TriniVdub wrote:AP *YAWN* yuh aint impressing anybody so pls
Mr Gear wrote:Bunny, I hear you about arguing with fools but I have done it several times before and come out on top - in court. Lots of headache its true but until we stand up for our rights we would be counted as second class citizens.
I intend to live here and take up my first class position - if you know what I mean.
AbstractPoetic wrote:RESOLVE
While it is argued that the removal of tint under the enforcement of local authority is an injustice and is being illegally allowed, the provisions under CHAPTER 48:50 MOTOR VEHICLES AND ROAD TRAFFIC ACT shows that there are no such violations of the law in the removal of "borderline" tint or illegal tint.
The provisions under Chapter 48:50 allows for the ACT in approaching your car for inspection and deeming your tint as illegal, as legal. Misinterpretation, however, may lie in the officer's interpretation of what is deemed as obscure. In such an instance, you, the citizen, have the right to appeal such decision in revoking your registration.
The OP's argument was initially based on the officer enforcing the law based on what he deemed a misinterpretation of the law. However, each officer, as is the case for each vehicle, is a separate case in and of itself. They have not, however, misinterpreted the law in their actions, as their actions are still legally allowed and protected by the Act.
Lastly, the archaic and outdated legislation referenced and quoted by the OP is inapplicable and has no bearings as we speak. Instead of researching the suggestions made by others in perusing his legal jargon, he ignored such pleas and posted his argument which still makes reference to what is known in the legal world as "bad law".
It is my hope that the OP will revise his argument to reflect the times, and, in so doing, perhaps present a solid enough argument in challenging the authorities for what he deems as a violation, breach of civil rights and misinterpretation in the applicability of said legislation.
Correct.Mr Gear wrote:My reference to misinterpretation of the law is the Officer's position that they can force you to remove your tint right there on the spot or cancel your registration right there on the spot. They do not have that power and they are misinterpreting the law if they feel that they have that power.
Therein lies the problem. How many of us are willing to sacrifice the time, effort and money to fight injustice?bunny wrote:While i was sure to win the case with the lights, it certainly wasnt worth the time or effort to attend court so many times....
Yes. That is why you will have to file a complaint against the officer to get 'justice'.eekipoo wrote:Question: You all keep saying that we have the option not to remove out tint if is legal. But if the Police Officer decides that it is illegal "for whatever reason" wont they impound you car until they get a Licensing officer to say if it is or not. If this is the case then you will be without a vehicle for how ever long this takes...am i correct here??
AbstractPoetic wrote:No. You will still have to pay the fine even if you won your case. Decision by the License Authority to revoke your registration can only be challenged by the Board. If you win, your registration stands. Either way, you will still have to pay the fine.
Mr Gear wrote:AbstractPoetic wrote:No. You will still have to pay the fine even if you won your case. Decision by the License Authority to revoke your registration can only be challenged by the Board. If you win, your registration stands. Either way, you will still have to pay the fine.
No AP, if you win at the Transport Board the traffic ticket case will be dismissed because of a ruling obtained from the country's authority on vehicles, "Licensing Authority."
Has anyone seen page 2 of Today's Express. Attorney Dana Seetahal has agreed with me that the authoriities do not have the power to force you to remove the tint at the side of the road.
Mr Gear wrote: When Ramesh Lawrence Maharaj was in office he amended the law so that persons can sue Police Officers in their personal capacity and go after their assets directly as well as seek compensation from the state. So the Police can't stand in uniform and do wrong then hide behind the state's skirt.
So if you're a police office or Licensing Officer for that matter and you attempt to breach the law and over step your boundry you could be facing the loss of your personal assets.
Wanna risk that for some tint ?
pugboy wrote:was that law ever properly proclaimed ?
he did many laws and many yet to be proclaimed
ie made concrete lawMr Gear wrote: When Ramesh Lawrence Maharaj was in office he amended the law so that persons can sue Police Officers in their personal capacity and go after their assets directly as well as seek compensation from the state. So the Police can't stand in uniform and do wrong then hide behind the state's skirt.
So if you're a police office or Licensing Officer for that matter and you attempt to breach the law and over step your boundry you could be facing the loss of your personal assets.
Wanna risk that for some tint ?