shaneelal

CAUGHT? Finance Minister closed two US$ accounts in CIB last

Postby shaneelal » March 11th, 2009, 6:47 am

CAUGHT?
Finance Minister closed two US$ accounts in CIB last December
Juhel Browne jbrowne@trinidadexpress.com

Wednesday, March 11th 2009

CLICO Investment Bank (CIB) documents show that Finance Minister Karen Nunez-Tesheira closed two US dollar accounts with the bank on December 31, 2008, before they were scheduled to mature later this year.

CIB is one of four CL Financial businesses that benefited from a multi-billion-dollar taxpayer bailout approved by the Cabinet last month.

Nunez-Tesheira said in the Parliament on February 2 that she made the withdrawals from a CIB account that had already matured by December 31, 2008, as she wound up debate on the Central Bank (Amendment) Bill.

Documents obtained by the Express yesterday show that Nunez-Tesheira paid a "break rate" of 3.5 per cent for closing two accounts at CIB worth a total of US$48,549.91, before they were due to mature on April 30, 2009 and August 13, 2009 respectively.

She closed one account at US$37,549.45 and the other at US$11,076.34, including interest.

In Parliament on February 2, Nunez-Tesheira also dismissed claims by Opposition Siparia MP Kamla Persad-Bissessar that she had access to privileged information about CIB, which led to her making withdrawals from her accounts with the bank and Caribbean Money Market Brokers (CMMB), another CL subsidiary, late last year.

Nunez-Tesheira had said she was only informed of CIB's difficulties in the middle of January by Central Bank Governor Ewart Williams after he had been notified on January 13.

The Hansard, the official record of the Parliament, shows that Nunez-Tesheira made the following comment regarding a CIB account:

"On December 31, I withdrew an account which had matured on December 31, 2008. You go and check it because when you were making your accusations, I wanted to ensure that I was accurate on the information, and I called to get all the information that I had on every withdrawal I made in relation to those two institutions."

CIB documents show that Nunez-Tesheira sent a fixed deposit break request form to the CIB manager, Fixed Deposit Department, at #1 Rust Street, St Clair, that contained a typewritten request as follows: "Please be advised that I/we wish to break the captioned deposit.

The form asks: Please state a brief reason for breaking your deposit. A handwritten explanation for breaking the deposit follows, stating, "To purchase property. Funds needed. Please prepare one cheque ino (in name of) Karen Tesheira."

The CIB fixed deposit break request form bears Nunez-Tesheira's signature and identified accounts 52801 and 53335.

The form was accompanied by a letter from Nunez-Tesheira that also bears her signature, dated December 31, 2008, addressed to Richard Trotman, president and chief executive officer, CIB, #1 Rust Street, St Clair, drawn to the attention of someone identified as Reyvaan Rampersad.

"Further to our recent discussions, I hereby request the closure of the above-mentioned accounts (53335 and 4003361) with immediate effect. In this regard, it would be greatly appreciated if you could make the cheques available to me by Friday 2nd January, 2009. Thank you for your kind cooperation in this matter," Nunez-Tesheira wrote.

Copies of two CIB US dollar Certificates of Deposit show that she broke two deposits on December 31, 2008.

The first deposit had an original value of US$34,799.65, with a value date of August 13, 2008 and a maturity date of August 13, 2009.

The second deposit had an original value of US$10,161.59, with a value date of April 30, 2007 and a maturity date of April 30, 2009. Both deposits had a seven per cent interest rate.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl ... =161450218

It seems to me she didn't tell the nation the whole truth, but that's my opinion from reading the article and the reports that she has shares in CL Financial. In her defense she says the accounts were previously rolled over, wouldn't cross her mind that I can't get such high interest rate if the funds weren't reinvested for another period.

'Accounts were rolled over'
-Juhel Browne

Finance Minister Karen Nunez-Tesheira says that the CLICO Investment Bank (CIB) accounts which she closed on December 31 last year, before they matured later this year, had actually matured previously and were "rolled over".

As such, Nunez-Tesheira said she did not realise and was not informed by anyone at CIB that she was, in fact, breaking the accounts.

