you thoughts on "PH" drivers ?

caliw

Re: you thoughts on "PH" drivers ?

Postby caliw » March 17th, 2009, 10:58 pm

buzz wrote:If we are to fix the problem of the illegal plying a vehicle for hire, shouldn't we first address the problems that many commuters face with the current public transportation system ?

seriously though - we are all too familiar with a similar situation
"govt doh provide us with a race track so we hadda race on the streets"

now we all know that kind of thinking is wrong

regardless if there is a race track or not, street racing is still illegal and wrong
and whether there is good public transport or not, running PH is illegal and wrong

6 of one and half a dozen of the other

illegal is illegal

20 PH drivers were murdered in 2008
clearly the characters plying this trade are either overly and unnecessarily being subjected to the wrath of criminals and murderers, which makes their job far too dangerous to be allowed to continue OR they themselves are tied up in the criminal circles.

Now we have to ask how many licensed taxi drivers running the same routes as the murdered PH drivers were also murdered, if any at all, and what is the inherent difference between the two that one ends up with a far more dangerous job than the other. Surely it cant be a taxi badge that is protecting them? - otherwise Batman should keep a T&T taxi badge in his utility belt!!!

:idea: :idea: :idea:

but the demand for it still is there. no law gonna change dat.

surely manning and co. should just relax dey laws and widen the licences and who gets access to them.

even if a person has a criminal record, surely it depends on the nature of the crime, why they did it, etc. a person could do a petty bad ting one time, get a criminal record, and be good for the rest ah he/she life. i don't see why he/she should be denied a permit, cos dey got in trouble with the police and ting way back when.

Postby buzz » March 17th, 2009, 11:02 pm

buzz wrote:
the "waste of time smoke screen" that was the tint exercise caught 11,000 law breakers and 45 persons with outstanding warrants who were evading police for criminal charges.

to me that's 45 or more future crimes prevented there - old habits die hard, and all that jazz

do you think they could have gotten more if ALL the cars in these road blocks were searched as well ?

also if this massive drive was uannounced to the public ?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 17th, 2009, 11:15 pm

buzz wrote:
the "waste of time smoke screen" that was the tint exercise caught 11,000 law breakers and 45 persons with outstanding warrants who were evading police for criminal charges.

to me that's 45 or more future crimes prevented there - old habits die hard, and all that jazz

do you think they could have gotten more if ALL the cars in these road blocks were searched as well ?

most likely -

while the exercise may have been for tint remember once pulled over they were checking license, insurance and a number of other credentials for the driver and vehicle one time

caliw wrote:
but the demand for it still is there. no law gonna change dat.

surely manning and co. should just relax dey laws and widen the licences and who gets access to them.

even if a person has a criminal record, surely it depends on the nature of the crime, why they did it, etc. a person could do a petty bad ting one time, get a criminal record, and be good for the rest ah he/she life. i don't see why he/she should be denied a permit, cos dey got in trouble with the police and ting way back when.

PH drivers usually dont want to pay for permits - its not they cant get one.

relax the laws you say :lol:
you want this place to turn out worst than it is?

Postby Maserati » March 18th, 2009, 1:39 am

jeeze :( :(
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl ... =161453369

I agree that there is a demand for PH taxi's as in some areas without them it is almost impossible to travel.

But what is the alternative? the public transport system doesn't cover enough areas..it leaves people with little choice.

It is a very disturbing trend of recent with the robberies and rapes of passengers.

That 'industry' must be regulated somehow..too much at risk now from being robbed or raped to getting in an accident due to the reckless driving of some of the ph drivers.

0awg

Postby 0awg » March 18th, 2009, 8:19 am

buzz wrote:

most likely -

while the exercise may have been for tint remember once pulled over they were checking license, insurance and a number of other credentials for the driver and vehicle one time

says who?

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » March 18th, 2009, 8:30 am

Get rid of them ALL.
MAKe govt provide a PROPER Public transportation system!

If caught running a PH taxi- IMMEDIATELY IMPOUND the car and JAIL the operator of the vehicle and chage the registered " OWNER" of the car , as we know many 'PH' drivers are just putting down a wuk for someone else who owns the vehicle!

0awg

Postby 0awg » March 18th, 2009, 8:30 am

I say these pple are a blessing, where I live taxis look to seek thier fren, family, outside oman & other personal buisness when the day come. schoolchildern hour you get no taxi, you have to stand for hours & bake in the hot sun surrounded by bandits & vagrants.
when sun start to set no taxis run, only them panel vans & a few ph drivers. as a part time student, travelling was always an issue for me, 10:00pm in the night where am I to get a car to go home? when a car does pull up they pick up women (I dont have a probe with that one though, I actually let the ladies inot the car even though they reach after me). by the time I reach home & bathe eat & sleep I barely have time to get much sleep before I have to get up for work in the morning & dont mention studying time, I hardly had any.

