what do you think is going to happen after the summit ?

Postby buzz » March 15th, 2009, 12:41 pm

1) Carnival - The only carnival yuh hear about on int'l news is the one dong Rio. Ours still moving backward every year.

2) Steelpan - Yuh think any other country would be so dotish like we? We have been told that we are "showcasing" the pan to the world too many times to remember, yet find out how many people know that the Pan came from us? No major Pan industry......we still almost the same way as we were 50 years ago.....(only now there have been some improvements - like the electric pan)

3) Trinidad at the summit - please. What difference is this going to make now? Advertising ourselves to improve int'l investment? At THIS tiome of economic crisis?

well done 8)

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » March 15th, 2009, 6:24 pm

Great that you've comprehensively assessed the situation Knight1

What's your game plan to fix this mess?

From your sig, it doesn't look as if the country's treating you too badly

What mess? There IS no mess beacuse of this summit......just FACTS of life in Trinidad....isn't that right? Comprehensive analysis? Bah...nothing of the sort. The country's been treating me well! And from the what I can surmise about the "executive" mode of travel in your stable, it has been treating you well too :idea:

This thread is about people asking what might happen after the summit. What gains/losses might we face. And the fact is, in my skewed and overly simplistic view, we should expect LITTLE to gain from this summit, other than empty promises. I hope that time proves me wrong.

Unless of course, Scullman, you perhaps have a different take on it.......other than what you/was stated before.

.......care to enlighten? :wink:

Postby bluefete » March 15th, 2009, 8:40 pm

The global depression will hit worse T&T than a hurricane. The government will continue to spend the money until it done done done ( including emptying the heritage & stabilization fund) (dat is wat it dere for anyways).

Manning will call for an increase in his and Mother Hazel's salaries while cutting everyone else's.

Many people will lose their jobs. 2, 175 is only the tip of the iceberg.

It does not matter that the Lara stadium reach $1 billion and it ent even half way finish. It doh matter dat the south building move from $100 million to $700 million and it eh even halfway finsih.

It doh matter dat the Summit of the Americas costing we $1 billion plus ($500 million for security alone) and we have another $1 billion to spend in November for the Commonwealth Summit.

But who gives a flying 777. Great is the PNM & it will prevail. Isn't that how we like it?? Blessings.

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » March 16th, 2009, 2:04 am

great is de pnm brother 0X

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » March 16th, 2009, 6:51 am

Knight1 wrote:
Great that you've comprehensively assessed the situation Knight1

What's your game plan to fix this mess?

From your sig, it doesn't look as if the country's treating you too badly

What mess? There IS no mess beacuse of this summit......just FACTS of life in Trinidad....isn't that right? Comprehensive analysis? Bah...nothing of the sort. The country's been treating me well! And from the what I can surmise about the "executive" mode of travel in your stable, it has been treating you well too :idea:

Your attempt at composing a crafty response (judging from the emoticons you used) has backfired.

You think you've "revealed" something by determining one of the cars I drive? Maybe the country HAS been treating me well, or maybe I just continue to work hard regardless of the what's happening around me? Nonetheless, you'll never see or hear me consistently bitching, whining and complaining about things going on around me.

Your attempt at sarcasm by saying:

What mess? There IS no mess beacuse of this summit......just FACTS of life in Trinidad....isn't that right? Comprehensive analysis? Bah...nothing of the sort.

is another failure because in this, as with many other scenarios, "there are no facts, only interpretations". That said, consider interpreting the absence of those who come here to beyotch, whine and complain from the public consultations for the feasibility of the Summit held in the past.

The chance to stop it was there. Don't complain afterward because you sat on your arse.