in the night to the man pass and drop it. lol

Mine has resin behind the speaker so the speaker looks exactly like the original.

You cannot tell if it was repaired.

And by the spider the pig tale thingy looks thicker and stuff.

I wonder if its more watts now? hmm only one way to know.
I can't play it yet cause its night and these people go put me out ah this house :| :|

So I hadda try it later today when I wake up like 12 noon and thing

But that resin real stifen da cone in truth.

I wonder wa kinda voice coil he use and stuff. Anyways will give a sound review later but thus far but this far it looks near exact as the original.

Postby 3stagevtec » February 28th, 2009, 4:38 am

remember to give it a week at medium volume to break in.. don't 'baby it' during the break in period, but don't push it as well..

allow the coil to heat up good during the break in time, so don't be afraid to let it run for a few songs well..

from what i was told the new coil should be able to handle more power than the original..

southside connections

Postby southside connections » February 28th, 2009, 4:43 am

yep^^^ the speakers all have a new 6 layer coil, also the coil wires are thicker than before

it's a original coil(not remade) but it's just slightly upgraded

BTW as this coil/spider system is new please allow 1-2 weeks minum break out time

Postby 3stagevtec » February 28th, 2009, 4:55 am

you mean an original 6 layer coil from another sub???

southside connections

Postby southside connections » February 28th, 2009, 6:28 am

yep, same znom, different windings/thow size ect

so thereofore ts parameters would hav changed also

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » February 28th, 2009, 4:12 pm

Speaker blew within just 1 hour.

Same problem yet again.
But not as bad as before its still passable.

Waste of fcuking money and time.

Same ratteling sound yet again.

Funny thing is I had it at only half volume. :? Was playing basstronics to hear how it sounded and it did sound a bit better.

And whats Amazing is that these people home so I could not even play it hard self.

Now when I take the speaker out of the box I do not hear the cracking sound but as soon as I put it back in the cracking sound starts.

southside connections

Postby southside connections » February 28th, 2009, 4:25 pm

we'll pass for it in the week

southside connections

Postby southside connections » February 28th, 2009, 4:29 pm

but thats not the speaker check the amplifier for anything burnt because the last coil was actually the same ting, so check the internal amplifier

first time we getting a complaint for this particular sub, i mean we've done soooo many other with no problems whatsoever

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » February 28th, 2009, 4:29 pm

But hear this when I take it out of the box it don't give the same problems.

But when I put it back in it gives the same problem.

It was working good eh, I made sure and kept the volume low this time just to be on the safe side. And just like that it start back.

However I can safely say the Bass improved a Lot it sounds like a real sub.

But once I put this volume past quarter it starts to give that cracking sound.

ut the bass improved a Lot.

southside connections

Postby southside connections » February 28th, 2009, 4:31 pm

check the enclosure, chances are it's heavily leaking or broken somwhere

u sure it is the subwoofer?,because it dosen't seem like that to me,more like the box itself

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » February 28th, 2009, 4:34 pm

But I being 100% honest I never had it more than half volume.

Perhaps its something else causing this problem.

Cause the last time even when I took it out of the box I heard the cracking sound.

Now when I take it out of the box there is no cracking sound so i assume the speaker may be good.

I shall investigate this further.

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » February 28th, 2009, 4:37 pm

southside connections wrote:check the enclosure, chances are it's heavily leaking or broken somwhere

u sure it is the subwoofer?,because it dosen't seem like that to me,more like the box itself

when I take the woofer out it plays perfect no cracking sound.

The thing was playing perfect and just like that after 1 hour it start to make this same kind of noise.

But the noise is not as bad as before you can listen to it at quarter and don't notice it.

Let me investigate perhaps as you say its leaking or something so. Perhaps its the box

southside connections

Postby southside connections » February 28th, 2009, 4:42 pm

yep look into it and let us know asap thanks

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » February 28th, 2009, 5:19 pm

Is the speaker that giving the problem.

Apparently it is happening when the speaker is in the box.

Suppose the FS and stuff had changed and the box was not designed for this new speaker and thats what caused it?

The sound is definitely coming from the speaker itself.

But suppose it fix again and the same problem happen yet again?

Because it could never be the power it has to be how the box tune now since this driver is totally different.

If you see how low I had this playing and that same problem started just like that. Perhaps I have to what buy an actual brand new speaker?

HCCA

Postby HCCA » February 28th, 2009, 6:06 pm

Have that whole sub/box and amp checked by a pro. I had two systems already and used to run them hard for hours and never get a prob like what u describing. Probably something just loose in the box or the amp getting probs.

altec

Postby altec » February 28th, 2009, 6:10 pm

check to see if the spider unstuck somewhere.

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » February 28th, 2009, 6:15 pm

Ok I have confirmed its the Speaker.

Its making the same noise outside the box now.

Seems like its the spider again. I can't believe thi less than an hour and less than Half volume and yet again same thing.

Is it possible the guy who fixed this maybe just maybe he made a mistake in this? Perhaps wrong voice coil? perhaps something else.

This damaged waay to fast and such low volume, the original one used to go max for long periods of time and still worked.

And just to be safe I actually took my time with this this time just to avoid that problem. And it happened again.

I wonder if the guy made an error with this? So basically if I get this fixed again I go cah run it more than quarter volume then?
And imagine this thing had resin and stuff jed? WTMC?

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » February 28th, 2009, 6:31 pm

I should mention that the bass has improved noticeably I mean the quality of bass its deeper and more detailed and more controlled. :|

Facking thing was sounding real bess jed and look wa gone and happen :|

I still trying to get over how easy this sheit blow at half volume in less than an hour.

is bess I did really buy ah audiopipe or something yes.
If I did know repairing a speaker was so pointless I would ah never even bother to repair it in the first place. :?

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » February 28th, 2009, 10:08 pm

2ha

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » February 28th, 2009, 10:48 pm

Ah feel ah should ah listen to pioneer and go KP yes and just pay the lil extra money :|

I just cah believe this sheit nah jed. Steups!!!!

And the thing look so professional and well done you would swear this was the real deal.

Anyways its possible this could have been a error by the guy who knows. You know sometimes you fix something and its as perfect as others. Sometimes you miss out a lil thing that can cause the problem. cause the way people talk about it I could swear yuh could drop a billion RMS on the thing :|

I must be drop only 80 RMS on it and its a 188 RMS soofer. :|

This facking thing real blight jed.

But I think cracky may fix it back for me cause most likely it may be an error on his part. Human error may it be. Who knows.