I say let them run, I used to travel with the ones I know (I was rather well known when I was younger, today it have new "characters" whom I dont trust). thank god I have my own ride now, but there are times I still travel, taxis dont want to go in where I live & it dangerous to walk that road in the night, plenty of the ph gys familiar with the pple in the area & are willing to drop me home in the night.

planty of these taxi drivers apparantly dont have much interest in the job, half the time is not even thier own car & they dont care for it, care how they drive or treat it, some of the ph drivers ae actually the owners of the cars & know how they sweat blood to own the car, they maintain it & are careful how they drive (taking care not to damage it), know they have loan to pay so they chase after a $$$ when the day come & are willing to work for it, go the extra mile & treat thier passangers with some respect.

0awg

Postby 0awg » March 18th, 2009, 8:36 am

evo-STI-k wrote:Get rid of them ALL.

well since you bring up the idea, be the pioneer nah, lets se you put this in place for us?

I want to see if bus goin inside by me in the middle of the night to drop me? or will you come tell them guntas leave me alone if I have to walk in?

you does on;ly come here & rant, you know pple situation? you know how much bills they have to pay when the day come? if it is a means of earning a dollr why not use it? the comuters happy with it, the drivers getting thier bills paid, they gettin to eat, what is the problem?

my guess is that you are just some rich boy who have never had to wrork for anything in your life, you mommy & daddy provided everything for you, you dont know what it is like to have to earn a dollar when the day come, to have bills & debts. you even have a work? all you do is come on tuner & rant whole day, does duane pay you to do so?

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » March 18th, 2009, 8:43 am

0awg wrote:

well since you bring up the idea, be the pioneer nah, lets se you put this in place for us?

I want to see if bus goin inside by me in the middle of the night to drop me? or will you come tell them guntas leave me alone if I have to walk in?

you does on;ly come here & rant, you know pple situation? you know how much bills they have to pay when the day come? if it is a means of earning a dollr why not use it? the comuters happy with it, the drivers getting thier bills paid, they gettin to eat, what is the problem?

my guess is that you are just some rich boy who have never had to wrork for anything in your life, you mommy & daddy provided everything for you, you dont know what it is like to have to earn a dollar when the day come, to have bills & debts. you even have a work? all you do is come on tuner & rant whole day,

we already established that about evo-sti-k many years ago,,,,

Postby wagonrunner » March 18th, 2009, 8:45 am

Maserati wrote:jeeze :( :(
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl ... =161453369

I agree that there is a demand for PH taxi's as in some areas without them it is almost impossible to travel.

But what is the alternative? the public transport system doesn't cover enough areas..it leaves people with little choice.

It is a very disturbing trend of recent with the robberies and rapes of passengers.

That 'industry' must be regulated somehow..too much at risk now from being robbed or raped to getting in an accident due to the reckless driving of some of the ph drivers.

cosign this
imagine trying to go in by you, or me, between 6pm, and 8a. :roll:
no other facking means.

Postby buzz » March 18th, 2009, 9:11 am

yup lets make life even harder for citizens :roll:

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » March 18th, 2009, 9:18 am

So just to clarify 0awg- What youre saying is that because a suitation or a service makes YOUR life easier you condone and support an ILLEGAL activity!
I just need to clarify this- forget about who i am and what i am, i just need YOU to clarify it! :roll:

0awg wrote:

my guess is that you are just some rich boy who have never had to wrork for anything in your life, you mommy & daddy provided everything for you, you dont know what it is like to have to earn a dollar when the day come, to have bills & debts. you even have a work? all you do is come on tuner & rant whole day, does duane pay you to do so?

Postby buzz » March 18th, 2009, 9:20 am

[quote]Acting Police Commissioner James Philbert yesterday announced an immediate crackdown against “PHâ€

Postby Team Loco » March 18th, 2009, 9:23 am

zero tolerence on lawlessness. convenience is no excuse for breaking the law.

Postby buzz » March 18th, 2009, 9:27 am

What youre saying is that because a suitation or a service makes YOUR life easier you condone and support an ILLEGAL activity!

ppl need to reach home man

its not a matter of convenience, transport is a necessity

some have jobs/situations that require them to travel very early in the morning or late at night

Postby r3iXmann » March 18th, 2009, 9:35 am

buzz wrote:
What youre saying is that because a suitation or a service makes YOUR life easier you condone and support an ILLEGAL activity!

some have jobs/situations that require them to travel very early in the morning or late at night

why u bothering boy? :lol:

some of these clowns bumping their gums never see the inside of a bus,maxi or taxi

not everybody can afford a car and some have to work very late or early

when i used to work late,there were times i had to travel@ 11pm,12am etc and there used to be a LOT of folks travelling

ignorance is NOT bliss :idea:

0awg

Postby 0awg » March 18th, 2009, 9:35 am

evo-STI-k, the answer to your question should be evdient from the stance I have taken in my posts in this thread.

if you cant read & understand, well what I am saying is: yes, I support the activity.
lock meh up for that, call the police, tell them I harboring criminals.
you sir, ranting on tuner will not solve the problem & as the saying goes "if you are not part of the solution then you are part of the problem". try & watch yuh own tail.

but while we at it, define ph for me?