"The request was first made verbally. In that initial discussion, no one said to me that what I was doing I was breaking an account," Nunez-Tesheira said.

She made the comments in a telephone interview with the Express last night, in response to questions about new CIB documents that show she had broken two US dollar accounts with the bank, before they matured on April 30, 2009 and August 13, 2009 respectively.

"Both accounts, as far as I am aware, they (CIB) asked me what I wanted to do with it, whether I wanted to roll it over. I rolled it over, and if I am asking for it after (they rolled over), means that I am breaking it, that is not my understanding," Nunez-Tesheira said.

She was questioned specifically about the CIB fixed deposit break-request form dated December 31, 2008, to the CIB manager, Fixed Deposit Department.

That form contained a typewritten request as follows: "Please be advised that I/we wish to break the captioned deposit."

"As far as I am concerned, I am saying to you and that would be the end of it, I did not consider...I was asked to roll it over, if that is what the document says, that is what the document says, what difference does it make? I do not know?" Nunez-Tesheira asked.

She had told the Express on Sunday that when she signed the Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with CL Financial chairman Lawrence Duprey on January 20, there was no conflict of interest given the terms and conditions of the document and, therefore, she did not benefit from it in any way at all.

"What I did in my capacity in the Ministry of Finance is make CL Financial assets available to liquidate CLICO's debt," Nunez-Tesheira said of the MOU.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl ... =161450216

aR&D

Postby aR&D » March 11th, 2009, 7:54 am

either she resign or face jail ... same thing, no different than how Panday was hounded for not declaring, same thing for Karen, absolutely no difference .... the rat is on the run!

slick

Postby slick » March 11th, 2009, 7:57 am

bump

Postby Damien » March 11th, 2009, 8:30 am

Facking jail she cyat

Postby MG Man » March 11th, 2009, 8:50 am

yeah right

adri 2nr

Postby adri 2nr » March 11th, 2009, 8:54 am

aR&D wrote:either she resign or face jail ... same thing, no different than how Panday was hounded for not declaring, same thing for Karen, absolutely no difference .... the rat is on the run!

yeh but society doesn't see it like this

worst case for her is that she is in the minister in the ministry of finance and abused information that she was privi of

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » March 11th, 2009, 9:21 am

poor girl she didnt know she was mislead pardon her

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » March 11th, 2009, 11:25 am

if was in d usa d person wud have done d honorable thing & resign but in spite of all dat ppl still luv d pnm & will vote dem back again tomorrow .... :roll: :roll: :roll:

aR&D

Postby aR&D » March 11th, 2009, 11:28 am

^^^^ :lol: :lol: fantastic Picture there Rover ... Al is de man!!! :mrgreen:

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » March 11th, 2009, 11:34 am

Like mother like son,

allyuh eh know who I is orr?

allyuh know who is me?

Postby teems1 » March 11th, 2009, 12:35 pm

(...Rovin...) wrote:if was in d usa d person wud have done d honorable thing & resign but in spite of all dat ppl still luv d pnm & will vote dem back again tomorrow .... :roll: :roll: :roll:

using insider knowledge to benefit oneself is jail in yuh tail...

if de US lock up martha flikkin stewart, no one safe

biggy82

Re: CAUGHT? Finance Minister closed two US$ accounts in CIB

Postby biggy82 » March 11th, 2009, 12:54 pm

CAUGHT?
'Accounts were rolled over'
-Juhel Browne

Finance Minister Karen Nunez-Tesheira says that the CLICO Investment Bank (CIB) accounts which she closed on December 31 last year, before they matured later this year, had actually matured previously and were "rolled over".

As such, Nunez-Tesheira said she did not realise and was not informed by anyone at CIB that she was, in fact, breaking the accounts.

"The request was first made verbally. In that initial discussion, no one said to me that what I was doing I was breaking an account," Nunez-Tesheira said.

She made the comments in a telephone interview with the Express last night, in response to questions about new CIB documents that show she had broken two US dollar accounts with the bank, before they matured on April 30, 2009 and August 13, 2009 respectively.

"Both accounts, as far as I am aware, they (CIB) asked me what I wanted to do with it, whether I wanted to roll it over. I rolled it over, and if I am asking for it after (they rolled over), means that I am breaking it, that is not my understanding," Nunez-Tesheira said.

She was questioned specifically about the CIB fixed deposit break-request form dated December 31, 2008, to the CIB manager, Fixed Deposit Department.

That form contained a typewritten request as follows: "Please be advised that I/we wish to break the captioned deposit."

"As far as I am concerned, I am saying to you and that would be the end of it, I did not consider...I was asked to roll it over, if that is what the document says, that is what the document says, what difference does it make? I do not know?" Nunez-Tesheira asked.

She had told the Express on Sunday that when she signed the Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with CL Financial chairman Lawrence Duprey on January 20, there was no conflict of interest given the terms and conditions of the document and, therefore, she did not benefit from it in any way at all.

"What I did in my capacity in the Ministry of Finance is make CL Financial assets available to liquidate CLICO's debt," Nunez-Tesheira said of the MOU.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl ... =161450216

wait wait, she is de finance minister who managing the nation's accounts but ent know what goin on with her own personal account?

and in her letter, she specifically stated "break the deposit". that means she know that she was withdrawing earlier that she should have

what assness is this?

RichieRich
2NR MILF Hunter

Postby RichieRich » March 11th, 2009, 12:57 pm

that come like how pios does say somebody else use he account

''i dont know how that happen''

cornfused

Postby cornfused » March 11th, 2009, 1:27 pm

2x4

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » March 11th, 2009, 1:58 pm

cornfused wrote:2x4
^^ yeh take it and clap a lash in she arse!!!

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » March 11th, 2009, 2:04 pm

she'll get away like the rest of the pnm..

Postby 16 cycles » March 11th, 2009, 2:22 pm

how much law does one have to practice to amass such wealth?

what field of law?

If one got that much wealth from practice - failed to read and understand a legal document concerning one's own finances - what does that say about one's professional competency?

DTAC

Postby DTAC » March 11th, 2009, 3:09 pm

The PNM need to kick her to the curb. I've been saying she was nothing but trouble since the earlies. Only one set of trouble surrounding her. Like she is still of the mindset that, "I is a PNM so I can do what I want."

I think Manning knows she is trouble and will throw her to the wolves before too long. Pompek lose some of his work and the rat gonna get a cut tail.

Looking forward with great interest to the Panday-esque inquiry or is that wishful thinking?

Postby Sky » March 11th, 2009, 3:16 pm

16 cycles wrote:how much law does one have to practice to amass such wealth?

what field of law?

If one got that much wealth from practice - failed to read and understand a legal document concerning one's own finances - what does that say about one's professional competency?

I didn't know she practiced law. But I do know this: The lawyer's fee for completing a house sale and doing up the deed = 10% of the value of the house. I was shocked myself. Another fact. Sometimes, like in a gated community.....sometimes the buyers don't have a choice which lawyer's doing up the deed because it's done for them. Some don't take it on and are just glad it's out of the way. But imagine if one lawyer does all the houses for lets say, 2 avenues.....yup. Friend thing again..

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » March 11th, 2009, 4:20 pm

Look how she get ketch....she does start to talk a pack of nonsense basically saying nothing when she can't provide a credible answer...this alone show that she guilty.....trying to back pedal but like the chain falling off :mrgreen:

Jail she #$%@!!!

Antic

Postby Antic » March 11th, 2009, 5:25 pm

she should resign. jail she!

Oleander

Postby Oleander » March 11th, 2009, 5:29 pm

Antic wrote:she should resign. jail she!

Jail she?! I..I..doh tink so..no not my $12m cabinet cat.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 12th, 2009, 12:01 am

ttt

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » March 12th, 2009, 12:12 am

only one option for her.................

run in parliament naked and claim insanity! :mrgreen:

slick

Postby slick » March 12th, 2009, 1:28 am

x10meeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeleeeon

in fact make it x that sideways 8

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » March 12th, 2009, 1:51 am

Oleander wrote:

Jail she?! I..I..doh tink so..no not my $12m cabinet cat.
i sure manning get a piece already