0awg

Postby 0awg » March 18th, 2009, 9:43 am

Soundwave wrote:
0awg wrote:evo-STI-k, the answer to your question should be evdient from the stance I have taken in my posts in this thread.

if you cant read & understand, well what I am saying is: yes, I support the activity.
lock meh up for that, call the police, tell them I harboring criminals.
you sir, ranting on tuner will not solve the problem & as the saying goes "if you are not part of the solution then you are part of the problem". try & watch yuh own tail.

but while we at it, define ph for me?

pH is a measure of the acidity or basicity of a solution. It is defined as the cologarithm of the activity of dissolved hydrogen ions (H+). Hydrogen ion activity coefficients cannot be measured experimentally, so they are based on theoretical calculations. The pH scale is not an absolute scale; it is relative to a set of standard solutions whose pH is established by international agreement.

why am I not suprised you made this response :lol: :lol:

Postby buzz » March 18th, 2009, 9:49 am

yup typical trinidadian mentality, we couldn't care less for our fellow citizen... only when something directly applies to them they respond rant and rave....some were born into a families that was fortunate enough to have vehicles, no empathy what so ever and the belief that they are better than others because of their economical status...

let uncle james come down on high performance vehicles nah ?

that thread would be seeing its 30th> page by now :idea:

these problems have intregrated into society to simply go on a rampage and start clamping down is not the soloutiuon....

Postby buzz » March 18th, 2009, 9:52 am

reiXmann wrote:
buzz wrote:

why u bothering boy? :lol:

some of these clowns bumping their gums never see the inside of a bus,maxi or taxi

not everybody can afford a car and some have to work very late or early

when i used to work late,there were times i had to travel@ 11pm,12am etc and there used to be a LOT of folks travelling

ignorance is NOT bliss :idea:

f real eh

everyone should buy a car and den they would log on and rant about the traffic situation :lol:

or everyone should have tertairy education and all be compeating for the same jobs

garbage men ? nah we doh need dem ting :roll:

Postby r3iXmann » March 18th, 2009, 9:54 am

buzz wrote:yup typical trinidadian mentality, we couldn't care less for our fellow citizen... only when something directly applies to them they respond rant and rave....some were born into a families that was fortunate enough to have vehicles, no empathy what so ever and the belief that they are better than others because of their economical status...

let uncle james come down on high performance vehicles nah ?

that thread would be seeing its 30th> page by now :idea:

these problems have intregrated into society to simply go on a rampage and start clamping down is not the soloutiuon....

oh yes.. then there would've been talks about how the government 'doh want people to have nothing good' or they 'jealous that some could afford a bess ride'

Postby Team Loco » March 18th, 2009, 10:20 am

this thread is funny. all the people in favour of ph taxis bumping their gums in favour of something that is just totally illegal. fighting a lost cause

Postby noshownogo » March 18th, 2009, 10:21 am

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... 5&start=20

There is no right way to do the wrong thing.

You cannot have any convictions against your name, must have a clean certificate of character, must have insurance which would cover your passengers...the normal personal insurance for a legitimate P registered car clearly states that this vehicle is not covered for private hire meaning if you are riding in a PH taxi and an accident occurs which is as a result of the driver of said PH taxi, you will not be covered/compensated by the insurance.

Postby Maserati » March 18th, 2009, 10:23 am

Team Loco wrote:this thread is funny. all the people in favour of ph taxis bumping their gums in favour of something that is just totally illegal. fighting a lost cause

if you were in the position of some of the people who need to travel you may see this differently...it is illegal but what alternative is there?? come up with a viable one that costs the same etc and people will use it.

Postby r3iXmann » March 18th, 2009, 10:26 am

Team Loco wrote:this thread is funny. all the people in favour of ph taxis bumping their gums in favour of something that is just totally illegal. fighting a lost cause

it really is funny,because all who oppose are the same ones that make noise about illegal tint

as buzz said, it's only a problem when it affects you directly 8-)

maserati,how dare you preach sense in this thread? :x

0awg

Postby 0awg » March 18th, 2009, 10:29 am

what they may be doing is illegal but at least they are providing a service to the people in order to make ends meet.....but they could always park up their cars at home & come out & robb allyuh a$$ side the road when allyuh in traffic.

which would you prefer?
Last edited by 0awg on March 18th, 2009, 10:32 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Maserati » March 18th, 2009, 10:30 am

reiXmann wrote:maserati,how dare you preach sense in this thread? :x

Postby buzz » March 18th, 2009, 10:31 am

then when you cross 80kph on the highway you are doing something illegal

if you get ticketed i hope you dont rant and say police vehicles dont obey the speed limit :roll:

QG

Re: you thoughts on "PH" drivers ?

Postby QG » March 18th, 2009, 10:35 am

slick wrote:
buzz wrote:we know most "PH" drivers cause traffic, drive like cnuts, feel they own the road, play loud annoying parlor dub, the list goes on....

the same could be said for maxi taxi drivers

maxi's are famous for that.